We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything the Royal York isn't”
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #23 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2010

On previous visits,to Toronto I have stayed in all the Downtown hotels.
I've now stayed at the Gladstone 6 times in the last 15 months.
Nobody wears a uniform. The vast majority of the staff are young ,and all are very polite and efficient. All the rooms are different and while not huge are big enough.
Q st West is a local neighbourhood and while it's not Downtown, there is lots going on in the vicinity.
The food is good as is the music and the art showings. Only downside would be if you are not enjoying the karaoke is to get a room at the back

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GladstoneFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Gladstone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2010

Very nice people running the establishment, clean and very good food in Resto's down in the lobby. A little loud when the hotel is full, but over all great stay

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suziepassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

The food was unbelievable! Everything is either made in house or brought in fresh. Could you ever tell the quality. Our room was spotless and the linens super fresh - like they just came off the clothesline.

I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTorontoON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We booked room 316 for two nights and had a great stay. The bed was comfortable, the room was beautiful and the service at the front desk was phenomenal. The staff even went so far as to mail me a necklace I accidentally left behind. We ate breakfast both mornings at the bar and I maintain they make the best home fries I've ever eaten. I can't imagine staying at another hotel in Toronto.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radicalmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Friendly staff, charming rooms, very clean bathroom and comfortable bed. Good value for the neighbourhood, accessible to transit and parking, close to shopping, clubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mugats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

My husband and I chose to stay at The Gladstone to celebrate our anniversary. We picked it because of it's great location and incredible artist designed one-of-a-kind rooms. We wanted to be casual and laid-back and yet feel very special at the same time. Well, The Gladstone was the right choice! The moment we arrived we were warmly greeted at the front desk by a lovely adorable and charming young woman named Kira, who (upon hearing it was our anniversary) up-graded us from a room to the Tower Suite. It was a fabulous two story suite. The bedroom was in the tower itself and had spectacular views of the city in all directions. The decor was beautiful and everything was sparkling clean and lovely and the bed supremely comfortable. A perfect romantic setting for our anniversary. In the morning we really enjoyed our breakfast in the cafe (best eggs benedict!). Our waiter Matt was friendly yet professional. We particulary noticed how all of the hotel staff were dressed attractively and stylishly in their own unique style (just like the rooms!). A very friendly David made our check-out fast and easy. We would definitely stay at The Gladstone again and highly recommend it to anyone .

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torontolovebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

What an amazing experience! The rooms were both works of art and wonderfully comfortable. You could spend much of the day just hanging out in the cafe, wandering the halls looking at art or riding the birdcage elevator! The Gladstone is also situated in a very emergent neighborhood in Toronto where the past and present is honoured - new shops run by inventive designers, artists and chefs are framed in heritage style and offer a lot to the person who likes to window shop or better yet, spend. The Gladstone is a real treat!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#7 of 137 in Toronto
624 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#9 of 137 in Toronto
780 reviews
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,062 reviews
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Address: 1214 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £140 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing