We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Ranked #24 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Canada 2013”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel was wonderful. This was my first time in Canada & the hotel was comfortable. Everyone was very friendly & assisted us with directions wherever we wanted to go.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissYNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Delighted to read out your most positive comments to our team!

We too look forward to your second trip to Canada should you have the occasion to travel north again!

In great appreciation, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    536
    119
    31
    30
See reviews for
568
382
90
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Residence Inn for a weekend away and to see a show. It is the perfect location if your flying in on Porter, only 10 mins from where the shuttle drops you off near Union Station. You are also in the heart of the entertainment district minutes from theatres and the ACC and the Rogers Center. Also only a 20 minute walk from China Town and Kensingtion Market.

The hotel itself has a small lobby and reception area clean and modern. The reception staff were always helpful and offered umbrella's when it was raining and great directions.

The room itself is very spacious for two people. There is a large kitchen (full) with granite countertops and all the appliances and dishware you could need. There is work desk with ample space for a laptop and working papers. This sitting area is compact but it's nice to have. (We used it quite a lot.) The bed was comfortable and clean like the rest of the room. The bathroom is divided in two which was very convienent as one person can shower while the other is getting ready.

The breakfast was very good with plenty of selection. Plenty of health options. It was very nice to not have to look for a place to eat early in the morning. We took full advantage.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the entertainment district.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalifaxNewly_weds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
How wonderful to read your detailed feedback to our team! Yes, indeed we have introduced healthy options into our breakfast menu including gluten free choices too! Customer service is our passion!

It would be our please to welcome you back in the not to distant future if you have occasion to visit the city again.

Kind regards
Karen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Booked a studio room with a king bed which ended up being on 19th floor and had a view of the CN tower.

Pros:
1. Room - well appointed. Despite booking a studio room, I found the room to be very spacious offering a full size kitchen including a fridge. Bed was very comfortable and hardly any noise noticeable. Great to have a separate lounge area to the bedroom.
2. Hotel facilities - hotel was well appointed offering a swimming pool, spa, fitness centre, business centre and guest laundry which were all of a high standard. The hotel also has a small store selling snacks, drinks etc.
3. Internet - complimentary wifi is offered by the hotel. Found the performance of this wifi to be better than most offered in other hotels in North America I stayed in.
4. Service - housekeeping was terrific. Room consistently spotless. Reception were friendly and helpful in providing guidance and map.
5 Dining - hotel offers complimentary breakfast. Although a wide range of options available, I found the bacon a little overcooked and the eggs a little flavourless. The dining space s limited though, so you need to prepared to share tables with strangers or even take your breakfast back to your room. The hotel also offers light complimentary dinner meals as part of nominated 'social nights' so check this out when you stay.

Cons:
1. Location - although the hotel is close to the Rogers Arena, CN tower and the entertainment district, I found it a bit of a hike to the Central Business District and the local dining options a little limited at night at this end of town.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher level to avoid street noise. You might also want to check when concerts or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you indeed for your very in-depth, positive review of your stay at the property and your five star rating. Customer service is paramount to our success and all feedback is very valued.
Regarding dining options, we are also only steps away from King Street, which is the hub of the entertainment district, offering a wide range of gustatory delights to appeal to any palette.

We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the coming months.

Kind regards

Karen

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

very good hotel for the price. the room are very large with a nice kitchen. full size fridge, microwave. sofa, cofee table etc..
bed is very confortable. No noise from other rooms. breakfast is good, but the aera seems too small to accomodate all the customers.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sebounet007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
It was a pleasure to read out your review to the team. Feedback is essential to our success and certainly our location lends itself to ease of access for all that Toronto offers.

We hope that you have the opportunity to be under our roof in the coming months to enjoy a break in the city.

Thank you again, Kind regards, Karen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
499 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed 5 days at this facility and we were very pleased with the room, the location. When we arrived around 10pm, the valet did not even help us with the luggage. Reception staff did not greet and was just doing work.
The fridge was doing noise, so I turned it off and informed the next morning the reception while leaving. In the evening there wass till noise and when I called rection they told me they just changed shofts and they were not aware of anything.
In the mornings when I called for my preparing the car, the reception never said good morning. I even one day repeated twice good morning, the receptionist just said YES. Wow!
On day of departure I called to get my invoice ready so I pick up and leave and the receptionist rather than serving based in a first arrived., first serve taking customers while she was getting in the office.
The breakfast is good and the snack in the afternoon is appreciated.
I really liked the hotel, but direction must be given to reception staff to have better skills with customers especially GOOD MORNING not just to recite "reception desk how can help you."

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We certainly appreciate your very valued feedback of your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to submit a review! Your comments are paramount to our success as we continually strive for excellence in customer service.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the property in the not to distant future.

Kind regards,

Karen
Karen Hardcastle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
142 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in a queen suite for three days and were very happy with our choice. The suite was spacious and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and all amenities were provided. There was a small kitchen which would be very handy for a longer stay. Breakfast was basic but satisfactory and we did not have any difficulty with seating during the breakfast time. There is a bar in which to sit and relax after a day of sightseeing and even more importantly there is a laundromat just across the road from the hotel which is also very convenient. The hotel is very close to the CN Tower and the Blue Jays stadium, and it is only one block away from a street full of different restaurants.The staff at the Residence Inn were all very friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel for people wanting to stay in Toronto.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
It was such a delight to read your comments regarding your stay with us and I thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! Should you have occasion to be with us in the near future you may be interested to note that we too have guest laundry facilities on three floors in the hotel for your convenience.

Again thank you so much for taking the time to write your survey.

Kind regards, Karen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent 2 nights here late in September in a corner Studio Room. We were impressed with the large room which seemed to have been refurbished recently. The bathroom was immaculate, bed comfortable and the furniture in great shape. We did not take advantage of the kitchenette, but it appeared to have all the necessary basics.

The buffet breakfast was a bonus, but the 2 mornings we were there it was very hectic and crowded. As there was no hostess, it was difficult to get a table, and it appeared some guests were taking advantage by stocking up on fruit, etc.

A good location to walk to the CN Tower, the Double-Decker Bus Tour, and Waterfront areas.

Room Tip: The Studio corner rooms seem to be a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echoisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed response and your points have been addressed regarding a hostess during breakfast. It is most important to receive feedback as we continue to strive for service excellence.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel when next you stay in Toronto.

Kind regards, Karen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#38 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District

Property: Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Address: 255 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing