We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hazelton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$427
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$337
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
703
56
23
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
56
23
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscreening roommark mcewanpillow menulobster spoonsheated floorsdressing areaboutique hotelfour seasonsroom servicethe general manageran amazing hotelnespresso machineyorkville areapleasure of stayingbathroom mirrorrooms are spacioussteam room
Filter
Updating list...
519 - 524 of 800 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hazelton is a charming 5 star hotel in Yorkville, the shopping site of Toronto. We stayed for 7 nights and were simply blown away by the amazing room service, the incredible comfort of the bed & pillows, the size and depth of the luxurious marble bath tub, heated bathroom floor, the endless supply of bottled water, the quiet isolation of their magnificent swimming pool, the good size and decor of the room, the ease of control of the blinds & lights, its central location and delightful neighbourhood, the attention from concierge and front desk staff. A special mention to the assistance-with-a-smile from Kate, Kiyomi, Ronaldo and Myra. At the end of the stay, we feel that this is 'the' hotel in Toronto which sets benchmark standards for all other hotels to strive for. Will definitely return here.
Thank you for your incredible service.
Mohan Singh.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank strongmohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yurika_H_Res_Mngr, Manager at The Hazelton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear strongmohan,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hazelton Hotel.

On behalf of the General Manager, Nancy Munzar Kelly

Yurika Hinkle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I wound up at the Hazelton because of a room-disaster experience across town at the Fairmont Hotel. That said, the next time I visit Toronto I don't expect to even bother with the Fairmont...because everything about the Hazelton is fantastic. And this is coming from a traveler who relishes the grandeur and history of hotels like the Fairmont.

Comparisons aside, the Hazleton is immaculately clean, updated and modern without sterility. Its staff are warm and helpful. Furthermore, its size (75 rooms) lends itself to great personal service so that even after only two days on the property I was being recognized and acknowledged with a friendly nod.

I stayed in a king suite. A huge room with desk, sitting area, separate bedroom, bathroom-for-two, marble shower (rain head and handheld) and separate stall. The bed and sheets were fresh with a great mattress - no sagging - and a pillow menu. Again, everything was as clean and fresh as any room I've stayed in. Additionally, the room had a Nespresso Machine with six cartridges...since I can't stand filtered coffee and love espresso, those hotels with such an offering automatically gain a "star" from this critic.

If there is a downside - it's that the workout room is I think undersized for such a modern (spa) property. Most upscale hotels I've visited (even smaller ones) seem to be recognizing the trend of healthy living and adapting with an abundance of exercise options. In fairness, the room has 4-5 treadmills, 2-3 ellipticals, a couple of exercise bikes and a mini-gym. Even with this equipment the room felt crowded when only two other guests were in working out.

I ate breakfast in the hotel's ONE restaurant both days of my stay and also had dinner there with a colleague. The dinner service was outstanding...the breakfast service was lacking friendliness. But in both cases, the menu was diverse and the food was served fresh.

Finally, the location of the hotel is an important consideration. The Hazelton is in Yorkville, the "upscale" neighborhood and much less touristy than the hotels near the CN Tower, Waterfront and NHL Hall of Fame. I prefer this...but people looking to stay near those attractions might not like the extra transportation. However, top end shopping and dining is right out the front door.

Although I was traveling on business for this stay, I would just as readily bring my wife and two daughters for a stay here. It's really a great property.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BuonaNotteRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yurika_H_Res_Mngr, Manager at The Hazelton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear BuonaNotteRoma,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hazelton Hotel.

On behalf of the General Manager, Nancy Munzar Kelly

Yurika Hinkle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived in Toronto after 2 weeks traveling in British Columbia and booked the Hazelton thinking a little luxury would be lovely after two weeks on the road. Luxury and five star the room may be but the front of house treatment was far from five star and such a contrast from everywhere we had been on the west coast of Canada where the service has been extraordinary. Arriving late from the airport (having booked a transfer through the hotel) there was no recognition of who we were and why we were arriving late. There was no liaison between services at front of house. Our room was lovely but not set up as we had requested even though the hotel recognised as soon as we asked that they had not done this. We asked for a late check out but no one got back to us. We had to ask again and then there was no recollection of our original request. Room service and housekeeping were good but they could not get over our repeated poor interaction with front of house. Every time we asked for anything we always felt our request was somehow difficult and inconvenient. There was no 'can do ' attitude. Very disappointing experience and not worthy of the hype and certainly not our experience of Canadian hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JB1335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yurika_H_Res_Mngr, Manager at The Hazelton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear JB1335,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the TripAdvisor Guest Questionnaire. Please accept our apologies as it seems that you were dissatisfied with various aspects of the hotel.

Please be assured that your comments have been taken very seriously and it will be followed up accordingly.

Again, I apologize and thank you for taking the time to address your concerns.

For your next trip to Toronto, please do contact me direct and I will be more than happy to assist you with making a reservation.

On behalf of the General Manager, Nancy Munzar Kelly


Yurika Hinkle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our second stay at this boutique property in Yorkville.
We did receive a deal on Hotwire which was helpful, as this is an expensive property.
It was our 10th anniversary and the management left a hand-written note and a plate of chocolate dipped strawberries-a nice touch.
We were going to bring our dog along, as this is a pet friendly property, but when we were told that there is a $95.00 charge, we changed our minds. This fact was not indicated on their website.
Our deluxe room was lovely, if a tad sombre-all blacks and browns and the bathroom was lovely.
The indoor salt water pool is a quiet retreat. I was the only one using it on Saturday.
There is also a lovely-looking spa, which I did not use.
We did not eat at "One", which is a very popular and pricey restaurant, with a celebrity chef, Mark McKewan.
Staff was extremely polite, although a few requests were forgotten .
There is a $12.00 facility charge here, which was not mentioned when we checked in.
The location couldn't be better and we walked to both stores and restaurants easily.
The little things count here, like being called Mr. &Mrs. ..... by ever staff member.
We would return to this lovely property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. The bathrooms are incredible.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yurika_H_Res_Mngr, Manager at The Hazelton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear katherineincanada,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward service excellence.

I also would like to acknowledge that the Pet Policy information was not easily found. We have our pet policy noted here, http://thehazeltonhotel.com/hotel/details/pet-friendly We do welcome pets as one of your family members, and are pleased to offer pet amenities in the room.

Your feedback will be used as a tool in our efforts to strive for continued improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hazelton Hotel.



On behalf of the General Manager, Nancy Munzar Kelly



Yurika Hinkle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I am local and have had the opportunity to stay at a number of high end Toronto hotels. This has to be the best in terms of: Location: everything literally steps from the hotel (shopping, nightlife, restaurants, transit, museum). Decor: Rooms are super quiet and have blackout curtains so you don't even know you are in the heart of downtown: Staff: Friendly, very efficient and capable: Facilities: Loved the salt water pool and steam rooms. I didn't eat at ONE but we had drinks in the bar. Yes it is pricey but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are just fine.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yurika_H_Res_Mngr, Manager at The Hazelton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Naveron,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about your stay with us. Your feedback is welcome and inspiring for our staff to continue to strive toward service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hazelton Hotel.

On behalf of the General Manager, Nancy Munzar Kelly

Yurika Hinkle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews