We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 114 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My friend and I stayed at Willow Suite (level 3) at High Park Suites, a self-contained apartment conveniently located near Keele-Bloor station and just a few houses down from the B&B, for three nights in May 2013. The room was cosy and nice, and the ensuite bathroom with shower was clean and new. The kitchenette and refrigerator just outside the room was a great addition for brewing tea in the morning and whipping up simple dinners for night-ins. The host, Ziggy was also very helpful.

Only downside was that the stairs was very narrow, which made moving our large luggage up and down the stairs difficult. Ziggy helped to carry our luggage up on the first day, which we appreciate greatly.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd floor units if you are okay with the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzyminty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    62
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
113
225
76
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, ny
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My visit was short (2 nights) but sweet. The inn is easy to find, parking was easy. I was received graciously in spite of my late arrival. I like the option to do without breakfast, at a reduced rate. Excellent walking neighborhood; close to good food. Lovely clean comfortable bedroom. The owners strongly encourage one to remove ones shoes at the door. I am not super comfortable with that, but it's a small thing. I didn't spend time indoors during the day, but the living room (with its intimate garden view) looks inviting. Thumbs up for sure!

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraIthaca_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend. It is a totally lovely place and Margo and Ziggy were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. The location is great, a short walk to Bloor, and it includes off street parking which is a big plus for Toronto. We were in a room that shared a (huge, lovely) bathroom and this was no problem. The third floor room is spectacular, and would be fantastic for special occasions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference in downtown Toronto. A 10 minute walk to the Subway worked out very well. The rooms were clean and neat. Everything was very fine. I have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here in April to do a running race in High Park. The location was fantastic for us because we were right next to the park. The property is also within a few walking minutes to the subway station. When we arrived Ziggy showed us around and through the property. Parking was provided on the property (and included in the price), which is great for Toronto. We stayed in the Magnolia Room on the second floor. We chose not to do the breakfast option because of the race, which worked out perfectly since a fridge is provided in the room and there is a shared kitchen with all of the appliances/utensils you need to make your own breakfast. An added bonus for us was that the kitchen is shared and since our friends had the room next to us, we had the opportunity to meet in the kitchen and eat with them. The bed was huge, high and comfortable. There was plenty of closet space and storage for all of our items which allowed us to be tidy and organized. Lastly, from the bedroom there is a mini-hall that steps down to the kitchen and washroom. The washroom is very spacious with a sink, toilet and shower stall. We enjoyed our stay and have already booked another two night stay this summer with the same friends again. We definitely recommend By The Park Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristontheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This review is so long overdue! We stayed here last summer - one night actually in the b&b in the super huge and luxurious Loft Suite (Wow!!) and then a full week in one of their apartments in the Roncesvalles neighborhood.

**Location: both the b&b and the apartment are in fantastic locations. Roncesvalles is such a fun area - great restaurants, close to the park, just fabulous. It is also extremely convenient to public transit - particularly the apartment which has a trolley stop almost right in front of it. We spent a week exploring Toronto and I never found an area I liked better. If I ever return to Toronto I will absolutely stay in this area again and again.

**Customer Service: Margo and Ziggy are a super serene and kind couple. We had a major flight snafu and (oddly) had to fly in a night earlier than expected (long story!) and they totally accommodated us by letting us stay in the Loft Suite while the apartment was being prepared for our expected arrival. We arrived pretty late at night, but they still welcomed us kindly. I can't tell you the relief it was to arrive there after a long and very stressful day of travel. Once we finally checked into the apartment we didn't see them much (which is to be expected of a vacation rental), but they were always super responsive when we had any questions.

**Rooms/Facilities: The b&b is truly stunning, but as we spent most of our time at the apartment I'll focus on that. The rooms were all very nicely updated and appointed (the bathroom in particular was done very well!) Both bedrooms had window a/c units which were sorely needed as the temps were brutally hot during our visit. My daughter slept in the front room which faces the street. I'm not sure if street noise is a problem up there since she sleeps like the dead no matter what, but it is something to consider for light sleepers. My only minor complaint is that the layout was a bit awkward with the kitchen being downstairs and there being no living room for us all to hang out together in the evenings. But we made do and it was just fine. I like that there was a full size fridge in the kitchen as you don't often find that in big city vacation rentals. It would have been great to have a washer/dryer, but there are Laundromats nearby.

**The bottom line: If you're looking for a comfortable apartment in a fabulous neighborhood with access to all that Toronto has to offer look no further!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laustic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just what we wanted for 5 days in Toronto - the B & B is a fairly short drive from the airport, close to the Expressway for travelling to Niagara, and only a few minutes walk to Keele subway for easy access to the city sights. Also in in great little neighbourhood for a beer and bite to eat in the evening. But I saved the best bit until last. The B & B is just lovely - beautifully decorated and maintained and the hosts (Margo and Ziggy) couldn't have been more delightful and helpful.

Room Tip: The garden view room is large and bright and has a lovely outlook over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Etobicoke
Old Mill Toronto
Old Mill Toronto
#14 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Park Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Park Bed and Breakfast

Property: By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Address: 92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style bed and breakfast (with or without the breakfast) in High Park/Roncesvalles Village. Steps to the largest park in the city, right in the heart of vibrant community. 2 min. walk to Keele subway station. Easy and fast access to downtown and all attractions. Artist/Designer homes completely restored with flair and all modern conveniences. Accommodation at Indian Grove B&B includes home cooked vegetarian or vegan breakfast ("no breakfast" option is available at discounted rate). Property features dark woodwork, leaded glass windows, hardwood floors, multiple fireplaces, luxurious bathrooms, garden. High Park B&B is self catering accommodations with the access to equipped kitchen. High speed wireless internet and parking are available free of charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing