We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was simply awful, room was extremely noisy. We don't recommend this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Ranked #26 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We came to this hotel from Kingston, Ontario where the hotel was wonderful (also residence inn) and we were so disappointed to discover the difference.

The service was very unpleasant and not helpful it seemed they wanted to make our life difficult.
The bathroom vent that turns on automatically was soooo noisy I ended up with migraines. The fridge too was very noisy.

The area is a little crumpy and under tons of construction... Next time we'll look for a nicer area to stay in.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonesRDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review as your feedback is very valuable to us! The hotel is located in the west end, which does have very high profile residents both corporate and residential, our next door neighbour being the Canadian Broadcasting Company and next door but one to the luxurious Ritz Carlton hotel. Plus being a two minute walk to the CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Rogers Centre, many high end restaurants, theatre shopping all part of our neighbourhood. All buildings around the hotel are occupied and none under construction,. It would be a pleasure to have a chat with you if you would care to call me directly to further discuss as 'Service Excellence' is our creed.
Wishing you a most pleasant week and safe travels.
Kind regards,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

The rooms are average but its a decent location. I was able to walk to the Eaton Centre, Sienne Tower and China Town from here. (I also like to walk though). Location is the best part. Beautiful during Christmas time.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review ragding your stay in December. Yes, our location is so marvellous for access to all the attractions, restaurants and the theatres in the city, not to mention great shopping whether in China Town or the Eaton Centre!

We hope you have the opportunity to return to the city soon and that we can say a personal hello.

Kind regards

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel and was quite impressed with everything until I realised I had left an important item in my room, I have since called long distance to them 6 times in order to collect this item, I have been promised call backs numerous times and no one ever does , my long distance bill is just about the price of my stay. Also dont get a corner room as theinternet will not work, they did rectify this by giving me a router. Also they are disorganized , I was booked for 11 nights, however they had me checked out after 9 and did not clean my room, so they thought I had left! its a good job it was not relet otherwise I would have had a nasty surprise. I have given up on ever gettign my item back

Room Tip: Corner rooms hve internet problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahbyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your recent review posted today, as your feedback is so valuable for us as a seasoned traveller. We are delighted that your item left behind is being sent to you today and my sincere apologies for the delay in getting back to you. Our internet has been upgraded and the corner rooms have not dedicated access points installed in the room to ensure all service deliverables are met.
Wishing you a great weekend and we hope to have the welcome mat out for you again should you be returning to the city.

Kindest regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is more than just another Residence Inn. It's a downtown hotel with evening events for guests, a real bar, and a nice lobby. The rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful. While there's no full time restaurant, good choices are available within a short walk, and the front desk has a market with lighter fare. The bartender is friendly and does a great job. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review. We were absolutely delighted to receive your most positive feedback as a very seasoned traveller. Plus the valued comments regarding our very special team and bartender extrordinaire! Big smiles abound as we continue to 'strive for service excellence' and 'being one of the very best'!

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the not to distant future!

Kind regards,

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here over the Easter long weekend and it was great! Location was amazing (Skydome and CN tower right outside the doors), staff was very helpful & friendly, hotel was clean, great size room with full kitchen and was pet friendly! Also came with a free breakfast each morning. We stayed in a king studio room. Loved having a kitchen, and there was so much space in the room, our dogs loved it too :) Pool and hottub was nice to relax in.
Nothing negative to say about the hotel. Only thing that bothered us was some people partying throughout the night that woke us up, but that happens everywhere.
Overall was a very nice hotel and affordable. Will return for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMariexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

What a wonderful way to start the day and to read your most positive review you have posted. We are so happy that you enjoyed the city and your stay with us, our team continue to strive for service excellence and it is comments like yours that show we are focused and on the path!!
It would be wonderful to say a personal hello should you be returning in the coming summer months.
Thank you again and I wish you a wonderful weekend!

Kind regards, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed one night and picked this hotel due to the reviews on Tripadvisor and also that we have stayed at many Marriott Hotels over the years.

The good: Excellent location. Within walking of The Air Canada Centre, Ripley's Aquarium, Queen St. many Theatres, and ChinaTown.
The staff were incredibly friendly.
The room has full kitchen,with mircowave, fridge, stove, etc.
Got an excellent price.

The not so good: Pull out bed very saggy. My daughter couldn't sleep.
Volume of TV was locked. We found ourselves straining to hear especially when munching chips. Called the desk and was told nothing they can do about it.
Loud vent in shower when lights on. Annoying.
Breakfast - bland. Hot food too cold to enjoy. Not much of a selection.
Pool area noisy from an echo in the room.

It was doable for one night but wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mingxue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

It is with great appreciation we read your review of you recent stay in Toronto and very please that you enjoyed yourselves. Yes, the city does offer so much to do!

Each department has also addressed to your points. I would be delighted if you could send me your room number, as we are not in the practice of locking a TV's volume control asevery guest has a personal preference as to the level of sound they are comfortable with.

Thank you so much for your very kind and positive notes regarding our team and their passionate service! Without you our guest, we have nothing and we continual strive for 'Service Excellence!'

In appreciation,

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the Residence Inn we were very happy as it looked lovely and clean and the staff were very helpful. We had booked into a king suite with sofa bed for 2 nights for four of us. The room itself was nice, very spacious with all the amenities you could need. The bed was very comfortable for the 2 who were sharing that, however the 2 of us who were on the sofa bed had the worst sleep ever. The mattress on the couch is so thin that you can literally feel every spring through it, it is so uncomfortable that one of my friends ended up sleeping in a chair for the night. We paid a lot for the rooms, and while obviously a sofa bed isn't going to be as good as a bed, it was really horrendous. Lovely room but that one thing really put us off coming back unless you are willing to pay for 2 to a room only.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank leeann1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and glad that for the most part you enjoyed your stay. Should you have the opportunity to stay again you might like to consider sharing a two bedroom suite that also offers two bathrooms for your complete comfort.

Wishing you a very Happy Easter...Kind regards, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#8 of 135 in Toronto
2,186 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 135 in Toronto
3,946 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District

Address: 255 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £111 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing