We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence
Ranked #90 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Fairfield, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The place was reasonably clean, but it is in a 1960s or 70s concrete building so it is not beautiful. This wouldn't matter because it is cheap and well-placed for downtown Toronto.

This hall is set up for school groups and sports teams - not for visitors from the general public. The worst thing was the attitude of the staff, who are apparently only geared to deal with students. The girl on reception was very friendly but had little clue how to deal with most of my questions - I concluded that she was not trained. Her supervisor treated me like a badly behaved first-year student. The information on line says, for example, 'A pillow is provided' - what it does not say is that if you need another pillow, you can't have one. The worst thing was not that there are no pillows but that the supervisor spoke contemptuously to me as if I should have read the instructions and it was my own fault that I didn't bring one.

The kitchen had nothing except work surfaces, settees, a cooker, microwave and fridge/freezer. I.e. no pans, crockery, cutlery, kettle or utensils. I was given a paper cup so I could heat water in the microwave. This kitchen might work if you were Canadian and coming by car so you could bring all you needed. For an Englishwoman coming on the train, it was of almost no use at all.

I have stayed in many university halls of residence before and this was definitely one of the worst organised. For example, in my last couple of days a party of young teenage boys arrived and were staying all around me. My bathroom was moved by the simple expedient of putting a notice on the door. Sharing a floor with a group of boys was not my idea of fun.

There is a good and cheap laundry room. The bathrooms were cleaned fairly regularly. The place is cheap. Those are the only good points.

I would advise anyone not to go there. It should not be being advertised to the general public.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    18
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
5
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyons
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Toronto is an expensive city for accomodation, and this university residence is a total bargain. Of course, you'll get a basic comfort, with shared bathrooms, but the room is really OK. On the other hand, you will benefit from the common area equipments, which include a shared fridge, microwave oven, etc. What's more, the location is top-notch, right smack in the city centre. Oh, and: there's Wifi! :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjorie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
364 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I stayed in the long-term Wetmore Hall Residence for one week in August 2011. Basic room with pillow, sheets, blanket and bedspread; desk with chair; and telephone included but mine didn't work. Very economical accommodations in a very expensive city. Laundry machines were $1 per load and $0.50 to dry. Breakfast buffet was available while I was there but can be sporadic depending if there are large groups staying on campus. Right across from Spadina trolley line and a 5 minute walk to subway ($3 CAD with transfers).

Room Tip: Reserve early as the University of Toronto summer lodging fills up quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrockDaBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Saved much on accomodation during this trip.
Bare necessities were provided.
Security was sufficient for a lone traveller.
Could rest well.

If you're looking for a luxurious place to satisfy creature comforts. this is not the place to be..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gracelimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inishowen Peninsula, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here for three nights over a weekend. I booked the residences because I was last-minute and it was one of the few places with availability. I was apprehensive of partying with it being a weekend, but the place quieted right down at midnight, so no problems there. My room was fine, clean and given I had a double to myself I had plenty of space. The free wi-fi was completely reliable. The shared bathrooms, however, weren't cleaned once in the three days I was there, even though they needed it (particularly the sinks). I didn't use the common areas so I can't comment on them.
The staff are really helpful. The location and price are the main things going for this place. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devotchka83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
264 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

The location of this "hotel" is quite good, streetcar is very close and metro station and Korea Town are both within walking distance.

The room was large but very spartan and quite old. Most of the floor was empty for our first few nights, so very quiet, after that a school excursion arrived with about 25 teenagers, very noisy!

Common areas were clean and ok. You can also do laundry for a small fee.

The main downside was that our room was not cleaned or towels changed for the entire time we were there.

Still ok for the price and good location.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaNLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, OH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2008

The room was tiny and spartan, as I expected. The toilets and shower down the hall were almost disgusting, but not quite. Let's just say it was clear many people used them both frequently. All of this was as I expected, given the incredible price of $40 per night. And the location is incredibly convenient for downtown. The Spadina street car is very closeby.

I needed to leave a day earlier than expected, not an emergency but a change of plans. They would not even consider refunding all or part of my final night's fee.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank professorjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#101 of 136 in Toronto
22 reviews
Downtown
89 Chestnut
89 Chestnut
#110 of 136 in Toronto
106 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#100 of 136 in Toronto
188 reviews
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#88 of 136 in Toronto
171 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#78 of 136 in Toronto
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence

Property: University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence
Address: 40 Willcocks St, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1C6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Of Toronto - New College Residences Hotel Toronto
New College Residence Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing