We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done, Residence Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Ranked #24 of 133 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Well Done, Residence Inn!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel! It was located in a great part of downtown and was within easy walking distance to the CN Tower, Blue Jays arena, and Hockey Hall of Fame. Our bedroom was clean and spacious and included a king bed, sofa bed, and full kitchen. Free WiFi was included as was a complimentary breakfast and manager's reception (available only certain evenings during the week). The hotel service was second to none, and my husband and I were especially in awe of the staff who worked tirelessly to maintain the breakfast buffet and manager's reception. It was a holiday week and the hotel was packed, but the buffet area was always clean, food was plentiful, and staff were busy keeping tables cleared to accommodate the large number of guests moving through the area. The hostess at breakfast was a nice touch - she greeted us with a smile and we saw her pitching in to clear tables so that guests could be quickly seated. If it wasn't for such a hard working group of people, the whole breakfast buffet/manager's reception could have been a total disaster!

A couple of tips: If you are driving into Toronto from the US/Niagara Falls area, be prepared for a lot of traffic around 3-6 PM. There is construction work on Gardiner Expressway which leads you to the downtown area and it seems to quickly back-up during rush hour. We got to downtown around 4 pm and traffic was crazy. If you can time your trip, I'd suggest getting there by 3 pm or wait until later in the evening, around 7 pm. Note, however, if you choose the latter option, you may not be able to enjoy the complimentary Manager's Reception (simple food buffet and beverages) depending on the day of the week you arrive. From the calendar posted on our room refrigerator, it looks like they are offering the reception every Tuesday and Wednesday night through July, and I'm guessing that is consistent with the rest of the Summer. You may want to call the hotel to find out for sure. If you're traveling with family, you can certainly cut down on food cost if you plan your visit to coincide with the manager's reception.

Have fun!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shen_Valley_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    537
    119
    31
    30
See reviews for
570
383
90
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

No hotel is perfect but the difference in a good hotel and a great hotel, is how they deal with the little things. I stay at this hotel often for business. The rooms are a great size, the included breakfast covers all the bases and the location is pretty much perfect. For that alone, it's worth staying. My kids love it too!!

Where this hotel shines though is the attention to the little details. My most recent stay had a few issues. When presented to hotel staff however, management was right on it, looking to talk face to face to see what they could do to make things perfect. As a business traveler, I have never had this happen before. I had a wonderful chat with the hotel manager and left that week confident that the hotel really cares for each guest. It may sound corny to say but I really feel like the best part of this hotel is the staff that work there, all the way from the bottom to the top.

Room Tip: If you're in a rush, lower floors are your best bet as the elevators to the upper floors can tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello to Halifax!

Thank you so much for your recent review of the hotel and what a delight to read out your sentiments in my daily morning meeting with the team!

We are simply in the business of serving 'joy' and for no other reason are we here; it was wonderful to have a chat with you, a seasoned corporate and leisure traveller, as in talking with our guests we can keep the finger on the pulse and continually strive for the highest service deliverables.

Our new look will be completed before the end of the year which will also add to the charm of the property. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the coming weeks and again we really value your loyalty to the brand.

Wishing you a fantastic summer!

Kindest regards,

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed just for one night. Perfect location and reasonable price. Free wifi and free breakfast! (most 5 stars charge extra for both) Used the pullout and needed to call for linens which arrived really quickly. Breakfast was really busy but everyone was working hard and kept everyone moving through quickly. Great place for families - lots of room and having the kitchen is so convenient. We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keccles06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscola, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked a two room suite. 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen.
Completely worth the extra money and super close to the bluejays stadium.
We are vegan so we didn't eat at the hotel, we ate breakfast offsite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pegraney1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We were just thrilled to recieve your review and happ that you enjoyed your stay with us! Yes, the two bedroom suites are indeed a delight to stay in and great value, especially as you also have a full kitchen at your fingertips.
We hope you have another opportunity to enjoy the city and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Travel safe and Happy Canada Day!

Warm regards, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morayshire, scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Generally this was an OK hotel within walking distance of CN tower. Room was very good but the restaurant and bar leave a lot to be desired. Breakfast was pretty grim, floor was always mucky even though the waiters were very busy. I don't think they do meals every night but the first night we were there they had a pizza evening - wasn't particularly succcessful. Need some one in charge who knows more about food and how to present it. The greatest thing about the hotel is Juliana - she was extremely helpful and friendly, She managed to get reservations for dinner in the 360 restaurant at the top of the CN tower as it was my husbands 83rd birthday. As it was excellent weather we had super views at the restaurant revoled round.

Room Tip: This hotel is mostly studios which comprise a akitchen with huge fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rothmaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
WE are delighted that your celebration for your husbands birthday was a great success. Indeed the CN Tower does provide for an electic setting as you dine on their delicious food and absorb the wonderful 360 views.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope that we can welcome you back for the 84th celebration! Juliana is indeed one of our stars and she was thrilled to read your comments for a job well done!

With gratitude, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here a few months back and did experience some problems that were not dealth with prior to our departure. Management gave us an opportunity to stay at the hotel again and gave us a reduced rate to compensate for the initial issues. Anyways stayed four nights in a king suite and all was great. Excellent breakfast, good gym, courteous staff and tremendous location in the heart of the entertainment district.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Delighted to read you return visit flowed as guest satisfaction and service excellence is paramount for us. A huge thank you for taking the time out to write and we look forward to many more visits!
Happy Canada Day, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here with our two children for two nights-booked the two bedroom suite in order to give everyone a little space: great master and second bedroom, nice common area with pull out couch and kitchen. Perfect for a family where some degree of space & privacy is desired. Staff was friendly and helpful, included breakfast buffet was decent, in house lounge bar tender was awesome too! Overall great value and location. Room was clean and modern. Walking distance to everything in downtown-tip: if touring plan in advance as there is no onsite concierge. Front desk had great suggestions for restaurants (try Kit Kat-Awesome!) and entertainment (Second City Comedy around the corner), however, their resources were a bit limited with tours and attraction info, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelguy6830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thrilling to read your review on your recent stay with us1 thank you so much as we continually strive for service excellence. There is a wonderful mobile app seetorontonow.com that is the perfect guide at your fingertips 24/7 that might assist you in the future. KIT KAT is just wonderful and so worth the vist, glad you enjoy!

Happy Canada DAY! Regards, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 133 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#38 of 133 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District

Property: Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Address: 255 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing