We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings From A Marriott Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn by Marriott, Downtown Toronto on the final leg of our holiday.

The Residence Inn Hotel is situated in the centre of the financial district close to the CN Tower and the Rodgers Stadium. However Yonge & Dundas (where it all happens) is a 20 minute brisk walk away and the harbour is a 15 minute walk in the opposite direction.

On entering the Residence Inn by Marriott our first impression was "dated". The decor in the lobby area is a dark brown colour with brown furniture and a orangey brown carpet. There is a small alcove area to the right where you can buy food or snacks such as crisps, chocolate and frozen microwave meals. To the left of the lobby is the lounge area with a TV and a small bar in the corner. The reception is just in front of the shop area on the right hand side and the dining/breakfast area is further up on the left.

When we tried to check in on arrival at 3pm (as stated on our booking) we were told by a rather rude receptionist that our room wasn’t ready, when we asked when our room would be available the receptionist shrugged her shoulders, said she didn’t know and told us to wait in the lobby till it was available. As we were silver elite members, we found this to be totally unacceptable and very unprofessional for a Marriott staff member.

When we did eventually check in at 4.30pm (with a different staff member) we were checked in quickly and more professionally.

On entering the suite it comprised of a dining table, a fully fitted kitchen with microwave, sink, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, hob and a coffee maker. There were complimentary teabags, filter coffee sachets and sugar stocked daily.

The lounge area comprised of a settee, a chair & table, a study desk and a chest of drawers with a LCD TV on top.

The bedroom had a double bed and a chest of drawers with another LCD TV on it. There is a large sliding door mirrored wardrobe with a safe, ironing board and iron inside.

The bathroom was clean with a low level bath with overhead shower, toilet and sink with complimentary toiletries. The room was cleaned daily and to a high standard.

There is a small gym in the hotel and a small swimming pool with a Jacuzzi, with separate changing rooms to the right.

There is complimentary breakfast in the mornings, which I can only describe as chaotic, there is a choice of cereals, cooked and continental breakfast, juices, tea and coffee, but it's a free for all with not enough tables and chairs for the all the guest to sit at. We gave up waiting for a table in the end and ate in our room; the breakfast was unappetising in my honest opinion and definitely not to the usual Marriott standard.

Apart from the rude staff member and the free for all breakfast, the Residence Inn Marriott is average at best, but it is spotlessly clean and the suites are fully stocked and tastefully decorated.

We have definitely stayed in better hotels on our travels, but also in a lot worse. Would I recommend the Residence Inn Marriott...? Mmmm, all I can say is that it's a lot of money for what you get, if you don't expect too much you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear of the hotel and as high up as possible if you want a nice city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfyboy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

It is with great appreciation I read your review of your stay with us and certainly the most valuable feedback. Your concerns have been readdressed and also I am happy to inform you that the lobby and lounge area are being renovated in early 2014, keeping up to date with the current trends.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to once again welcome you back to the hotel and to be able to extend a personal welcome as a highly valued Silver Elite Marriott member.

Kindest regards,

Karen

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 811 of 1,699 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband brought me to Toronto with him on a business trip...I got to choose the hotel. Since we are Marriott Rewards members I compared all Marriott's within the downtown vicinity. I'd remembered staying in one of the Marriott's just north of this one...horrible! No where in Toronto can you find an amazing pool, business center, breakfast, room with a kitchenette fully equipt with refer, micro and stove top! All within competitive prices. My Favorite the amazing locker rooms @ the pool. Nice touch. The breakfast is great - Buffett, eggs, meat, potatos and the remaining continental. The room was spacious, clean and nicely equipt with all the amenities. Every time we come back to TO we will stay here for sure. Only cons..our vehicle did not fit in their valet so we had to park in public parking. Fortunatly parking was only a half a block away and was not full! And the new Ripleys Aquarium wasn't open yet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ct V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

It is with great appreciation we received your review on TripAdvisor, feedback is so very valuable to our success and the constant striving for customer satisfaction! We do take pride and care for each and every guest staying with us.
You will be pleased to note that the Ripley's Aquarium is now open and proving to be very successful already!

I hope you have the opportunity to travel again with your husband and enjoy our great cities offerings and of course a second stay at the Residence Inn Downtown!

Kind regards,

Karen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for a week and had a great time. The staff were friendly and helpful, excellent customer care. It's only a short walk from places we wanted to be. Breakfast was amazing and the theme evenings an added bonus. Rooms were great, the only slight niggle is that the sofa bed was a little uncomfortable for my child. Housekeeping staff went over and beyond to make sure everything was good for us

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ditzytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

We totally appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review of your stay with us and it was such a pleasure to read it out to the team!

Hopefully you will have the opportunity in the coming months to make another trip to the city and we can offer a personal welcome.

Kind regards, Karen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Residence Inn. Large, clean, comfortable room. Perfect location - we walked everywhere. We didn't realize that breakfast was included and it was good with many choices. The staff was very accommodating - we had already checked out but they let my husband into the business center so he had a quiet place for an important call.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallyMom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

My team was absolutely delighted to hear about your ranking of our service! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and also the news that we are having a renovation early 2014 in certain areas to keep a refreshed look of our wonderful product.

Again it was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Karen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed twice over the past 3 months. Service was excellent both times. Location can't be beat for downtown Toronto. I asked for a quiet room and got the quietest room I can remember and the same room both times. Room was in need of some TLC. Carpets were worn and wavy. The living room furniture looks like it was selected because of its ability to convert to beds, not for sitting comfort. 3 1/2 star accommodations with 4 1/2 star staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADKSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you indeed, for your wonderful review of your six days staying with us...more than a dip stick! Each department was so thrilled that they came through in flying colours and provided 'Service so Memorable', in true Marriott form!

Maybe you will have the opportunity to cross the ocean again and enjoy the delights of the city and hotel one more time.

In great appreciation, Karen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and can't think of any problems - only praise !!!

The location is excellent if you are on vacation as so many of the "must see" attractions are within an easy walk or can be reached by public transport. We used taxis on a couple of occasions as we were also here for our son's wedding and the hotel arranged for these with no problems - we just had to tell the doorman what was needed.

From experience, city centre hotels can feel impersonal but here the front desk staff were friendly and helpful and yet still managed to work efficiently. They bothered to ask how our day had been or if we needed anything.

The overall standard of cleanliness and upkeep were excellent both in our room and in the public areas. We made use of the kitchen area in the room during our stay on several occasions - they provide sufficient kitchen pots and pans for basic needs but just check the cupboards beforehand to make sure there is all you will need. We had a studio suite and found the size and the general layout to be good.

Breakfast was super - they even provided soya milk - so rare for many hotels. I really appreciated this. There was a good choice of cereals, breads, pastries, yogurts and fruit as well as cooked items that changed each day. Despite the hotel being very full we had no problems getting a table each morning. The whole "breakfast experience" was run with efficiency and cooperation. The staff rapidly cleared tables and replenished the food and remained helpful and friendly throughout.

Parking here is expensive but we managed without a car which solved the problem. We did rent a car for a day trip to Niagara Falls but returned it out of hours so again didn't need to use the car parking here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed for two nights in mid September and have nothing but praise for the hotel. Room was large, clean and spacious with a fully integrated kitchen. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Located a stones throw from the CN Tower and Rogers Center in one direction and the Eaton Center is about a 20 minute walk in another direction.

Breakfast was included in the price with a wide selection including fruit, pastries, porridge and bacon, eggs, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdean09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,759 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 138 in Toronto
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District

Address: 255 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £105 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing