We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Friendly Casual Hotel in Excelllent Location”
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #26 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
“Great Friendly Casual Hotel in Excelllent Location”
Reviewed 18 November 2009

The rooms are really funky; the hotel is gorgeous and service is good.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBSToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    249
    54
    20
    21
See reviews for
77
328
65
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

The Gladstone Hotel is a great place in Toronto for so many reasons, aside from being a hotel. They have created unique spaces for musicians, artists, foodies and families...to showcase, perform and indulge. They support and promote local and organic eating ( by the way they have a FRY BAR...sweet potato, potato and taro too with tons of toppings). Harvest Wednesdays supporting field to table eating (yum) are not to be missed...and while you are there, you'll know why you need to try the Gladstone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

So this is our 3rd trip here. All the fantastic things I love about it are still fantastic. Beds and bedding are still the absolute best. Staff is still great. Food is some of the best around. The hotel/restaurant is part of a farm co-op so all the food is either brought in organic or locally grown.
Of course...all the bad things are also still there. Old building noises when you're trying to sleep...no proper shampoo or conditioner.
This is a hotel for young people there to have fun. Keep that in mind if you think you want to go here for business. That's the only rule to keep in mind.

On a sad note, Hank--the elevator operator recently passed away from a lengthy disease, so no fun stories about the hotel. But...he did always say that he'd stick around in room 414 if that's your thing!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikiTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

First off, this hotel was very unique and clean. Each room is designed differently and as for our room it was very comfortable and lovely. Yes the bathroom was small and we had to park our car on the side of a grocery store, and most time we couldn't get the elevator operator to bring up the 105 year old manually operated elevator to our floor (4th), but the hotel cafe was great, delicious organic food, the free soaps in the room were also organic and smelled great, the art work shown on each floor was wonderful, especially for me as an artist. I really enjoyed the location it reminded me of Williamsburg, Brooklyn, very artsy and filled with great little boutiques and cafes. We were exhausted from our 12 hr drive but I was delighted as soon as I saw the hotel. It looked so welcoming after a long rainy day. We got the parking sorted out ( $15/ night) and got our room right away, which we didn't get to preselect because we booked through booking.com, but we were pleasantly surprised. It was small but very well designed. Super clean and the bed was very comfy. We ate dinner one night in the hotel restaurant and it was fantastic. We also got some coffee and baked goods in the morning from there which were delicious as well. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nantendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
221 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

It is an interesting place, but is it for you? We only saw 1 other person beside us who was over 30 years old.
We arrived to a front lobby full of wedding guests heading to the 2nd floor hall. We returned that night at 2 am to front steps, front lobby full of young people having fun. They were from the Hallowe'en dance at Gladstone's hall on the 1rst floor. The loud, blaring music stopped at 2:45 am (or 1:45 am once you changed your clock). Imagine if you had hoped for a restful night's sleep !!!
City sounds (streetcars, city buses, cars with loud mufflers, people laughing & heading home after parties) are not normal for us. Needless to say we hardly slept. The large bed & pillows were very comfortable. There was also a draft coming through the single-pane windows in our room, which was street side.
The next morning we faced another herd of nice, young people lined up inside & outside for some king of fair being held in Gladstone's party room, lobby & coffee/tea bar.
It is an interesting place ... maybe choose a room in the back, on the hotel half that is not above the party room ??? Be part of the action, or you'll feel terribly ignored and forgotten. Be willing to accept NO coffee maker in the room, their morning coffee bar in the lobby may be closed, the $15 is for outdoor parking. We had to park 1 1/2 blocks away to off-load our luggage as there was not one free spot closer when we arrived.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belleamie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We loved this hotel!! We stayed in Toronto for 3 nights before heading on a road trip to New York. We ummmed and ahhed about staying either here or at the Marriot (which worked out cheaper) and decided on the Gladstone because of its character.

When booking through a third party you are not offered a choice of rooms and when we arrived we were offered one of the less wacky rooms. After pulling a face we were offered the Map room which we were much happier with. The room is tiny but perfectly acceptable for a city stay - will you really be spending that much time in your room?! The bathroom is the smallest I have ever seen but still perfectly functional. It was immaculate on arrival and remained so each day. The Map room is great and has a really unique and stylish feel. The bed and pilows were very comfortable.

The hotel is in an area of town renowned as being 'edgy' and arty. It lived up to this (in a good way). The bar in the hotel is great, which an impromptu life class taking place when we were there. The Drake hotel is literally a couple of doors down the road and is also a very nice place to drink - great roof top bar. Queens street west is a great place to stay with fantastic bars and shops. It is a few minutes on the tram to get to downtown Toronto but its not a problem - trams and buses stop right outside the door. Some reviews mention problems with noise but we didn't have any problems with this - we stayed Wed - Friday and the room was quiet at all times.

We ate in the Gladstone as part of their harvest Wednesday season. The meal was amazing and the chef is very skilled. We couldn't wait for desert because we were too tired after our flight and they very kindly brought it up to our room!

If you are looking for an arty unique experience, stay here. If you want to be near the tourist attractions and downtown Toronto stay in one of the bigger hotels.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexgem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The Gladstone is different from the big hotel chains so if you are fed up with the same old thing, check it out. We stayed in 2 different rooms (spent a night in Niagara Falls in between). Although they were the 'larger' rooms, with bath tub, they were both smaller than you might be used to but were really interesting and most importantly, the beds were great! Also the linen, pillows, towels- all high quality. There was adequate room for clothes, cases etc.
The hotel staff were excellent, cheerful and helpful. The restored elevator is a feature- yes (as someone else said) you have to call the lift... but thats true for any lift! The food was good- especially the coffee and the Queens West tea and the grilled cheese for breakfast was great. (walnut raisin bread, applejack cheese and apple) At weekends try the pancakes with caramelised apple!
On friday night there is karaoke in the Melody Bar- dont miss it! Saturday its Country Music.... but plenty of other venues near by if thats not your style.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hicate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#4 of 136 in Toronto
609 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#12 of 136 in Toronto
695 reviews
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Property: Gladstone Hotel
Address: 1214 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing