We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a jewel!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 118 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at By the Park B & B. and we absolutely love the place. What amazing job Margo and Ziggy did in rebuilding the house back to its original design. The home was very clean and charming, with all the modern comforts. It was in the perfect location for us to catch the subway and walk over to the High Park. We found the place to be totally relaxing and a perfect hideaway. Would come back anytime we are back in Toronto.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hillyer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

My husband and I were visiting our daughter in Toronto and we were so pleased to find this lovely house where we could have a nice place to stay without the breakfast. We had a fridge in our room and a shared kitchen which was perfect for having a few snacks at our convenience. The unit was very clean and convenient although a bit small. I know it will be very lovely right by the park in the later spring when the leaves are out. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgaryconnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My friend and I stayed at Willow Suite (level 3) at High Park Suites, a self-contained apartment conveniently located near Keele-Bloor station and just a few houses down from the B&B, for three nights in May 2013. The room was cosy and nice, and the ensuite bathroom with shower was clean and new. The kitchenette and refrigerator just outside the room was a great addition for brewing tea in the morning and whipping up simple dinners for night-ins. The host, Ziggy was also very helpful.

Only downside was that the stairs was very narrow, which made moving our large luggage up and down the stairs difficult. Ziggy helped to carry our luggage up on the first day, which we appreciate greatly.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd floor units if you are okay with the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzyminty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My visit was short (2 nights) but sweet. The inn is easy to find, parking was easy. I was received graciously in spite of my late arrival. I like the option to do without breakfast, at a reduced rate. Excellent walking neighborhood; close to good food. Lovely clean comfortable bedroom. The owners strongly encourage one to remove ones shoes at the door. I am not super comfortable with that, but it's a small thing. I didn't spend time indoors during the day, but the living room (with its intimate garden view) looks inviting. Thumbs up for sure!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank BarbaraIthaca_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend. It is a totally lovely place and Margo and Ziggy were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. The location is great, a short walk to Bloor, and it includes off street parking which is a big plus for Toronto. We were in a room that shared a (huge, lovely) bathroom and this was no problem. The third floor room is spectacular, and would be fantastic for special occasions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference in downtown Toronto. A 10 minute walk to the Subway worked out very well. The rooms were clean and neat. Everything was very fine. I have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here in April to do a running race in High Park. The location was fantastic for us because we were right next to the park. The property is also within a few walking minutes to the subway station. When we arrived Ziggy showed us around and through the property. Parking was provided on the property (and included in the price), which is great for Toronto. We stayed in the Magnolia Room on the second floor. We chose not to do the breakfast option because of the race, which worked out perfectly since a fridge is provided in the room and there is a shared kitchen with all of the appliances/utensils you need to make your own breakfast. An added bonus for us was that the kitchen is shared and since our friends had the room next to us, we had the opportunity to meet in the kitchen and eat with them. The bed was huge, high and comfortable. There was plenty of closet space and storage for all of our items which allowed us to be tidy and organized. Lastly, from the bedroom there is a mini-hall that steps down to the kitchen and washroom. The washroom is very spacious with a sink, toilet and shower stall. We enjoyed our stay and have already booked another two night stay this summer with the same friends again. We definitely recommend By The Park Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouristontheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#53 of 135 in Toronto
1,596 reviews
West End
Clinton and Bloor B&B
Clinton and Bloor B&B
#2 of 118 in Toronto
711 reviews
Downtown
Toronto Garden Inn
Toronto Garden Inn
#8 of 118 in Toronto
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#9 of 118 in Toronto
245 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Home Inn
Downtown Home Inn
#10 of 118 in Toronto
366 reviews
Downtown
Comfy Guest House and Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Park Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Park Bed and Breakfast

Address: 92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: £56 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style bed and breakfast (with or without the breakfast) in High Park/Roncesvalles Village. Steps to the largest park in the city, right in the heart of vibrant community. 2 min. walk to Keele subway station. Easy and fast access to downtown and all attractions. Artist/Designer homes completely restored with flair and all modern conveniences. Accommodation at Indian Grove B&B includes home cooked vegetarian or vegan breakfast ("no breakfast" option is available at discounted rate). Property features dark woodwork, leaded glass windows, hardwood floors, multiple fireplaces, luxurious bathrooms, garden. High Park B&B is self catering accommodations with the access to equipped kitchen. High speed wireless internet and parking are available free of charge. Toronto Roncesvalles Suites - long term (29+ days) self catering suites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing