We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in Toronto”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tranquility in Toronto”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I look forward to staying in my tranquil paradise every spring when I come to Toronto. This place is a hidden gem. Close to the Keele subway and High Park, the location is perfect. After an exhausting day in the city you can return to Margo and Ziggys garden and relax with a glass of wine and truly smell the roses.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBonitaAalders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Benita, thank you- you said it all. See you next June and happy dancing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    63
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
115
229
76
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I spent three days here during our recent stay in Toronto. It's the perfect mix of a quiet residential neighborhood, only minutes from the Keele subway station. Margo and Ziggy are great hosts and very willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We stayed in the Victorian Bedroom, which is on the second floor at the front of the house. It's nicely decorated with a modern ensuite bathroom with shower. Definitely recommended for a stay in Toronto!

Two tips. First, when you arrive make sure you take a left after you cross the busy street leaving the subway stop. Walk a block and take the first right which will be Indian Grove and the B&B will be a few houses up the street on the right side. We made the mistake of walking up the street next to High Park. We had to walk a few blocks past the B&B before we could catch a side street and backtrack. Not a big deal but no fun when you are hauling luggage!

Second, this is a great spot to do laundry if you need to. There is a laundry just a couple of blocks from the B&B (you'll pass it every day as you go to and from Keele Station). They have several machines, but they also offer a wash and fold service at $0.99 a pound. My wife and I were able to have them wash 10 day's worth of clothes for us for under $25 Canadian. Well worth it to start the second half of our trip with clean clothes!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereAreWe?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you, great review form a experienced traveled. We are so glad you had a good time staying with us and hope that you visit us again on your next trip to Toronto. Have a good summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaree Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have stayed at this place 3 times and love it. After a hectic day in the big city, you can come back to a lovely home environment in a family neighbourhood - the best of both worlds to us. We stayed in the self-catering house - you have your own fridge and a shared kitchen. Everything is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean.The location is a short walk to the subway, restaurants, shops, etc. It is a little longer, but manageable walk to a Go Train stop. Easy access to High Park for walking or running is another bonus. Convenient parking is included in the price of the room, making it a great value for the city of Toronto.

Room Tip: Browse their web site to select a room that suits you. The basement rooms are quiet and have few sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us - we love returning guests.
Our High Park location is just 15-20 minutes from downtown yet at the same time it feels like you are you are in the country. With century old homes surrounded by mature oaks and maples and High Park just a street over, one can definitely relax from the noise and heat of the city. See you next time. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

June 12, 2014 My second visit from Edmonton, the first was in December 2012 in the basement suite which was very nice. On this recent visit my sister joined me from California and we stayed in the Oak Suite non-catered suite across the street.The accommodations were great, nice ensuite kitchen, and bedroom, which I let my sister use. I used the pull out couch which was prepared for me by Ziggy and Margo. All that is needed is a small step stool for the shower which has quite a large step to enter/exit. The house is a short walk to the subway which we used a lot. Although we mostly ate in and with family, we found a nice pub down the street called 'Mugshots' which has a great pulled pork sandwich and sweet potato fries. We also found a very nice breakfast place with mostly homemade food choices. I will most certainly stay again on my next trip. Thank you Margo and Ziggy for another great and safe place to stay. :o)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you Carol and it was a pleasure to meet your sister. We are so glad you had a good time and thanks for recommendation for the local eatery. Till next time-have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently stayed in the High Park suites which is the non-catered house across the street from the bed and breakfast house. The house has a lovely front garden and large porch with comfy chairs. The Maple room was a good sized room with a comfortable queen sized bed and well appointed, modern bathroom. The in-room fridge was a nice touch and a lockable door led to a small kitchen, well supplied with basic cookware and utensils, that was shared with the next room. Everything was bright and cheery and clearly well cared for. Margo and Ziggy were friendly, caring and helpful. This is a safe area of beautiful homes, very convenient to the subway and a short ride to downtown, and easy walking distance to several areas of interesting small shops and restaurants (the Junction, Bloor West, and Roncesvalles), and it is a reasonable walk to the lakeshore. Whenever we visit Toronto, we now know where we will stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you Gabriella for staying with us and for a wonderful review. We try our best to have our properties in the top condition and maximum comfort for your guests. Have a great summer and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We returned to By the Park for our annual visit from the west coast to visit our children and our new grandson. Once again Margo and Ziggy did not disappoint. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed hanging out in High Park Village and went for some early morning runs in the Park. This B&B is in the perfect location with the subway steps away and access to some wonderful restaurants (we recommend Good Forks at Bloor Street West and Jane Street for breakfast if you decide not to eat one of Margo and Ziggy's gourmet breakfasts) If you're into pubs there are several good ones within walking distance. We tried Mugshots this year (just around the corner near Bloor Street West and Parkside Drive) and the beer selection and food were exceptional. We'll been back again soon guys.....thank you again for a lovely experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much. We are always looking forward to your annual Toronto visit. And thank you for the invitation- one of this days we will break free and go west. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Sumptuous in every respect except the price--which was reasonable. Excellent location near High Park. Easy access to the university and downtown. The room was elegantly appointed, the hosts congenial, and the breakfasts hardy and delicious. Puppies and kitty added their own brand of conviviality. Surprisingly quiet given the fact of its location near main thoroughfares. Garden is gorgeous. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The second floor room overlooking the garden was spacious with king size bed. Shared bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you Dianne. Now that you discovered our home, we hope to see you again. All the best this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
622 reviews
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#6 of 136 in Toronto
608 reviews
Etobicoke
Old Mill Toronto
Old Mill Toronto
#14 of 136 in Toronto
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Park Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Park Bed and Breakfast

Property: By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Address: 92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style bed and breakfast (with or without the breakfast) in High Park/Roncesvalles Village. Steps to the largest park in the city, right in the heart of vibrant community. 2 min. walk to Keele subway station. Easy and fast access to downtown and all attractions. Artist/Designer homes completely restored with flair and all modern conveniences. Accommodation at Indian Grove B&B includes home cooked vegetarian or vegan breakfast ("no breakfast" option is available at discounted rate). Property features dark woodwork, leaded glass windows, hardwood floors, multiple fireplaces, luxurious bathrooms, garden. High Park B&B is self catering accommodations with the access to equipped kitchen. High speed wireless internet and parking are available free of charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing