We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hazelton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hazelton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Just stayed at the Hazelton and had a wonderful time. The Yorkville location is spot on in the city, yet serene and pleasant to walk. The room & bathroom had been stnning. Slight errors in the restaurant service are made up by the pretty staff with engagement and smiles.
I loved every aspect of the hotel and will be back!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms with super sized balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 313Travelbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    45
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
75
219
61
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Beautiful hotel in a great spot (especially if you like shopping). Great service, comfortable room, extremely well appointed bathroom and free mini bar. Big flat screen on a swivel. Computer station on every floor. The rooms are a little dark, but this is true of so many hotels...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susannTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I recently had birthday party at the hotel where I rented out a private room at One restaurant. Prior to the evening, we had a suite to start off day. Upon our arrival the treatment was first class, friendly and accommodating. The room was spectacular and anything we needed they brought to us immediately. The staff were wonderful at the restaurant as well. The spa is an absolute 10 out of 10 and all around the experience was exceptional. I would highly recommend this hotel and not to mention the fabulous location. Hospitable Hazelton all the way.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAK5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I recently had a "sisters" overnight at the Hazelton and it was fantastic. The room was spacious and had a lovely calming decor. The heated bathroom floors were a wonderful touch. I also love the lobby. Its bright, spacious and has incredible art. We took advantage of the spa in which we both had massages. I am a bi-weekly therapeutic massage junky so I know my massages. Most hotels have mediocre massage therapists however the Hazelton has incredible therapists who really know their stuff. Nael in particular gives an outstanding massage. Dined at the One Restaurant on a few occasions. The food was fantastic! Of course I had to hit the gym afterwards to work off that food. I found the gym quiet (which I like) and has most equipment one would need. A few bosu balls would have been nice to have since most gyms have them now. The staff in all areas, from the reception to the spa to the restaurant where extremely attentive and catered to our every need without hesitation. The location of the hotel is in the heart of downtown, in Yorkville. It is close to everything (shopping, museums, movie theatre, etc). I can't say enough great things about this hotel. One of the best hotels in Toronto for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 872Lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Recently stayed at the Hazelton with my boyfriend over the weekend and everything was perfect. Breakfast was delicious. We were sad to leave but will return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Our stay at the Hazelton didn't start well. The guy at the front desk was pompous and indifferent. He advised that we were upgraded and handed us the key to the room. On seeing it we returned to reception and requested a room that didn't face a dumpster (aren't we demanding?!). He huffed and puffed giving us two options. The room we originally booked and another that was $50 more than our $450+ rate.

We chose the room category that we had booked. It was a standard (around 40 sq m) room facing Yorkville Avenue. It had a Parisienne balcony with a view of some trees and the adjacent retail/office complex. Lucky it was sunny outside - I'm sure these rooms are very drab on grey winter days.

The room was quite dark, basic and rather tired. There was a package PTAC A/C unit in a cupboard by the window. These A/C systems are rather noisy and usually found in 2 star hotels such as Hampton Inns.

The marble lined bathroom was a reasonable size with bath and separate shower. It had a heated floor - but it was 35 degC outside. Good linens. All the wardrobes had a strange odour that I couldn't identify. The vision on the TV was distorted. We stayed four nights and found that the staff did not replenish the toiletries every day. Not too swish either - L'Occitane. Why be so stingy - you are paying $450 a night? The coffee service in the room was filter - these days in a 5 star hotel you expect a Nespresso machine or similar.

On the positive side The Hazelton is in a great location. The lobby is beautifully designed with a great art collection. The restaurant is a lively place and the food is excellent. The black cod on the dinner menu was very good. Great breakfast too. The genY hostesses at the restaurant had an attitude that was pretty irritating.

The concierge was very pleasant and helpful.

The Hazelton might be 5 stars on paper, however, in my opinion it's currently no more than a 4 star product.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that overlook the lane behind the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel is well located. All great shops and restaurants right out the door. However, the hotel is very dark and it is getting tired. You'll need to wear the complimentary slippers. Hopefully, the carpets aren't as dirty as they look but you certainly don't want to walk in bare feet and then get into bed. The bathroom is well- appointed and the tub in nice and deep. I had a view of a brick wall and I was on the top floor! The gym is fairly well equipped but in the basement with no natural light. The resturant feels too big and open- everyone wants to sit along the walls and once those places are gone you are stuck in the middle where you feel a bit on display. In summary, certainly not worth the price and not up to its reputation.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Betty-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hazelton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hazelton Hotel

Property: The Hazelton Hotel
Address: 118 Yorkville Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown , Yorkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#1 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#6 Business Hotel in Toronto
#11 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hazelton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hazelton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazelton Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing