We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place, location, aesthetic, food - but rude, slow, and difficult to work with”
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #17 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We booked the Gladstone for our wedding, and we stayed there for our wedding night. In many ways it was perfect: beautiful building, perfect location, just the right feel, and lovely food served. And the person we worked with in advance was great (if slow to respond, and even slower to follow through on the accounting).

But our experience of the staff and service for the event itself was frustrating at best. Absolutely nothing was set up in advance (despite detailed instructions written by the hotel representative in the contract and order) and so we had to take care of that instead of getting photos taken. The staff was bossy and rude, and often ignored us. We had to pay for parking when we were told it would be free, we were scolded for a slight delay the cake-cutting (delayed because a guest had fainted and required medical attention), several of our guests were treated rudely and abruptly by service staff, and the following day during check-out the front desk simply left us hanging and started helping someone else. We eventually gave up, and left without a receipt.

We've loved the Gladstone for a long time, but we will never again organize an event there, or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMACN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2010

Stayed on room 403, "Big Wood" with the kitchenette. Cool room. Beautiful public areas. Very friendly helpful staff.

A couple of operational things were a let down: voicemail messaging didn't work properly, and our mattress was due for replacement as there was a sunken soft spot in the middle.

In general, a beautifully refurbished building with lovely well intentioned staff. Delivers on vibe and atmosphere, but unfortunately some of the basic hotel services suffered from sloppy execution.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acpgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Loved our time at the Gladestone. Friendly staff, nice location and really interesting ambiance. We felt very relaxed and comfortable there. The hotel also houses 2 great restaurants that we found both full of good nightlife (but not too crazy) and YUMMY locally sourced healthy food. We were in heaven.
A couple small downsides--our room was right on the front of the hotel (facing Queen St.) and it was LOUD. They were kind enough to provide ear plugs (who knew those worked so well?!), but if I had it to do over, I'd call and ask for a rear-facing room. Also, the room we were in (309) was very comfy, but had sharp corners on the edges of the bed frame. We both came home with several scuffs on our shins from cutting the corner too sharply in that compact room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yentl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I was looking for a last-minute place to stay on the tail end of a business trip. I wanted to try something different in downtown Toronto, and the Gladstone caught my eye on this site. Although is was a little more away from the heart of downtown than I would have liked, it was a beautiful building with a great staff. I had the "biker" room....although small, it was still nice--and quiet. It made me want to go knocking on other guest's doors to see what the other rooms looked like. I especially loved the parlor-like design outside of the rooms. My only complaint was that the hotel bar closed very early (11PM) the night I was there :-(

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smemchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

The Gladstone is one of my favorite places to stay in Toronto. The rooms are uniquely designed, and the staff is extremely helpful. If you're looking for a good night's sleep, make sure you reserve a room on a high floor and, if possible, facing the back or side. It can get quite loud on the sidewalks outside.

Other than that small issue, The Gladstone is a wonderful place to stay, full of character & charm.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caelatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I am a photographer that has used the artist designed rooms for a couple of shoots, and yesterdays was in the Best Suite. Absolutely lives up to the name! Service as always was excellent. This time I got to spend the night and enjoy to enjoy breakfast there as well, and now, I love it even more! :)
If you are visiting Toronto, or need a night away, this is where you NEED to go!
:)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeriCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

My wife and I get one weekend a year where we leave our kids with my in-laws and get away for a staycation right in our home town. For the first couple of years, we'd stay in the chain hotels but we'd always been curious about the grand old hotel called the Gladstone that we walked by many times a week. Then in 2006, we booked ourselves in for a weekend and we've been coming back at least once a year ever since.
While we've tried a couple of the artist-designed rooms, our favourite is "The Racine Room", a warmly decorated 4th floor retreat with lots of charm.
The hotel is at the hub of a bunch of nightspots, including right downstairs, it has a great restaurant or you can step out to sample the eclectic fare that Queen St. West has to offer.
If you like shopping, you jump on a streetcar and you're in the trendy Queen Street West shopping district in a few minutes, or you can stroll your way over, taking in the galleries and shops in between.
The staff are friendly and helpful, and the place has oodles of charm.

Downside:
- noise - it's noisy outside from the streetcars and late night hullabaloo. But if you don't like noise, don't vacation in a big city, I figure. The room comes with two sets of earplugs though, just in case

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thinklocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#5 of 137 in Toronto
635 reviews
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#8 of 137 in Toronto
840 reviews
Etobicoke
Old Mill Toronto
Old Mill Toronto
#20 of 137 in Toronto
968 reviews
Downtown West
Templar Hotel
Templar Hotel
#84 of 137 in Toronto
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Address: 1214 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Toronto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £135 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing