We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual, quirky, and a great place to stay”
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #26 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Unusual, quirky, and a great place to stay”
Reviewed 27 November 2009

What a lovely hotel.

My room was uniquely individual; not large, but comfortable and warm. The toiletries are local, and come in blocks (even the shampoo): they were fab. The artwork throughout the hotel is striking and interesting; the bar is a quiet and good place for a drink (with a decent range of local beers); the other bar sounded like a place you'd travel to (lots of loud music and fun); the internet is a little slow and censored (a website I tried to go to was marked as 'hacking') but otherwise free and fine. The staff are very friendly and achingly fashionable. The hotel sells day passes to the Toronto public transport.

The hotel's not perfect - it's quite far away from downtown (but a streetcar stop is right outside, and it's a ten or fifteen minute journey in for $2.75). My room faced the street, and the hotel is not apparently double-glazed - there was a lot of noise from the street below (people kicking out from the bar, the streetcars, the trains, and traffic). The noise didn't bother me particularly, but I could see it being a real issue to others.

That being said, it's the kind of hotel that you'll remember: for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unclejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    255
    57
    20
    22
See reviews for
82
336
65
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

I'd recommend the Gladstone to anyone. Unique, clean, comfortable Artist designed rooms, good food, amazing lattes, great atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttraveller4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2009

I have been to Gladstone Hotel because of the various food, arts & design functions that it often hosts. These functions have been fabulous as well so I recommend going to them as well. The renovated hotel is a very classy venue for such events.

I definitely recommend Gladstone Hotel as a special retreat for anyone who likes interior design and arts. It is a unique hotel with professionally designed and individualized rooms with diverse themes, which accommodates diverse styles and tastes. I'm sure after reviewing their room catalogue; one is bound to find a uniquely designed room that they like. Although, I have never personally stayed in any of their rooms (I live in Toronto) I am absolutely taken by the designs and definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2009

We are the Gladstone Hotel's supplier of linen for both their bedrooms and bathrooms. The Gladstone only accepts the very best for their location. They only request the highest quality linens, duvets, towels and pillows for their guests, and refuse to accept any other. The artistic, unique and luxurious rooms are a refreshing experience to anyones vacation or business trip. You don't feel like your in a hotel at all, more like a personal retreat. The staff are always friendly, courteous, and accommodating. We are proud at Eden Textile to be in partnership with the Gladstone Hotel. Your stay is sure to be a rewarding and relaxing experience!

Eden Textile Customer Service Manager

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eden_Textile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2009

I stayed at the Gladstone for one night with my family from Pennsylvania. The girls shared the Felt Room and The Guys shared the other room with big curtains...I can't remember the name. We did not have any trouble with noise, it was actually pretty quiet, and we were afraid of being too loud in the hallways.
One thing that made a difference for me was the fact that there are no carpets in the rooms. I think that was the cleanest room I've ever stayed in.
The entire hotel is amazing. There was art everywhere. Everything was so beautiful: the elevator, the wood work and bricks.
They let us park right behind the building when we arrived.
There is a restaurant and a bar on the main floor, and I could write a book about them!
I definitely recommend the Gladstone Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunDi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2009

The rooms are really funky; the hotel is gorgeous and service is good.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBSToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

The Gladstone Hotel is a great place in Toronto for so many reasons, aside from being a hotel. They have created unique spaces for musicians, artists, foodies and families...to showcase, perform and indulge. They support and promote local and organic eating ( by the way they have a FRY BAR...sweet potato, potato and taro too with tons of toppings). Harvest Wednesdays supporting field to table eating (yum) are not to be missed...and while you are there, you'll know why you need to try the Gladstone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#10 of 136 in Toronto
721 reviews
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 136 in Toronto
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Property: Gladstone Hotel
Address: 1214 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing