We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable in all categories”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Unbeatable in all categories”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

A B&B should have friendly hosts, be spotless, in a good location, serve scrumptious breakfasts, be in a dwelling that has character and on-site parking, and have a great bed. For all of these categories my wife and I would say that "By The Park" will easily meet your expectations. Our hosts made us feel at home as soon as we came through the front door. The place was immaculate throughout. The breakfasts we shared with the other guests were gourmet. The house that was lovingly restored is cozy and wonderful (and when the garden is in bloom must be absolutely stunning) and the bed was wonderful. The location is one short block from the Bloor subway line. If you like the B&B experience you won't find a better one in Toronto!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbklaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    63
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
116
233
76
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I'm a longtime visitor to the Toronto International Film Festival in September and after staying in various hotels and extended stay apartments in neighborhoods throughout T.O., By The Park Bed and Breakfast has become my top choice. I appreciate the quality design and orderliness of the private room and bath as well as the shared kitchen and dining spaces. It's also located on the Bloor subway line, a quick 30-minute subway ride to DT or a reasonable taxi ride late at night. Bravo Innkeepers!!

Room Tip: My basement bedroom was bright and warm but the ceiling may be too low for someone of above average...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We have now enjoyed all three stately homes of By The Park Bed and Breakfast, including several self-catering suites. Each room has its own artistic flair with traditional ambience, but modern facilities such as internet access. The locations include the heart of Roncesvalles or a short walk to the subway on Bloor, so public transportation from the airport is possible. We visit family in the area and it is perfect for us. Even the rooms with shared bathroom (which we would normally avoid), surprised us with one of the most exquisite bathrooms we have ever experienced. The icing on the cake is that Margo and Ziggy Rygier are terrific people who go out of their way to deliver the very best and create a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Our stay was great. We came for a few days of sightseeing with our two children, ages 14 and 7. The apartment was wonderful - cozy, had everything we needed, and the neighborhood was AWESOME! Bookstores, cafes, a bakery, the Polish deli. Nearby subway and trolley lines were great for getting around without having to drive the car. We enjoyed the Bata Shoe Museum, the Royal Ontario Museum, the distillery district and the amazing St. Lawrence Market.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tideshift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at By The Park. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the neighborhood was quiet. The Keele Street subway station was within walking distance, which is a great link to downtown and the rest of the city. Before finding By The Park, I've stayed at downtown hotels in the past, but this hidden gem will make me want to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timberwolf1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sant'Eusanio del Sangro, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

i stay here in september 2012 for about 15 days,and what about...beautiful location,near ttc service,very good price,the room was clean,confortable and quiete,i thing one of the best location in Toronto

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camillo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This was our 4th or 5th time staying with Margo and Ziggy. It has become our home away from home. Love the place, the Roncesvalles neighbourhood, the proximity to High Park (a 2 minute walk) and easy access to public transport. We usually leave the car at the house and walk to neighbourhood restaurants. My favorite watering holes are Dizzy's and Gate 403 for the live blues and jazz. Both are on Roncesvalles Avenue.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
642 reviews
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#2 of 136 in Toronto
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Etobicoke
Old Mill Toronto
Old Mill Toronto
#14 of 136 in Toronto
934 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Park Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Park Bed and Breakfast

Property: By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Address: 92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style bed and breakfast (with or without the breakfast) in High Park/Roncesvalles Village. Steps to the largest park in the city, right in the heart of vibrant community. 2 min. walk to Keele subway station. Easy and fast access to downtown and all attractions. Artist/Designer homes completely restored with flair and all modern conveniences. Accommodation at Indian Grove B&B includes home cooked vegetarian or vegan breakfast ("no breakfast" option is available at discounted rate). Property features dark woodwork, leaded glass windows, hardwood floors, multiple fireplaces, luxurious bathrooms, garden. High Park B&B is self catering accommodations with the access to equipped kitchen. High speed wireless internet and parking are available free of charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing