We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport hotel with very nice restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel
Ranked #43 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here during a 5 day business trip, the reception can be a little slow and often you will have to wait a little before they show up from the back room. The rooms have the basics, including a very annoying alarm which woke me up 5 o'clock in the morning, I unplugged it, and sure enough, next morning it woke me up again because cleaning plugged it back in. The hotel is not the closest to the airport, but on the other hand you can find room to park, just remember to check your room rate, there is a daily 14 CAD parking fee. However the restaurant and bar (Moxie's) are definitely worth a visit. Very nice food served in great surroundings by attentive staff. In the reception are you will find a small cafe offering you coffee and snacks to go, for those to busy to sit down and enjoy breakfast.
Will come back again, if the rate is okay at the time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Knudsen_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Toronto, General Manager at Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

I appreciate the time you took to write this review. I am sorry to hear about the confusion with the parking charge, I have also addressed the matter of the alarm clock with our Executive Housekeeper I am glad that you would close to stay with us again, thank you for the feedback as we await to welcome you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Easy drive from Pearson, with a shuttle service, large parking, clean and large rooms, right on top of an open-late Moxies(good for a Canadian chain). Polite staff. I would see no reason to look further for an airport hotel in Toronto.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Toronto, General Manager at Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

I want to thank you for this great review we greatly appreciate your positive feedback about our services, location and the friendliness of our associates. It is wonderful to see our guest return because of the service we offer, I will share this great feedback with team. Thank you again as we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Spent a week at this hotel during a recent business trip in the area . Overall the hotel had everything that I needed . It was clean.And quiet once the flights from the airport shutdown for the evening but you should be aware that until then , you can hear and even feel the aircraft .

There are several chain restaurants in the immediate area including Moxies which is located in the hotel itself.
I would return to this hotel in the future .

Room Tip: Hotel is located near the airport so flight traffic noise could be a problem for some .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlkMontreal_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Toronto, General Manager at Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

I appreciate the time you took to write this review. I am sorry to hear that you could hear the aircraft sound, thank your for this feedback it is greatly appreciated. We are waiting to welcome you back at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel lobby is very nice, I did find the rooms could be a little better kept.

They are starting to look worn.

Overall the hotel offers good value, and is a good choice if you have kids.

I believe they have an indoor pool, but you can also request a room with bunk beds.

It is great the have a Moxies on location, to grab a decent meal before your travels!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garbagefud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Toronto, Manager at Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Garbagefud,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and reviews on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I also want to use this opportunity to update you on a small change that has taken place in the room type you used with your family. We now have pool out couch instead of the bunk beds that we used to have.
Once more, thank you for your business and we can't wait to have you back in Toronto and the Sandman Signature Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here the night before our flight flew out on the recommendation of our travel agent. Although the rooms were adequate and the price was very attractive as it included our parking for the duration of our holiday. But, we were very disappointed with the flight pickup service upon our return to Toronto. As most people are usually pretty exhausted and just want to get home, it was very unfortunate that we had to wait 50 minutes (and 3 phone calls requesting) for a pickup although we were assured when we checked in that a vehicle would be there to pick us up if we called while waiting to claim our luggage (which we did do). Added to the frustration, it was early April and it was cold outside waiting. Therefore, I doubt it very much we would stay at the Sandman Signature Hotel Toronto Airport again when similar deals are available at other hotels near the Toronto airport. Hopes this helps.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rut E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Toronto, Manager at Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Rut E,
I want to thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your business and we also take all complaints seriously. I understand how frustrating it can be to wait for that long for a shuttle in the cold and I want to use this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the hotel. We will take great steps in addressing this lapse in service and ensure that it does not happen again. Our utmost goal is always to reach and exceed our guests`expectation and it is a huge dissatisfaction to us if this goal is not met. Once more, thank you for exposing your experience to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our travel agent suggested this hotel to us. We enjoyed our 1 night stay here, the front staff was friendly, our room was nice, the bed was comfortable, had a nice view from the window, clean room and quiet. One of the great things about this hotel was all the parking, we didn't have to park way back from the entrance. Our truck was fine the week it was there and there seems to be lots of lighting in the parking lot.
My only complaint would be when we were dropped off at the hotel after our vacation the driver left our luggage sitting in the middle of the drive through, hence I had to move our bags quickly out of the way as a taxi was trying to get through.
Overall good value for your money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildYellowDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Toronto, Manager at Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Wild Yellow Daisy,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. It also gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It has always been our goal to reach and exceed our guests' expectation so we are happy whenever that goal is achieved. Hope to see you again when you next visit Toronto and thanks once more for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I don't really have anything negative to say about the hotel.

We had a two queen room (without fridge or microwave - an extra $20 a night) and it was fairly modern and in good shape. The room itself was small but well equipped. We were on the eleventh floor so I cannot confirm if the Moxie's restaurant was actually loud - although we ate there one night and in the restaurant we certainly didn't find it loud. You will hear the occasional airplane but it's not like it's so loud that it should disrupt you in any way - I barely even noticed them. What you will notice though is how uncomfortable the bedding is. The bed itself is alright but the sheets and pillows are terrible. The bed had a basic bed sheet and a thin, heavy comforter that was made of some sort of material that is akin to grandma's couch; it's no doubt easier to just wipe down rather than actually wash. And although there's a different blanket in the closet that blanket is even worse as it some kind of foam material. If you're there for a night or two you probably won't notice but we couldn't wait to stay elsewhere at the conclusion of our stay.

The service was good. The lobby is beautiful. You'll find an expensive market in the lobby for some snacks. There's also a coffee bar that is only open until just before noon. You can also get a complimentary newspaper and apple in the lobby. The pool and hot tub is small - small enough that if there's another family in there it will feel crowded. There's only one chair in the pool area too. That being said, I didn't find many visitors used the pool area. Most of their visitors are people staying overnight before a flight, including pilots and flight crew, and people on business. There's a fitness center that is adequately equipped (also a full gym down the street) and a business center on the second floor. If you want a coffee or hot chocolate just go to the business center where there's also plastic wrapped muffins and coffee creamer available. It's a bit of a lounge too with a television and furniture along with the computers. Just ask for the door code from the front desk.

The location of the hotel is great. You can easily access the 401 and 427 which can get you anywhere quickly and there's plenty of restaurants in the area.

Paying for parking seems like a cash grab. Most hotels charge for parking when there's a concern non-hotel patrons will park on their site and leave no parking for paying hotel customers. However, this hotel is located at the end of a street with vacant lots next to it. No one is going to park there overnight except hotel patrons and there is adequate parking for the hotel and restaurant. I always think unnecessarily charging for parking is a huge negative for a hotel - they justified it as "everyone else does it"; which isn't entirely true and if they do their rates are much cheaper than here.

So why is this hotel only "decent"? Because you can get better value staying next door at the Marriott Residence Inn where you get a hot breakfast and a one bedroom suite with full kitchen for the same price as a two queen room here. We only stayed at this hotel because my fiance's work was putting her up there at a preferred rate. The hotel could provide a better value.

Room Tip: Check out the business center for free fresh brewed coffee or hot chocolate (and coffee creamers) as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B-l-a-i-r_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Toronto, General Manager at Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

I love when we receive detailed reviews about the experience that our guest have during their stay at our hotel. You touched on many things about our great property and we appreciate the feedback, the feedback on the sheets and blankets will be used in our decision making process of the future choices we make. I am happy that you received great service and I can tell by your review that you used all the services available. Thank you for all your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toronto
Etobicoke
Radisson Suite Hotel Toronto Airport
Etobicoke
Sheraton Toronto Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Etobicoke
TownePlace Suites Mississauga-Airport Corporate Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westin Toronto Airport
#66 of 137 in Toronto
66 reviews
Etobicoke
Hampton Inn by Hilton Toronto Airport Corporate Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel

Address: 55 Reading Crt, Toronto, Ontario M9W 7K7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Etobicoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
#28 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#36 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#39 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: £86 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alluring, inviting, and with a bold style that is distinctively modern, Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel is the ideal choice for travellers who want elegant, relaxed comfort at its best. Just minutes from Toronto Pearson International Airport (YYZ), this stunning property overlooks the gorgeous scenery of the Royal Woodbine Golf Course while also offering exceptional amenities. Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel makes travel easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Signature Hotel Toronto Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing