We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Well this is our..oh we have forgotten just how many times we have stayed here.

As always Margo and Ziggy were as accommodating as they could be with our sudden last minute change in holiday plans and the addition of extra days at last minutes not use. This time we stayed in both the self catering side and the bed and breakfast side.

The rooms were up to their top class standard of cleanliness, presentability, and the decor is as relaxing to the eye as ever. Rooms fully clean and maintained.

We of course never use the local transport as we have to use the car for notability, but we know that the local bus and rail service is very good and frequent in to down town Toronto.

The breakfast is well presented, varied and Margo and Ziggy are well versed in the local activities in Toronto and the surrounding areas.

Parking is free, and so a bonus when one has to pay for parking in hotels in Toronto and $25 a night.

You must stay here to see why we always return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandJoanne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank You Paul and Joanne. It is always a pleasure to have you both stay with us and we forward each year to your stay. Hope rest of your Canadian vacations went well. Till next year. Have a great summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    63
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
115
229
76
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This B&B was awesome. It was our first time in Toronto and I got very lucky with my online gold mine find. This B&B was fantastic in that it was the BEST with regards to location, food, accomidations, and the hosts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
All I can say - Thank You. Thank you for all the complements on our location, accommodation and us personally. It really means a lot. After long hours, days and weeks of hard work it is great to know it was noticed. Have a wonderful summer and we hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay! Lots of room, clean, close walk to the subway, safe area, free parking. Self catered rooms were nice because you had your own fridge and could cook in the full kitchen if you wanted to. Definitely would recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so much for a moment of your time to write this great review. We are proud to have our home in High Park area of Toronto. It is wonderful community with the great access to city core by a public transit. Have a great summer and please - visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I look forward to staying in my tranquil paradise every spring when I come to Toronto. This place is a hidden gem. Close to the Keele subway and High Park, the location is perfect. After an exhausting day in the city you can return to Margo and Ziggys garden and relax with a glass of wine and truly smell the roses.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBonitaAalders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Benita, thank you- you said it all. See you next June and happy dancing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I spent three days here during our recent stay in Toronto. It's the perfect mix of a quiet residential neighborhood, only minutes from the Keele subway station. Margo and Ziggy are great hosts and very willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We stayed in the Victorian Bedroom, which is on the second floor at the front of the house. It's nicely decorated with a modern ensuite bathroom with shower. Definitely recommended for a stay in Toronto!

Two tips. First, when you arrive make sure you take a left after you cross the busy street leaving the subway stop. Walk a block and take the first right which will be Indian Grove and the B&B will be a few houses up the street on the right side. We made the mistake of walking up the street next to High Park. We had to walk a few blocks past the B&B before we could catch a side street and backtrack. Not a big deal but no fun when you are hauling luggage!

Second, this is a great spot to do laundry if you need to. There is a laundry just a couple of blocks from the B&B (you'll pass it every day as you go to and from Keele Station). They have several machines, but they also offer a wash and fold service at $0.99 a pound. My wife and I were able to have them wash 10 day's worth of clothes for us for under $25 Canadian. Well worth it to start the second half of our trip with clean clothes!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereAreWe?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you, great review form a experienced traveled. We are so glad you had a good time staying with us and hope that you visit us again on your next trip to Toronto. Have a good summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaree Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have stayed at this place 3 times and love it. After a hectic day in the big city, you can come back to a lovely home environment in a family neighbourhood - the best of both worlds to us. We stayed in the self-catering house - you have your own fridge and a shared kitchen. Everything is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean.The location is a short walk to the subway, restaurants, shops, etc. It is a little longer, but manageable walk to a Go Train stop. Easy access to High Park for walking or running is another bonus. Convenient parking is included in the price of the room, making it a great value for the city of Toronto.

Room Tip: Browse their web site to select a room that suits you. The basement rooms are quiet and have few sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us - we love returning guests.
Our High Park location is just 15-20 minutes from downtown yet at the same time it feels like you are you are in the country. With century old homes surrounded by mature oaks and maples and High Park just a street over, one can definitely relax from the noise and heat of the city. See you next time. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

June 12, 2014 My second visit from Edmonton, the first was in December 2012 in the basement suite which was very nice. On this recent visit my sister joined me from California and we stayed in the Oak Suite non-catered suite across the street.The accommodations were great, nice ensuite kitchen, and bedroom, which I let my sister use. I used the pull out couch which was prepared for me by Ziggy and Margo. All that is needed is a small step stool for the shower which has quite a large step to enter/exit. The house is a short walk to the subway which we used a lot. Although we mostly ate in and with family, we found a nice pub down the street called 'Mugshots' which has a great pulled pork sandwich and sweet potato fries. We also found a very nice breakfast place with mostly homemade food choices. I will most certainly stay again on my next trip. Thank you Margo and Ziggy for another great and safe place to stay. :o)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilkot, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you Carol and it was a pleasure to meet your sister. We are so glad you had a good time and thanks for recommendation for the local eatery. Till next time-have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
621 reviews
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#6 of 136 in Toronto
608 reviews
Etobicoke
Old Mill Toronto
Old Mill Toronto
#14 of 136 in Toronto
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Park Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Park Bed and Breakfast

Property: By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Address: 92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style bed and breakfast (with or without the breakfast) in High Park/Roncesvalles Village. Steps to the largest park in the city, right in the heart of vibrant community. 2 min. walk to Keele subway station. Easy and fast access to downtown and all attractions. Artist/Designer homes completely restored with flair and all modern conveniences. Accommodation at Indian Grove B&B includes home cooked vegetarian or vegan breakfast ("no breakfast" option is available at discounted rate). Property features dark woodwork, leaded glass windows, hardwood floors, multiple fireplaces, luxurious bathrooms, garden. High Park B&B is self catering accommodations with the access to equipped kitchen. High speed wireless internet and parking are available free of charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing