We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Somewhere Else”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Petryla Estates Furnished Apartments
Ranked #26 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Reviewed 26 May 2010

I did not expect three star accommodation but I did expect a clean, adequately equipped three bedroom apartment with hot running water. I arrived a day before the others were scheduled to arrive and paid an additional $1,200 to be allowed in. I had already paid the $500 damage deposit. There were numerous problems with the unit, including almost no hot water and a kitchen stove which I believed was unsafe to use. I left the next morning and asked for a refund. I have, to date, May 26, 2010, never received a refund of the accommodation charge nor the damage deposit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WinnipegNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2010

I stayed in this place for a month, the place location is very convenient, 2 minutes walk to TTC bus, 5 minutes walk to street car, 1 minute to Library, 5 minutes to shopping complex. The neighbourhood is very nice and safe.

The appartment is spacious, very well lit and lots of natural light, all utilities are there and all work perfectly, the house is furnished the way you would do it in your home. Very convenient and thought through.

Folks are quite warm and helpful. The can pick you up, take you out for groceries on your first day / night, help you understand the TTC routes, help you with guidance / advise about what to do, where to visit, etc etc.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samir_mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

The Petryla Estates were a huge disappointment. I don’t recommend them for short term stays.

The pros:
1) You have your own kitchen, which is well-equipped.
2) The apartment is clean.
3) There is a well-kept hot tub in the back.
4) The supermarket is close by, and a couple restaurants.

The cons:
1) No air conditioning or fans. The place was stifling.
2) In the 3-bedroom apartment, two out of the four beds were pull-out couches. One of these was especially uncomfortable.
3) The shower ran out of hot water every day we were there.
4) Getting in to and out of the city by public transportation takes almost an hour – more, depending on where you’re going.
5) For 2 out of the 3 days the outside air smelled of industrial waste.
6) Decor leaves some to be desired – it’s like staying at grandma’s. Lots of oranges and browns. Nevertheless, the couches, etc, are comfortable.

***Important note: Make sure you realize that the “total” given in email does not include a $100 cleaning fee – no matter how long you stay. We stayed 3 nights, and were still charged this fee. When we expressed our surprise and irritation at this, we were subjected to an awkward exchange in which the landlord basically suggested that he thought we were going to trash the place. Customer service skills are lacking.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CatForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

I stayed here with my family in August 2006 for three weeks. My husband stayed here for six weeks. We were there on a business and vacation trip. My kids had two weeks off from school, and they took leave of absence for two weeks extra.

Our friend sent us the Petryla estate link by email, and we made the bookings online. First, the owner(Mr.Klaus Petryla) picks you up from the airport and drops you when you have to leave. He also takes you to the supermarket as soon as you get there to pick up your basic groceries.

The apartments are really nice. We rented a two bedroom place. They had a separate laundry area where you have to put in coins for the wash and dryer. There is some gym equipment for use but you can't call it a gym. The in-door pool was out of service.

There is a grocery store within walking distance and the main expressway is a two minute drive away. You will have to rent a car to get around. The subway station is a good ten minute drive away. There is a pizza pizza, Can Trust Bank, Drycleaners, etc within walking distance.

The place is clean. They have recycling for the garbage, which you have to empty out everyday. They tell you on arrival where to dispose of what.

The place is beautifully furnished. Television has cable. You have to pay a little extra for the internet, he has wifi.

We are booked to stay there again from July 21st this year for another month, in the new addition. They have a new gym and pool. Will let you know how it was!

Overall, a great place!

5  Thank MistyIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2006

excellent place to stay near queen street west, toronto,good location very good host & hostess.very well looked after

peter harrison

2  Thank ovingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 138 in Toronto
3,777 reviews
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
North York
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - North York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#59 of 138 in Toronto
2,747 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petryla Estates Furnished Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petryla Estates Furnished Apartments

Address: 46 Waniska Ave, Toronto, Ontario M8Y 1P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Etobicoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price Range: £82 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing Hotel Alternative. Quality Furnished Accommodations at an Amazing Value. Furnished 1, 2, and 3 bedroom Suites that include Full Kitchens and formal dining room that seats eight. We provide all furnishing, houseware, linens, 500+ channel Satellite HDTV/Radio (includes HBO, The Movie Network, and Sports package), wireless hi-speed Internet, utilities, suite controlled a/c & heating, parking, & complimentary local and North America phone calls as well as (optional) housekeeping services. Located just south of the Old Mill Subway Station in the prestigious Kingsway neighbourhood of Toronto. A very safe, quiet, upscale residential area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Petryla Estates Furnished Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing