We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern hotel only blocks from CN Tower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Ranked #25 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. We had a very well-designed room, complete with any amenities you could want. A big continental breakfast is included in the price. Best of all, it was very reasonably priced for a room so close to the CN Tower (two blocks away) and other attractions. There are two things to consider: they only have valet parking, and it isn't cheap; I recommend leaving your car in the underground parking lot behind the hotel (it's called the 'Atrium', I believe). Also - get to the continental breakfast EARLY, or you'll be waiting in line by the elevators with a bunch of other grumpy, hungry folks!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The location is fine but the hotel is terrible. The room that costed around 229/night was so small and uncomfortable. There was a kind size bed and a pull out sofa. When the sofa was pulled out, it was not possible to walk in the room as the sofa and would touch the end of king size bed.
Also the cleaning service did not come on one day. When I called to get the cleaning service at 5 pm, they came but as we left the room , did not do anything leaving he room in the same not cleaned condition.
Additionally the cash ( $130) from my wallet was missing afterwards the cleaning madams left the room. I was very disappointed about this hotel. I will not recommend it.

Room Tip: do not chose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank matt6067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

From UK. VG location near CN Tower. Suites are spacious and very well insulated. Excellent lighting and very friendly staff. Daily hot breakfast can get overwhelmed with queues at times but good selection of food. Orange juice could be improved, rather watery. Dinners only included on 2 days per week - Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Swimming pool and hot tub VG but strong chlorine. Overall, very impressive with no significant issues to address.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 524charlesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Charles

Just delighted to read your review regarding your recent stay with us! Our team were just thrilled that a positive impact was achieved and that you enjoyed all the attributes of the hotel, coupled with the perfect location in the heartbeat of the city. Our passion is people and we really do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Thank you from us all and the welcome back mat awaits!

Wishing you safe and happy travels!

With gratitude, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We chose this hotel as it was central and reasonably priced for a downtown TO hotel. The room itself was large, well appointed and clean. There is a kitchenette and table if one wanted to do small meals there. Also a sitting area, king sized bed (very comfy) and large bathroom; sort of a small studio. The location is fantastic if you want to explore downtown Toronto! We found several nice restaurants and pubs, and went to Second City one night as it was only a block away. You can walk to the waterfront and Air Canada center easily. The breakfast was a standard hotel breakfast and it was busy (as others have noted) - but that's not usually a priority when I book hotels. The only thing that kept me from giving this one 5 stars was the lack of staff at the front considering how busy they were. They were handling everything so checking in and getting advice as to where to go all required waiting. However they were friendly and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BeAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed at Residence Inn Downtown 6 or 7 times between 2007 and 2014. It's ALWAYS a great stay. Given a choice, I always come back here, unless the price difference is too high to ignore. I wish they had a special rate for CanFitPro. This year I gave in and stayed at Royal York instead - it was >$500 cheaper for 3 nights. I wish I didn't. I consider Residence Inn on Wellington MY hotel in TO.

- Rooms are super clean and spacious - it feels like a condo. Love the decor too.
- Very comfy beds
- The kitchen is fully functional. Full size fridge.
- WIFI in the room and loby
- Free hot breakfast - nothing fancy, but it works: scrambled eggs. scrambled egg whites (yes, seriously), some kind of a fatty protein, fruit, yogurts, oatmeal and cereal.
- Location!
- The gym is small, but with some imagination, you can get a good workout in. There are 2 Goodlifes nearby if you need serious equipment.
- They have a pool which I never used for some reason...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This Residence Inn is on a relatively quiet street but right in the heart of all of the tourism you will want to do while in town. Just two blocks from the Rogers Centre and CN Tower and a block from theatres and restaurants in the entertainment district make this easily walkable to many places. Chinatown is also walkable, and the subway is nearby if you want to get up to the Bloor/Yorkville area or somewhere else in the outer-stretches of the city.

The rooms are spacious with modern amenities. Residence Inn is good for families as you get a full kitchen and having the extra space makes it easier for longer stays. There is complimentary breakfast, although it does get very crowded. I recommend hitting it early (before 7:45am) if you don't want to wait in line. There is also a small bar area but it closes relatively early in the evening.

Valet parking is a bit pricey at $47/night. If you can avoid it, don't bring a car. It's crowded to drive in the city and parking is expensive in many places. Public transportation options are readily available. The valet mostly worked well except when we were checking out on Saturday and had to wait 20-30 minutes for our car (like they were surprised people check out on Saturday mornings).

This is a good choice if you want to be downtown and value the extra space over a full service restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank caryon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel room was very large with a bed, seating area, desk, kitchen table and kitchen. The bathroom was large too. The shower/bath and toilet were separated from the sink and counter. The shower gel was missing from our room. Breakfast was not that good, just the basics that didn't even taste good. We didn't have to wait to be seated. The location is fantastic and only a short walk to many attractions and the waterfront. We would stay here again but probably have breakfast somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank BiniTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#7 of 136 in Toronto
2,194 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 136 in Toronto
3,970 reviews
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#28 of 136 in Toronto
2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District

Address: 255 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £115 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing