We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only all B&B were like By The Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
By The Park Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 118 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2010

By The Park sets the standard by which all B&Bs should follow. Thoroughly enjoyable stay, the Victorian suite is an elegantly furnished room with large 4 poster King size bed and luxury ensuite . Lovely breakfast with fresh tea and orange served by your host. Quick connection by subway to the downtown area takes about 15 minutes even in rush hour. Would I come back, yes, would I recommend this B&B, a resounding yes.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank AdrianSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

We had a great first visit to Toronto with a wonderful stay at the By the Park B&B. The location was perfect for commuting to downtown via the subway with the Keele station only 1 block away. The Garden View room was large and spacious and the bathroom was huge and decorated beautifully. Ziggy and Margo were gracious hosts providing good conversation, tips about Toronto, and delicious breakfasts. The yard is also a wonderful area to relax and unwind after a day of downtown Toronto. Thanks for everything.

Dave and Carrol King

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank dcking_sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed in the Victorian Suite for 6 nights and this was our first stay in a B&B and it has certainly coverted us to B&Bers!!! Margo and Ziggy are delightful hosts with a wealth of information about Toronto and the surrouding area. The B&B is near High Park which is a lovely area and about a 10 minute drive to the Harbourfront Centre in downtown Toronto.
The room was lovely with a four poster bed and fireplace, and also a private bathroom. The breakfast was nice with fresh fruit,orange juice,tea/coffee and a choice of eggs any style or omelette.
Thanks for an amazing time (and say hi to April and Kitty for us)...from Mel & Stewart
We hope to visit you again very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank mellieha1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B. The Garden room was beautiful and we wished we had longer to spend there. The B&B's location is excellent and very near public transportation. We really appreciated the owners' attention to healthy and fresh food. The owners were very welcoming and the B&B is good value for the price. It is very clean and well-kept. Not to be missed is the second floor marble bathroom with beautiful shower and tub. Hopefully we can visit the area again soon and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank fritty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed at By the Park for a night in July. The house was a magnificent old structure, lavishly upgraded throughout, and possessing a beautiful garden which guests could enjoy. Stylistically, one could take issue with the combination of Victorian and modern Italian elements, but it was hardly a serious problem. The breakfast was very tasty. The hosts were reserved but quite cordial. You'll be asked to take off your shoes indoors for cleanliness; they have a supply of house-shoes you can use if you didn't bring your own. No complaints, and if you'd like to stay in a building that's a cut above the usual, this will do nicely.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Ottawa_Couple_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Thankyou Ziggy and Margot for all the hospitality!
I recommend this to any individual or couple! I will definitely stay here again.

I would also recommend this B&B for anyone taking courses at the Swansea Town Hall as it is only a 25 min walk or a short few minutes on the subway which is right down the street. Easy Access to everything in High Park and to get on the subway to downtown.

Firstly, We arrived to Toronto from Nova Scotia by plane ( on foot with luggage ). We called Ziggy and Margot and they clearly directed us to the nearest bus and subway station which is just a 2 minute walk from the B&B.

#92 Indian Grove - They welcomed us and we fell into our 4 poster bed for a great night's sleep. We were in the Garden View room with a shared beautiful marble bathroom. Clean, spacious, cozy.

In the morning we had an amazing vegetarian breakfast with homemeade muffins at the dining room table which was elegantly set with china. What a great way to start the day. At this B&B- which is one of two they own on the street ( check out bythepark.ca) on the street also offers high speed internet to check your email if needed. Their gardens are beautiful and the owners run the place themselves. Ziggy and Margot are both definitely talented individuals and a "Jack and Jill of all trades".

Margot and Ziggy reflect a respect for diversity, nature, environment and a need for simplicity. Both Indian Grove and High park Suites ( Across the road...as I stayed at Indian Grove week one and High Park Suites week 2-with Kitchenette) are quiet, simple, clean and comfortable.

The second week I was travelling solo in the Maple Suite at High Park Suites which had a private bath and a shared kitchenette with your own private mini fridge. This saved me many dollars eating out, Although theres an amazing sushi restaurant called "Wasabi" right down the street with great deals on all you can eat....and many restaurants on West Bloor. We also walked to Roncevalles to The Local Pub to meet friends which is a popular/funky local watering hole with live music. This area also reflected the beautiful polish culture which is rich in hospitality and traditional close knit family values.

I enjoyed sitting in the garden with friends sharing fresh produce/deli from Max's Market on Bloor Street ( Amazing) and a beautiful bottle of white wine. I could convince myself , at one point, that I was in Southern france somewhere. Beautiful...yet much cheaper:)

These properties are literally right next door to High Park which is a beautiful , natural oasis for walking, running, biking, or for those wanting to be entertained by live theatre or good food at the grenadier.

At the end of my stay, Ziggy booked me a reliable/safe shuttle back to the airport which allowed me to leave and arrive there on time = no stress, no hassle, and a great way to end my course and start my summer vacation.

It definitely helped me jump off of the "Hamster wheel of Life" into vacation and yoga mode.

Thanks to Ziggy and Margot for all they do! Ill be back:)
Shawna Shiers , Dartmouth , Nova Scotia

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank shawna38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

At first, it was....what do you mean there's no phone in my room. My first B&B experience.
When I left, it was....thank you for no phone in my room.
I haven't relaxed like that ever.
Everything was wonderful. Marble bathroom, king size bed, lots of windows, it was great.
I was so happy to meet our gracious hosts, Margo and Ziggy, It was top notch all the way.
So....to my new friends, if ever your in Moncton, I hope you will call on me.
Hugs
Mona

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank chalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorontoApril, Owner at By The Park Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2010

Thank you. Always glad to hear from the happy guest. Hope to see you next year. Have a good summer and keep the tango going.
Margo and Ziggy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
West End
Clinton and Bloor B&B
Clinton and Bloor B&B
#2 of 118 in Toronto
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Downtown Home Inn
Downtown Home Inn
#9 of 118 in Toronto
362 reviews
West End
Elliott House B&B
Elliott House B&B
#5 of 118 in Toronto
104 reviews
Downtown West
Making Waves Boatel
Making Waves Boatel
#3 of 118 in Toronto
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Park Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Park Bed and Breakfast

Address: 92 Indian Grove, Toronto, Ontario M6R 2Y4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: £60 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style bed and breakfast (with or without the breakfast) in High Park/Roncesvalles Village. Steps to the largest park in the city, right in the heart of vibrant community. 2 min. walk to Keele subway station. Easy and fast access to downtown and all attractions. Artist/Designer homes completely restored with flair and all modern conveniences. Accommodation at Indian Grove B&B includes home cooked vegetarian or vegan breakfast ("no breakfast" option is available at discounted rate). Property features dark woodwork, leaded glass windows, hardwood floors, multiple fireplaces, luxurious bathrooms, garden. High Park B&B is self catering accommodations with the access to equipped kitchen. High speed wireless internet and parking are available free of charge. Toronto Roncesvalles Suites - long term (29+ days) self catering suites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing