We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a GREAT place!”
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #26 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a GREAT place!”
Reviewed 2 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Gladstone and were very impressed. As many others have said previously, it's a very different hotel full of life and charisma. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone staying in Toronto. In addition, we enjoyed a hearty breakfast in the morning and were very pleased with the portion size and value for our money. Great place, would definitely go back if I had the opportunity!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chapstick080908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    249
    54
    20
    21
See reviews for
77
328
65
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Staying at the Gladstone was such a wonderfully unique experience. The hotel was very accommodating when we experience delays getting there due to winter weather conditions. The room was warm and cozy, the homemade soaps where a special touch. We had breakfast in the morning at the cafe... the food was fresh, local, and amazing. We're planning on coming back in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justaminette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

I visit Toronto three or four times a year on business and always stay at the Gladstone. The artfully designed rooms somehow combine odd, even stricking, interior design with old fashioned hotel comfort. The food in the bar and cafe is very dependable- I'd rather eat breakfast here than anyplace else in the city.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heyemerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2009

as a frequest business traveller it was refreshing to stay in a super friendly hotel that felt like being at home
great night time parties downstairs, knowledgable and friendly staff
cafe is great for breakfast after a big night at the bar
totally recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikisurlalac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2009

This is a unique spot, loved it. It's essentially an art gallery with hotel rooms, every single room is completely different, designed by a different artist or designer. I'd say the hotel is more suited to younger crowd, they had some pretty loud nightlife on the main floor (hotel rooms are on 3rd and 4th floor). The restaurant on the main floor was really really good, best risotto I've ever had. It's true front desk staff could be a bit more knowledgeable on the galleries/restaurants/nightlife, but I've never been one to completely rely on someone else to plan my trip anyways, and there's so much right in the area, turning right or left is not the worst suggestion in the world (as the last reviewer made it out to be), it's right next door to great dining and nightlife... I like Unit right next door, and the beaver next to that. and there are dozens of galleries and design shops within a few blocks. The area is a bit interesting, I wouldn't say seedy, maybe it was once upon a time but it looks to be going through some major changes right now. It's nothing you wouldn't see in any major city, I never felt unsafe or anything. Overall though, a good experience. I'll definitely be back to check out some of the other rooms.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagauche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I am quite disappointed with my stay at The Gladstone Hotel. While the room we stayed in (Big Wood) was pretty cool and very clean, the rest of the experience was not very enjoyable.
We found the location was just a few blocks too far away from the trendy shops that we went to check out. The area of the hotel, to us, seemed a bit seedy (homeless people, etc). Furthermore we were very disappointed that the parking was so poor. The hotel has zero parking. we were directed to a Price Chopper parking lot behind the hotel that had very poor lighting (in a seedy neighborhood) and there did not appear to be any security.
What was most disappointing was the staff. we were greeted by a woman that seemed as though checking us in was a pain in her butt. Then to top it of we asked where we should go for shopping and she gave us a blank stare. She said "um, I guess you could go out the front door and turn left or right"- thanks Lady for that helpful nugget! That same night we asked the guy at the front desk where he suggested going for Italian food. He gave us a map and pointed us towards Little Italy (NOT!). He actually gave us directions to a a different Portuguese neighborhood just a few blocks away. We did not know we were a couple blocks off until much later that night after we had a very average meal at someplace we did not want to go.
Then.. that night at 4am we were awaken by a ton of noise in the hallway. I looked up at the door form my bed and noticed that there were louvers above the door, so of course noise travels. This sucked! Top that off with tons of noise from the street. they gave us ear plugs, but that was not enough. That should have been our clue to switch rooms or hotels.
The hotel is pretty funky- certainly lived up to that reputation, if only the staff was as interesting as the art on the walls!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave_rochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2009

I am from Montreal and was totally unprepared for the Gladstone. My co-worker had taken care of the hotel arrangements for us and when we arrived I was totally taken off guard by the 'antler chairs' in the lobby, the turn of the last century elevator, and the wonderful attitude of the clerk at the front desk. The elevator man was waiting for our looks of surprise when we arrived on the 3rd floor!!! A generous lobby with comfortable chairs from ages past, artwork hanging from the ceiling and on the walls (and not your standard artwork either!!) and judys' dressed in period costume gave the impression our rooms were in an art gallery. The room was not the biggest one I had ever stayed in but decor made it the most interesting one! I had fur curtains that hung from 12 foot ceilings and another fur on my bed. No standard lights on the ceiling - only the best of chandeliers would do!! A four poster bed made of logs gave the impression someone had just cut down a tree to make it for me – and I slept like a log! The shower was intimate – no bending over to pick up the soap but everything was spotless.

Are you looking for the unusual? Bring your camera and experience the wonderful service, dining and atmosphere of a great hotel in Toronto.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anglomontrealer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#6 of 136 in Toronto
608 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#12 of 136 in Toronto
694 reviews
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Property: Gladstone Hotel
Address: 1214 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing