We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hazelton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hazelton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

As someone who has travelled much of the world staying in 5 star hotels this one rates as one of the very best. Service was unobtrusive but always available. Help was accurate and knowledgeable and coevered every member of staff we cam into contact with.

The bedroom was well equipped and comfortable and and shoud we have found anything missing we are quite sure every attempt would have been made to provide it.

A home from home and a return visit to Toronto would be a return visit to the Hazelton.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    45
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
73
215
61
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I travel the world on business, and the first thing I look for is an exceptionally comfortable bed, a beautiful bathroom, and wonderful service.

The Hazelton Hotel is exceptional in most instances. But seriously, for a hotel of that caliber and price range, one would expect the most plush bathrobes and towels.

Mostly everywhere I go, I seem to encounter FRETTE bathrobes and towels. Talk about luxury!!! I am so spoilt that I need FRETTE at home now.

But at The Hazelton, where exactly do they get their bathrobes and towels from? Really - they could use FRETTE. Wake up management - think of the little details.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timaccen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

The rooms are modern and comfortable with all the amenities you'd expect out of a five star hotel. The balconies are surprisingly large and well furnished. Don't shy away from a balcony overlooking busy Yorkville Avenue, as the soundproofing is incredible. The bathroom was really unique. Wall to wall granite, a heated floor, a large tv built into the mirror with an in ceiling speaker, a huge soaking tub, and a rainfall shower head extending from the ceiling. The complimentary mini bar and wireless internet were great bonuses. The service was exceptional. The staff addressed us by name everywhere we went and Dean, the concierge, definitely went the extra mile. The hotel restaurant, ONE, is excellent. The food and service were outstanding and the patio is definitely the place to be in Toronto. We reserved under a buy two get one free special, which helped bring the price down a bit...but the Hazelton was truly worth every penny and the Yorkville area with its upscale shops and outdoor dining is a great location to stay! The Hazelton is a true five star experience and is favored by many celebrities (Lady Gaga was there during our visit).

Room Tip: Request a 4th floor balcony facing Yorkville Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLO1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

I've stayed at the Hazelton a couple of times before, and what I liked about it was the boutique feel, the ultramodern freshness and the great location within walking distance of great shops and restaurants.
When a car at the dealership is a "demo" car, it's a new model, but you can tell it's been working hard. The Hazelton now feels like this. It's new, but not fresh, and the staff is overall a bit aloof.
I had booked three nights for a business trip, but had to leave after the first night. First of all, the internet couldn't get to work. I heard that they had a network issue, but I get the feeling that whoever wired up that hotel did kind of a Mickey Mouse job. If you are using a Mac, you need to pick the "Hazelton Apple" network. Most administrators will know that Windows routers pick an IP address starting at 192.168..... whereas with Mac it starts with 10.0.... that's an easy change for anybody who knows how to setup basic networks should know. Anyway, I couldn't get any work done because the internet was down (and I had a deadline)... so I ordered room service. I won't go into details, but they got the order wrong. When I called, nobody came. When I called the 2nd time - the person who answered insisted that he did everything right. I was just exhausted so I crashed, called Amex Centurion Travel, and they got me a room at the new Ritz Carlton by the tower.
As I left, to be fair, the front desk manager was hugely apologetic and vowed that they will do better next time. I totally believe her. I don't know if this place has changed GM's, but this much I know about hotels: if you have a bad day with the service, it starts with the vibe from the top.
It has never been incredible with service anyway. Hazelton is like a "W" hotel - where the focus is on being cool, hip, and stylish more than focused attention on anticipating and exceeding guest expectations.
I'd probably give them another try if the new Ritz wasn't so much better. I think it's a lucky thing that the property had that one bad night, because had they not, I'd be staying at the Hazelton everytime I come into Toronto. And now, I have a new place to go. So thanks room service guy! and I.T. guy!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

In all regards our stay at the elegant Hazelton Hotel was outstanding. The décor is stunning with a cosmopolitan flair. Our room was beautiful, extremely spacious and had the most comfortable bed we have ever experienced. I could spend hours in the gorgeous, expansive bathroom. We had a lovely view of Yorkville Avenue through glass doors opening to the street. These doors were of such high quality that we could close them and totally damp out the buzz of the city when we tired of being a part of the sounds of this fabulous neighborhood. In fact, this is the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in. I took advantage of the lovely spa and pool and was impressed with the beauty of the facilities. What also sets the Hazelton Hotel apart from other upscale hotels is the staff. Every staff member we encountered was genuinely friendly, professional and went that “extra mile” at every turn. For example, I lost a very small part of an earring in our room. I was sure it would be vacuumed up, as the room was impeccably clean. Much to my surprise, housekeeping found the earring part and left in a conspicuous place so I could find it. Original and unique art throughout the hotel, choices of cream content for the coffee in our room, control of all lights and drapes by the bed side are just a few examples of how no detail is overlooked. The Hazelton Hotel sets the gold standard for luxury. We look forward to out next stay at the world-class Hazelton Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyny4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

It was our first trip to Canada and my husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. I can't go on enough about how amazing the staff was. Every single person was friendly and helpful and we felt so welcome and pampered. Special props to Helene for the BEST spa body treatment I've ever had. Do make a visit to the Spa if you can!

The room was gorgeous! We loved the large dressing area and separate closets. The bathroom was a dream and quite large. The shower had awesome water pressure, which you might think is unimportant - until you've stayed somewhere it's terrible!! The bed was super soft and comfortable. The food is very expensive, but then again Toronto is an expensive city. Walk across the street to Starbuck's if you don't want to pay for a pricy breakfast.

Expensive food aside, I'd say this was one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in - and we travel a lot! I wouldn't stay enywhere else in Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Me and my wife stayed at Hazelton for our wedding anniversary and it was amazing.Located in by far the best neighborhood in Toronto, with lots of restaurants, boutiques and bars just minutes away.
Concierge staff is very friendly, professional and courteous. Attention to details and design is outstanding throughout the hotel, the room was needless to say gorgeous, with lots of space and a beautiful black marble bathroom (the HDTV embedded in the mirror is the best!!).
Don't forget to go and try The Spa and fitness area, it's worth it.
Great stay will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIcca75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelton Hotel

Property: The Hazelton Hotel
Address: 118 Yorkville Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown , Yorkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#6 Business Hotel in Toronto
#11 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hazelton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Hazelton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelton Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing