We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“all good-location, rooms, breakfast,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Ranked #24 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“all good-location, rooms, breakfast,”
Reviewed 9 September 2009

we stayed for 3 days, 2 nights, did the 24 hour valet option for the extra $$. As much as I hate to pay to park, it was a nice convienence
my wife, I and 2 daughters (7 &12). Good clean room , kitchen, etc. great for walking to most places.really good breakfast buffet in the morning. Pool was what was expected. nothing too big, but big enough for the kids to float around and be on top of other guest.
The only mild negative was one of the 3 elevators was broken the whole time, which lead to some queues during peak time, but not a deal breaker. we enjoyed it. I think the hotel should look into some rooms with 2 queen beds as an option, instead of king in the bedroom with a pull out couch. just a suggestion.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eddie_the_Litho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    529
    117
    30
    30
See reviews for
561
379
90
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This is a fantastic place to stay in toronto. We stayed 4 nights with two kids aged 6, and it was superb. The rooms are spacious with a kitchen (no washing machine) and a huge bed. The bathroom has a seperate mirror/sink area so two can get ready at same time - great if there are 4 of you.

Although the rooms are great, what really makes this place is the attitide of the staff....tey go above and beyond duty..every single one of them. If you have a problem, Charlene on reception is wonderful - she sorted something out fir us that really was nothing to do with the hotel at all. Brilliant service.

The breakfast is the best free one weve ever had, and the seating issue seems resolved.

All in all, superb hotel - stay here!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tescoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

This is definitely an above-average hotel with the following great features:
-unusually friendly service
-relaxed atmosphere
-outstanding location
-great value
-comfortable beds with selection of pillows
-good food
-windows open in the rooms!
-fully-functional kitchen with a big fridge
-when you dial guest services, they answer right away!

A few "average" aspects:
-pool is nice but too small for laps and (over?)loaded with chlorine
-business center is a tiny little room
-fitness center is just a few cardio machines with some free weights
-wireless connection not consistent enough for Skype voice calls

Now for the bad news... When the hotel is full ... the cleaning & maintenance staff have to use the guest elevators due to overloading. 10+ stops going up and down can be REALLY annoying! Also, there's a 10-15 minute lineup for breakfast during the peak periods.

Dealbreakers? Not really, but I would think twice before booking at Christmas-time or other packed periods. Otherwise, the courteous service generally makes up for the shortcomings and the place is very well managed. When you need something, they get right onto it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crossrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in August. Excellent location next to the CN Tower. Lovely room with full kitchen - handy with young children - excellent deli round the corner which made preparing meals easier etc. - less stressful than taking youngsters to restaurants. Absolutely superb breakfast each morning. Courteous staff throughout.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weatherheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

This hotel was great from the beginning. When we arrived the Valet immediately greeted us at the car, and said go ahead and check on your room to see if it was ready. The room was ready and the valet parked car right away and gave us good instructions on retrieving the car later. The front desk staff was courteous and briefed us on the hotel complimentary brkfst as well as the nightly get together social free of charge for guests,complete with snack food, and non alcoholic beverages. The room was large and very modern yet comfortable feeling, the work station was placed in a perfect location out of the glare of the window. The bed linens were first rate and comfortable. The toiletries were nice, not as good as the toiletries I got at the Intercontinental later on in my trip, but no complaints at all. We partook in brkfst as well as the social snack hour and both were presented very nicely, with fresh abundant quality food, although it seemed crowded in there at times, it was doable for the most part. One day it was much too crowded so we did not have time to wait in line and there was no seating. We also checked out the gym and it was on the small size for this size hotel but it was clean and the equipment was top notch. Check out was easy and the staff again very attentive, the valet got our car quickly, needless to say we were sad to leave. Will stay here again, perfect location to walk to CN tower and Rogers Center, Steam Whistle brewerey and Chinatown.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kyms9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I couldn't agree more with most of the reviewers posted. We stayed based on the recommendations through TripAdviser and were not disappointed. The hotel has a great location near Union Station, metro and trams, and there are tons of theatres in the area for music, musicals, etc. The CN Tower is also nearby.
Rooms are spacious, clean, nicely equipped and very comfortable and quiet. The majority of the noise we heard came from water running when people shower or use the sinks which seem to be a bit on the noisey side. You will have a full kitchen and the bath is large enough with a separate sink/vanity area. The decor is modern enough and beds comfortable.
The free breakfast is average at best and comes with a multitude of people and children. So, the hotel is certainly great for families or business people traveling with their families. It would seem that folks can fill up plates and take food back to their rooms, which I found a bit odd and distasteful, but that's apparently standard protocol here.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay, aside from the zoo in the morning for breakfast. I understand there is free food between 6-7pm on certain evenings, but we chose not to partake. Therefore, I have no first hand information on these events.
We would most likely stay here again should we return to Toronto in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The Residence Inn was great. Very central to lots of things but the people working there were what made the stay so enjoybale. Leyla at the front desk was so helpful in guiding us as to what to do and never without a big smile on her face. Franco at the valet was so friendly and helpful and since he was our very frist imprerssion of the Residence Inn it certainly was a good one. The breakfast was great but again the staff was wonderful. Kemika (sp) was so helpful and warm and it certainly made for an enjoyable breakfast time with our family. The rooms were clean and modern. The parking charge was the only downfall at $35 a day. It would be better to include it in the room price.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJO71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
2,206 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#37 of 132 in Toronto
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District

Property: Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Address: 255 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Toronto
#23 Business Hotel in Toronto
#35 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the downtown entertainment district, near major businesses, restaurants and attractions. Steps to CN Tower, Ripleys Aquarium, Metro Convention Centre, Rogers Centre and the Bell Light Box. Residence Inn has perfected the extended stay experience offering 256 stylish, oversized studio, one or two bedroom suites with full kitchens and living areas. Enjoy a complimentary, full, hot buffet breakfast and a light supper social 2-3 nights a week, from 6-7.30pm. Relax in the hot tub or pool area adjacent to the state-of-the art fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District Hotel
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown
Toronto Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing