We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Ranked #23 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I am in my early 20's- I've received my fare share of dirty looks and horrible service, though no experience I have ever had will compare to my stay at the Marriott Residence Inn. I stayed with a group of friends on June 7th, 2014. Around 10:30pm we were told by security that there was a noise complaint and we needed to turn the volume down or we would be kicked out (we were not the only ones who received this complaint). We apologized and decided it was time to take our group to the bar. Upon our return around 1am, after realizing our keys did not work, we were told by the front desk that we had in fact been kicked out of our room (but the bachelor party which included strippers, occurring just down the hall, were fine). Naturally we were surprised and when we told them we were not notified of our eviction, the attendants said it was their night staff who had kicked us out and there was nothing they could do. The staff had locked all of our belongings in our room. Two security guards escorted us to our room and actually proceeded to give us a time limit to gather our belongings, counting down from 15 minutes to 10 minutes and giving us a final 2 minutes stating that they "were not spending their whole night up here" with us. When we asked the security guard his name he turned away from us and stormed off (obviously knowing we were going to complain about his poor behaviour). Naturally some of our belongings were lost and misplaced. Upon returning to the lobby with our bags we were told by the front desk staff that since we had another room we could just pile into it, as long as we were quiet (our group had 8 people, the room slept 4) and were forced to give 404$ to pay for the room we had just been evicted from, on top of the 404$ for the second room. My advice for this hotel- lock up your cash and valuables and do not let the staff (especially security, ironically) take advantage of you. I would never stay at this hotel again, nor would I recommend it to anyone, as you will be treated like a zoo animal. I hope to never experience the embarrassment and stress that I experienced that night again in my life. It is a shame that the staff, especially security, was so unprofessional because the room really was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I selected this hotel on a recent trip to Toronto based on a my past experience with this Marriott brand in another city and because of it's proximity to the Roger's Centre as we were attending some baseball games for the weekend. The property itself is very unassuming from the street and is not a large footprint. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The hot and cold breakfast options were plentiful. The room was spacious, nicely appointed and comfortable. This will be a regular stop for me when I return to TO.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind and positive review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, a gem indeed right at the heartbeat of the city. Service excellence is paramount and the team work so hard to ensure each and every guest fell like it is a wonderful place to thrive in!

Enjoy your weekend and again thank you for being with us.

Kindest regards,

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Recently purchased a package deal for a corner suite and gas card. Coming from the states we had a couple issues with our cards not going through for fraud reasons but the staff was more than accommodating and understanding. Zahra especially went above and beyond to help in a more than awkward situation. Upon check in completion our group headed to the King corner suite. There is nothing more to say than WOW. The kitchen area was superb, the bed HUGE and comfy and the living room area a welcomed site. We used the FREE wi-fi to check our emails and missed called and found that one of the travelers dogs had gotten into a very bad accident and we needed to rush back to the states. We called down to the front desk and spoke with Sam Kim the manager. Again nothing but professionalism and kindness. Sam understood the situation and without hesitation refunded our room and valet so we could get back asap. I can not say enough about this hotel and staff. I have stayed at several hotels as I travel 100% for my business and have not run across an exceptional staff like the one you will find at the Residence Inn Marriott. Anyone looking to stay downtown Toronto within walking distance of many of the highly sought after attractions in Toronto needs to speak with Sam Kim at the Residence as you will not be disappointed. A+

Room Tip: King corner suite. Huge, lots of amenities and the view is breathe taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

What a wonderful morning to be able to read out your review to our hardworking team, especially the special mention of Sam Kim, who is the epitome of hospitality! We really do care that every guest feels recognised and experiences our service so memorable as you did.

We look forward to your next visit and we will have the welcome mat out for you!!

Enjoy the upcoming weekend!

Kindest regards, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We visit Toronto each year for 2 weeks and this was by far best holiday stayed in.

The facilities (microwave, fridge, safe) all improved vacation.

Didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on them.

Staff we saw were all very pleasant and helpful.

Had no major problems. A window that wouldn't shut was quickly looked at.

Didn't know there was a house rule that when you reach the limit you have to pay and then start a new bill and there was an extra tax from then on.

I am already looking forward to returning (and seeing the new lobby it was a bit small before).

Would recommend but don't all go when I want to be there..........

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bobcat10uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Yes, and we want you back so soon too! Thank you so much for your wonderful review and that we are your place as you visit each year from Cardiff! Our team were so delighted their passion for service was regonised and we constantly strive for excellence.

Hopefully you are enjoying the FIFA WORLD CUP and caught up in the fever!!

See you next year!!

Warm regards, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Was here for one night after long week of travel. Check in was fast and enjoyable


The Good:
- Room was good size
- Location is great for food & fun
- Breakfast was good, with good selections

The Not So good:
- Parking was costly
- Elevator was slow

Overall good hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SGO007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review on your short but sweet stay in our hotel! Next time you will have to be with us longer and enjoy the city more!!

Happy travels and kindest regards,

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you are traveling with family this is a great place to stay while exploring downtown Toronto. Suite with Queen bed and living room with pullout sofa with a kitchen and a dining area. With in sight of CN Tower and easy walking distance to all major attractions as well as TTC.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EthelDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and that you enjoyed your time with the family. Certainly our size of our suites lends to space for eveything to be able to stretch out and glad you like the access to the CN Tower.
Hopefully you will have the opportunity to return and reunite once again!

Enjoy your weekend.....with gratitude, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After moving from overseas with two children for my husband's work, this proved to be a solid long term stay. We had a two bedroom suite with a kitchenette and living area which proved to be adequate although a little small for two teenage children. Breakfast offered a good selection along with suitable hours. The location is definitely a plus as it proved not only perfect for my husband's new job but for my family to explore the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseT791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

It was with pleasure to be able to read out your review to the team! I am so glad you enjoyed your relocation back in to Canada, as you search for your new habitat!!

Welcome back!

kind regards, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#7 of 137 in Toronto
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District

Address: 255 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £135 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing