We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice upgrade - Thanks”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Ranked #24 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice upgrade – Thanks”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Thanks for the free upgrade! A nice hotel with free WiFi and breakfast is included in the price . Free tapas on our 1st night was also a bonus. The upgraded suite was clean and comfortable. The furniture and décor is a little outdated and the room very dark due to the windows facing onto the concrete slab building next door to the hotel. If you like natural light you may want to check which side your hotel room is facing. A small issue with housekeeping which had to be reported 4 times – twice to the same person. However, eventually resolved and a bottle of wine as compensation. Overall a conveniently located hotel for the main attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We appreciate your review and delighted to see that a positive reflection was achieved for your stay with us overall! We are in the business of creating joy and that your stay in our great city was part of that amibence to encourage return visits!

I hope we can put the welcome mat out for you in the near future and to be able to say a personal hello!

Wishing you a wonderful summer and thank you for being with us!

Kind rehards,

Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    553
    120
    32
    30
See reviews for
593
392
92
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just got home after a week stay, and it was the ideal base for our family to visit the city and relatives. The staff were friendly and attententive, especially our cleaner who left us friendly messages along with extra towels, shampoo, tea bags and kettle on request! The towels were rather on the small side, but that was not a real issue for us. The only downsides I would say was that we booked a family room to sleep two adults and two teenage boys, however the sofa bed was clearly not big enough for both of them to share comfortably. This resulted in us having to pay extra for another rollaway bed to accommodate our youngest child. We were also a little disappointed not to have any bacon at breakfast that week, although we appreciate that the food is rotated to suit a variety of tastes. However, the kitchen staff and waiters worked extremely hard, and went out of their way to oblige, even bringing me a birthday muffin complete with lit candle and happy birthday song from the waiters! We would definately come again, and hope that the breakfast room has been extended next time, which is clearly not big enough for the amount of guests staying!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello to the UK!

Great to receive your detailed review and we are glad that you and the family enjoyed your stay and the sights and sounds of Toronto!
Our team possess such a passion for hospitality and important to us that your birthday was acknowledged with surprise and delight! They are smiling with your wonderful comments!
The hotel only has suites with one bed in the bedroom and a sofa-bed in the living area, however there is a choice of reserving a larger two bedroom suite as an option, should you have ocassion to return to Canada in the future.
Yes, we have a rotating menu over the course of two weeks and pork bacon is one of those items, especially coming from the UK that is a must! Plus we have added many healthy choices as trends dictate, trying to appeal to all paletes.
The hotel will be refreshed by completing a refurbishment by the end of the year throughout our 256 suites.
Thank you again for being with us, as without you, our guests, we have nothing!
With gratitude, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have stayed in this hotel in 2012, 2013 and 2014 and can't help but notice pretty big decline in value. During those times, the Marriott Reward points redemption went from 20000 points, then, 25000, and now 30000 points per night. Paid rate can be as high as $300 or more per night before tax. Also, hotel category went from 5 to 6 now making the marriott free night certificate stays not possible anymore.

I loved this hotel when I stayed in January 2012 for the first time. I still do think there are a lot of good things about this hotel. However, I notice that quality of breakfast is worse than before. It still is the same menu, but sausages, and maybe eggs, and potatoes too, were just worst quality you can get. I've always thought that this hotel is the better one in the Residence Inn brand, but I can say that it is absolutely not true anymore. Also as others have said, the furniture is worn and not as clean as it used to be.

This hotel used to be #1 in the tripadvisor list in Toronto. We, consumers do notice when the value goes down. I am not upset about the rise in price/marriott points if the hotel invests in the hard product, quality (even for a residence Inn), and customer service to stay competitive. So far, the price goes up while the quality going opposite direction and hotel guests see that. I will probably stay again in 2015, and hope that something can be changed for good, and I will review again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your indepth review regarding your recent stay with us and your feedback is important to us. Regarding the free night certificate, like all the categories, it is stay four and your fifth night free. Marriott changes the categories according to the growing demand for a property, as is the case for our property.

Our breakfast offers 17 hot items and 18 cold including four juices, this is based on a two week daily rotational of ten hot items. We have also added, above the the brand standards, healthy choices, such as egg whites, steamed veggies, gluten free muffins et al.
We really appreciate your annual stays with us and you will be delighted to know that the investment of a refurbishment to the suites and all public areas should be fully completed by the end of the year!

Please don't hesitate to contact me at anytime.

Thank you again for your loyalty and I wish you a wonderful summer.

Kindest regards

Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here for a night and it was a pleasant one. Check in was fast and easy, and service was great. The rooms are very spacious and modern looking. I lucked out and got a room on the 21st floor facing the Rogers Centre with spectacular views at night. The full kitchen with supplies is a great touch for extended stays. I enjoyed the popcorn included in the First Night kit.

However, there are some drawbacks. The elevators are extremely slow... it's painful especially being higher than the 10th floor. The beds were not as comfortable as I expected. Both the King sized and sofa beds were not to my liking. There were many signs of wear and tear on pretty much all of the furniture in the room which could've used a touch up IMO. One member of the bar staff was extremely rude to us sitting in the breakfast area at night because we didn't order drinks... (Ok then?) The breakfast room was tiny in the first place to accommodate the amount of guests. The fitness centre was really worn out. 3 of the machines didn't work, it smelled horrible, and looked really dirty. Parking is absolutely absurd especially for downtown Toronto. I recommend parking at the various underground garages on King st for a quarter of the price.

In the end, the location, service (apart from bartender), and room size are the best attributes of this property. I would recommend this to anyone who want's breakfast and Wi-Fi included with the hefty price of a downtown T.O hotel.

Room Tip: -Get a room on a higher floor facing the lake. -Park at the Hyatt on King st. $25 for 20 hrs and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you indeed for your indepth review regarding your recent stay with us and good to know that you would return too!

My sincere apologies for your encounter with our barman and the matter has been readdressed by our Operations Manager.

You will be delighted to know we are also going through a refurbishments which will totally give a new look and feel to the hotel. New gym equipment, carpets in the suites and hallways, new furniture and fixtures in the lounges of our suites, new look and feel to the lobby and our bar/lounge and breakfast area. This in keeping with the high brand standards of a Marriott hotel for your comfort and care.

Thank you again for the dialogue and we hope you enjoy the rest of your summer travels!

Kindest regards, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Overall hotel was ok however the staff were not helpful and service poor. Valet parking never did show up to take the car for the overpriced parking. We had to park in the public lot on the next street. Hotel front desk was ok however the bar tender was extremely rude and was annoyed that there wasn't more people there. The bar shut down at 10pm on a Friday night which was very shameful. I would not expect to come back unless the price was right.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us as your feedback is important to us.

My sincere apologies for the attitude of our barman and this has been addressed accordingly. Unfortunately he had to close the bar down one hour earlier, as he went to the hospital with a severe life threatening health emergency. I do apologise again for this unfortunate incident you experienced.

Parking is always a premium in any gateway city and that indeed was fortunate you found a perfect spot. We are lucky to have at least four lots around the hotels and prices vary according to what is happening in the city.

I would be delight to enage further with you if you have a moment. Meanwhile I wish you very happy travels and a gorgeous summer!

Kindest regards, Karen

We strive for service excellence at all times as with you, our guest we have nothing, you are so important to us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

As pointed out excellent location and very helpful staff. I would above all like to acknowledge Michaela at the front desk.

We stayed for many nights in a suite. room was spacious and clean. Still virtually no natural light made it tough to stay there for so long. Breakfast was good quality but there is continuously a shortage of seating capacity. Also elevators seem constantly in short supply. Business center computers are mostly fully outdated models.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. It was just heartwarming to read your mention of Michaela, one of our front desk stars and the service she provided for you. We really do care and that you had a great experience too, as we contantly strive for service excellence.

We are replacing our business centre equipment as we go through a refurbishment, n keeping with Marriott brand standards. All computers have been ordered and should be installed shortly.

Thank you again for your most positive comments and we hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Wishing you a most wonderful summer.

Kindest wishes, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle River, ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel was one of the cheaper priced hotels when we were looking for a room. The hotel is right near the CN tower and rogers centre. Parking is valet and very expensive, we found a place right behind the hotel and they let us stay overnight for $30...be sure you ask what the rate is for not all places are 24 hours. Hotel was clean, room was very large, with a kitchen and living room. Would be great for a family. breakfast downstairs was ok, some things were cold, but they provided all the basics, yogurt, cereal, bagels etc...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time for writing your review regarding your recent stay.

Certainly our spacious suites and our location made for all the right ingredients to enhance your visit in the city. We are also lucky that there are other options for parking right next to the hotel, both underground and above, as city parking is always a premium.

Our complimentary breakfast buffet includes many item including six hot choices, and then ten cold choice with healthy options a factor too. Plus the opportunity to take the breakfast back to your the comfort of your suite or eat in the restaurant area.

Thank you again and I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer travels!

With gratitude, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#10 of 136 in Toronto
719 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District

Property: Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Address: 255 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Marriott, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing