We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean. Super great. Amazing old world vibe with modern chilled hipness.”
Review of Gladstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #20 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Location is in the new super hip Parkdale area. Lots of art galleries and funky shops and eating. Streetcar stops at front door. You can park in front of the hotel using metered parking.. Bathrooms are smallish in some rooms. There is a 24hr diner across the street as well as 24hr convenience store.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralphalfonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

If you appreciate design and like to wander off the beaten path, check this place out. The amenities are fairly simple but the hotel is clean, the staff is courteous and the place is altogether more interesting than most. The Gladstone uses local (!) products and the cafe breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This hotel has great character, fantastic service and a great location. Our room wasn't one of the really funky ones but it was still lovely and spotlessly clean. We had a great view over the Toronto skyline and all this at a really reasonable price. There is great entertainment in the evening and breakfast was absolutely fabulous. We'd go back in a heartbeat! The only thing we found a little annoying was that when the heating came on it was pretty noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June_and_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

After reading reviews here that the rooms might be noisy and/or cold I immediately contacted the Hotel. I asked for a room that doesn't front Queen Street to minimise the noise and was easily granted that request. I also asked if there were space heaters in case the rooms got cold and was informed that there were and will be available for our use. After taking care of those two things, our stay was fabulous.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSantos_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Our stay at the Gladstone Hotel was great. If you've never heard of it, its an old building that's been updated and made into a unique hotel where every room has a different theme by different designers. We stayed in room #304 (you can see all the different rooms to choose from on their website).

PROS
Service was great. Especially the man working the elevator!
Room was very clean.
Room was awesome and unique! Great for fun photos.
Bed was the MOST comfy bed I've ever slept on.
There are galleries on every floor, amazing artwork.
Good breakfast downstairs in the morning.

CONS
The windows in our room weren't very well isolated. We could hear every car that passed, plus you could feel the cold air coming through. We slept with sweaters on, and there were lots of heavy blankets, so it didn't bother us much. But it would some people.

NOTE:
- On weekends, there are bands/dance nights on the main floor. If you are a light-sleeper, this may bother you. (didn't bother us)
- If you are new to Toronto and don't know the area, it isn't really in the middle of shopping, restaurants, etc. You have to walk a bit to find dinner or shopping (lots of bars nearby, though)

All in all, we had a great stay and would recommend the Gladstone to anyone who wants to stay somewhere unique instead of in a boring cookie-cutter room at a plain hotel. Great for a weekend away :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My spouse and I are both Torontonians who recently left the city. On our last night in Toronto, we stayed for one night at the Gladstone in the Parlour of Twilight room. I would highly recommend both the room and the hotel. The bed was comfortable, the bath products were both lovely and local and the food in the cafe and the Melody Bar was very tasty.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoLeesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

If you love art and history, you'll love this hotel! It's full of beautiful details and artistic touches. And they have a morning coffee service - you fill out your order and leave it on your door and it's waiting in the morning at your specified time! The individually decorated rooms are just exquisite and charming. A lovely experience!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brg816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#11 of 138 in Toronto
638 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,770 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Hotel

Address: 1214 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £136 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gladstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gladstone Hotel is not only the oldest continuously operating hotel in Toronto, it's also one of Canada's favourite Art Boutique Hotels. Blending historical Victorian architecture with contemporary elegance, downtown culture and whole lot of art, the Gladstone Hotel has a very diverse client base and is a hub for locals and international travellers alike. 37 Hotel rooms each individually designed by different Canadian artists, 2 restaurants, 4 event spaces including a ballroom with a full size bar, 3 Art exhibition spaces and a meeting room. We organize private events, staff parties, corporate events, press/book launches, weddings and more. Find out what people are saying about the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto, or leave a review of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing