We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Hotel for a Special Occaisions”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hazelton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hazelton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special Hotel for a Special Occaisions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Just got back from a stay at the Hazleton. If you are looking for a luxury hotel in Toronto you have found it. We love everything about this hotel. The location, the service, the food. Beds are supremely comfortable and the bathrooms are amazing. We haved stayed before and will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crillon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    45
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
76
222
61
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is the place to be if money is no object. Great location in Yorkville amidst high end shops and restaurants. If you don't know Yorkville be prepared for heavey traffic. Once you arrive you'll just want to park your car for the length of your stay.
We booked a King suite which was quiet and luxurious and on the 5th floor. It was a corner room and reasonably large for the location, with a Juliet balcony and a view overlooking the busy street. We really enjoyed being able to open the balcony doors and watch the passer bys. We had drinks and hor'dearves in the quiet, trendy, expensive bar. We did not have dinner in the hotel restaurant "One" as we normally prefer to dine offsight. We did have breakfast there on Sunday morning. The breakfast was great, the service was fine, and the dining room was beautiful. We had a table by the windows with a nice view of the street - although on Sunday morning there are not many shoppers going by.
The fitness room was well equipped and not crowded when we used it Sunday morning. They also had a spa which we did't use.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seeker321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Very chic & trendy boutique hotel in center of Yorkville

Traveled here with a few colleagues during Toronto Film Festival ... Good for people watching, but crowds everywhere. My first choice would have been a large 5star hotel, preferably the one around the corner, but they were all booked and we were lucky to get rooms here.

Check-in took a while as the clerk was in training (I assume) She was quite chipper and friendly, which is a nice after a fairly uncomfortable flight and awful weather.

The room I booked wasn't a standard as there were none left - so it was huge. Large dressing area with mirrors and closet space, but I wish the lighting could have been better. Huge bathroom with tub and separate stand shower. Good lighting in here and lit makeup mirror too. Plenty of soft towels and great smelling toiletries.

Here are the negatives ...
My colleagues were mostly also pleased with their rooms as well but we all had the same complaints of too much outside noise. I dont know if the windows are thin or if everyone was feeling extra festive because of TIFF, but being awoken by loud house music and people yelling at 3am arent how I want to spend the wee hours of a Tuesday.

The elevators require you to swipe your keycard in order to use them. Good safety measure. But this was a bit of a hassle considering me and my colleagues were placed on different floors. So instead we had to use the staircase instead... Kind of defeats the safety measure of making the elevators accessible only by keycard if you can just use the stairs.
We tried to stop in the restaurant for a late drink and maybe dessert. When we asked the hostess if they had space for us, she simply said no, without even looking at us. Not even asking if we wanted to wait, or if we wanted to put our names down ... Nothing. I said aloud "well, that's a shame" and she glared at me. What a sweetheart.

All in all this is a very nice boutique hotel but the elevator/staircase safety measures confuse me and the restaurant hostess needs a bit of an attitude adjustment - maybe from the front desk clerk.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leetlesasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

The Hazelton is where I stay for my one night business trips to Toronto.

The rooms are nice and large and the bathrooms are exceptional.
I've had a few memorable meals at the hotel restaurant, One, and the ambiance sometimes gets electric at the hotel bar. Both are great spots for entertaining.

It’s obviously a very trendy Hotel but they did an exceptional job at accommodating a group of 30 for a weekend business retreat a few years ago.

I've never had time to try the spa facilities.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini, Italia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We spent 4 nights at The Hazelton, and it was a great experience.
Wonderful rooms, amazing and huge bathroom, trendy but elegant...
The staff is very kind and professional, and the hotel has all the amenities you can wish.
The ONE Restaurant is excellent, we are from Italy and there we eated unforgettable "linguine carbonara".
The bar too is very nice, and it's very popular also among the locals.
The Concierge staff is absolutely fantastic, specially Mr. Voon, that will transform all your wishes into reality.
We travel a lot, and for sure The Hazelton is one of the best hotel we have ever seen.
Strongly recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gin74italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed at the Hazelton and loved our stay. The front desk staff had trouble locating our reservation but they quickly got us checked in. The staff was very courteous and the room very clean and comfortable.

I would definitely stay there again! Thank you!

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Hazelton is quite the contemporary hang-out. Perfectly situated in a great location. Room decor is tasteful; dark wood, black marble, glass, mirrors, etc. Tons of space. We camped out in the enormous bathroom as it had heated floors, tv, luxurious tub, etc.
Our room faced Yorkville Street which was pleasant during the day, as we kept our French doors open and enjoyed the foot traffic and fresh air but once the evening lounge crowd arrived we closed our doors...too much noise and cigarette smoke, yuck!
There's a convenient work station on each floor with computer and printer...very handy!
We loved the restaurant, nice decor, delicious food and great service.
The spa is itty bitty and really no where to lounge. Had a mani, pedi...outrageously priced....never ever paid so much in my life !!!
We worked out at the gym which was clean and well stocked with towels, fruit and water.
Overall, nice place, welcoming staff and good service.

Room Tip: facing yorkville or the side street..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelton Hotel

Property: The Hazelton Hotel
Address: 118 Yorkville Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown , Yorkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#1 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#6 Business Hotel in Toronto
#11 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hazelton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hazelton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelton Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing