We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for the cheap price. Bring earplugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence
Ranked #88 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Only for the cheap price. Bring earplugs!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

To save money, because we were staying in town for six nights, we stayed here but regretted it. As previous posters have mentioned, the front desk staff seem poorly trained, and they are more used to big school groups than individual guests.
An unfriendly young man who was working the overnight shift told me he couldnt tell me if there was any possibility of moving to a different room to a quiter section of the hall and that I would have to ask in the office the next day. The front desk person doesn't know how full the residence is?

On the plus side, the room was air conditioned, which is necessary in Toronto in summer, and the curtains at least had linings to block out light in the morning.
Our biggest complaint was the noise from what seemed to be the undergrad students who are residents there in wetmore hall, where we stayed..
They showed no consideration for other guests, walking through the halls and yelling at each other from one end of the hall to another, well past midnight, and slamming room doors and hallway entrance doors. There is a kitchen common area where they gathered each night watching TV that blared away.
Security is good, with locks on the main building entrance, the entrance to each floor and you can;t use the elevator unless you have a room key.
Be warned that you could end up with a large group of high-school students staying on your floor as well, since it's a popular accommodation for student groups. The communal bathroom can also be a very long trek down the hall from where your room is.
Location is good and fairly central, in a leafy and green area of the campus. Building is ugly late 1960s architecture with lots of concrete, like a disguised parking garage.
If you have a car, note that there is no overnight parking on Willcocks street in front of the residence. I parked on Spadina just below Willcocks, where you can park overnight but the meter starts charging at 8 a.m. So you have to get up and move your car or put money in the meter. A better bet would be to find a city-run parking lot and just leave your car there if you don't need to drive anywhere while in town.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
5
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed here in the 1st week of June for 7 days. I would stay here again, cheap and a great location.

- Staff were friendly (even when I arrived at 3am due to my delayed flight).
- 20-25 mins walk to Yonge Street and Eaton Shopping Centre
- 5 mins walk to BIXI bicycle stand
- 8-10 mins walk to Spadina station
- 5-10 mins to grocery stores on Spadina Avenue
- Safe area to walk around even during the night
- Shared washrooms were fairly clean, though the male washrooms were on the other side (perhaps ask to stay in a room which is closer to the male washroom)
- Room was fairly clean
- Free wired internet (if you do not have Anti-virus software and the latest Windows updates on your computer, make sure you update it before you get here, otherwise you not be able to access the Internet without updating over the University's network)
- The noise from some rooms (students I guess) was sometimes loud beyond the "Quiet" time of 8PM but not loud enough to cause me much bother (i.e. no loud music, partying, etc)

If you are looking for a cheap and great location compared to staying in a hostel or paying crazy hotel prices Downtown, stay here

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ap3791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Pros – Location, cheap vs. alternatives, fairly comfy bed, good location

Cons – Toilets can be 3 blocks away – not ideal for the middle of the night, Noisy as School Trips use accommodation so our room was surrounded by school kids, Room dark and dingy, didn’t feel the cleanest, staff on reception a bit useless when couldn't find our booking so had to be sorted out by booking office but no one communicated this to us so we were stood around for half an hour not sure what was going on - not ideal after a long flight.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Don't expect anything more than a place to sleep at night. This is a very basic 'hotel'. It's located very conveniently downtown Toronto, within walking distance of many attractions.
The rooms are very basic, you get a mattress, a small desk, and a shared public bathroom/showers. The price is cheap, we were 2 people, stayed for 1 night, for 58$.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The place was reasonably clean, but it is in a 1960s or 70s concrete building so it is not beautiful. This wouldn't matter because it is cheap and well-placed for downtown Toronto.

This hall is set up for school groups and sports teams - not for visitors from the general public. The worst thing was the attitude of the staff, who are apparently only geared to deal with students. The girl on reception was very friendly but had little clue how to deal with most of my questions - I concluded that she was not trained. Her supervisor treated me like a badly behaved first-year student. The information on line says, for example, 'A pillow is provided' - what it does not say is that if you need another pillow, you can't have one. The worst thing was not that there are no pillows but that the supervisor spoke contemptuously to me as if I should have read the instructions and it was my own fault that I didn't bring one.

The kitchen had nothing except work surfaces, settees, a cooker, microwave and fridge/freezer. I.e. no pans, crockery, cutlery, kettle or utensils. I was given a paper cup so I could heat water in the microwave. This kitchen might work if you were Canadian and coming by car so you could bring all you needed. For an Englishwoman coming on the train, it was of almost no use at all.

I have stayed in many university halls of residence before and this was definitely one of the worst organised. For example, in my last couple of days a party of young teenage boys arrived and were staying all around me. My bathroom was moved by the simple expedient of putting a notice on the door. Sharing a floor with a group of boys was not my idea of fun.

There is a good and cheap laundry room. The bathrooms were cleaned fairly regularly. The place is cheap. Those are the only good points.

I would advise anyone not to go there. It should not be being advertised to the general public.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyons
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Toronto is an expensive city for accomodation, and this university residence is a total bargain. Of course, you'll get a basic comfort, with shared bathrooms, but the room is really OK. On the other hand, you will benefit from the common area equipments, which include a shared fridge, microwave oven, etc. What's more, the location is top-notch, right smack in the city centre. Oh, and: there's Wifi! :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjorie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I stayed in the long-term Wetmore Hall Residence for one week in August 2011. Basic room with pillow, sheets, blanket and bedspread; desk with chair; and telephone included but mine didn't work. Very economical accommodations in a very expensive city. Laundry machines were $1 per load and $0.50 to dry. Breakfast buffet was available while I was there but can be sporadic depending if there are large groups staying on campus. Right across from Spadina trolley line and a 5 minute walk to subway ($3 CAD with transfers).

Room Tip: Reserve early as the University of Toronto summer lodging fills up quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrockDaBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#112 of 136 in Toronto
22 reviews
Downtown
89 Chestnut
89 Chestnut
#103 of 136 in Toronto
114 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#92 of 136 in Toronto
193 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#75 of 136 in Toronto
472 reviews
Etobicoke
Canadas Best Value Inn Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence

Property: University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence
Address: 40 Willcocks St, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1C6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your University of Toronto - New College Residence - Wilson Hall Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Of Toronto - New College Residences Hotel Toronto
New College Residence Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing