We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most relaxing, comfortable, unique and welcoming business destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #25 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, AB
1 review
“The most relaxing, comfortable, unique and welcoming business destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

We are the Gladstone Hotel's supplier of linen for both their bedrooms and bathrooms. The Gladstone only accepts the very best for their location. They only request the highest quality linens, duvets, towels and pillows for their guests, and refuse to accept any other. The artistic, unique and luxurious rooms are a refreshing experience to anyones vacation or business trip. You don't feel like your in a hotel at all, more like a personal retreat. The staff are always friendly, courteous, and accommodating. We are proud at Eden Textile to be in partnership with the Gladstone Hotel. Your stay is sure to be a rewarding and relaxing experience!

Eden Textile Customer Service Manager

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eden_Textile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    240
    50
    20
    19
See reviews for
71
316
63
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

I stayed at the Gladstone for one night with my family from Pennsylvania. The girls shared the Felt Room and The Guys shared the other room with big curtains...I can't remember the name. We did not have any trouble with noise, it was actually pretty quiet, and we were afraid of being too loud in the hallways.
One thing that made a difference for me was the fact that there are no carpets in the rooms. I think that was the cleanest room I've ever stayed in.
The entire hotel is amazing. There was art everywhere. Everything was so beautiful: the elevator, the wood work and bricks.
They let us park right behind the building when we arrived.
There is a restaurant and a bar on the main floor, and I could write a book about them!
I definitely recommend the Gladstone Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunDi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

The rooms are really funky; the hotel is gorgeous and service is good.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBSToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

The Gladstone Hotel is a great place in Toronto for so many reasons, aside from being a hotel. They have created unique spaces for musicians, artists, foodies and families...to showcase, perform and indulge. They support and promote local and organic eating ( by the way they have a FRY BAR...sweet potato, potato and taro too with tons of toppings). Harvest Wednesdays supporting field to table eating (yum) are not to be missed...and while you are there, you'll know why you need to try the Gladstone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

So this is our 3rd trip here. All the fantastic things I love about it are still fantastic. Beds and bedding are still the absolute best. Staff is still great. Food is some of the best around. The hotel/restaurant is part of a farm co-op so all the food is either brought in organic or locally grown.
Of course...all the bad things are also still there. Old building noises when you're trying to sleep...no proper shampoo or conditioner.
This is a hotel for young people there to have fun. Keep that in mind if you think you want to go here for business. That's the only rule to keep in mind.

On a sad note, Hank--the elevator operator recently passed away from a lengthy disease, so no fun stories about the hotel. But...he did always say that he'd stick around in room 414 if that's your thing!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikiTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

First off, this hotel was very unique and clean. Each room is designed differently and as for our room it was very comfortable and lovely. Yes the bathroom was small and we had to park our car on the side of a grocery store, and most time we couldn't get the elevator operator to bring up the 105 year old manually operated elevator to our floor (4th), but the hotel cafe was great, delicious organic food, the free soaps in the room were also organic and smelled great, the art work shown on each floor was wonderful, especially for me as an artist. I really enjoyed the location it reminded me of Williamsburg, Brooklyn, very artsy and filled with great little boutiques and cafes. We were exhausted from our 12 hr drive but I was delighted as soon as I saw the hotel. It looked so welcoming after a long rainy day. We got the parking sorted out ( $15/ night) and got our room right away, which we didn't get to preselect because we booked through booking.com, but we were pleasantly surprised. It was small but very well designed. Super clean and the bed was very comfy. We ate dinner one night in the hotel restaurant and it was fantastic. We also got some coffee and baked goods in the morning from there which were delicious as well. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nantendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
221 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

It is an interesting place, but is it for you? We only saw 1 other person beside us who was over 30 years old.
We arrived to a front lobby full of wedding guests heading to the 2nd floor hall. We returned that night at 2 am to front steps, front lobby full of young people having fun. They were from the Hallowe'en dance at Gladstone's hall on the 1rst floor. The loud, blaring music stopped at 2:45 am (or 1:45 am once you changed your clock). Imagine if you had hoped for a restful night's sleep !!!
City sounds (streetcars, city buses, cars with loud mufflers, people laughing & heading home after parties) are not normal for us. Needless to say we hardly slept. The large bed & pillows were very comfortable. There was also a draft coming through the single-pane windows in our room, which was street side.
The next morning we faced another herd of nice, young people lined up inside & outside for some king of fair being held in Gladstone's party room, lobby & coffee/tea bar.
It is an interesting place ... maybe choose a room in the back, on the hotel half that is not above the party room ??? Be part of the action, or you'll feel terribly ignored and forgotten. Be willing to accept NO coffee maker in the room, their morning coffee bar in the lobby may be closed, the $15 is for outdoor parking. We had to park 1 1/2 blocks away to off-load our luggage as there was not one free spot closer when we arrived.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belleamie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#6 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#17 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Property: Gladstone Hotel
Address: 1214 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing