We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality steak and fresh products” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barberian's Steak House

Barberian's Steak House
Ranked #46 of 8,405 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quality steak and fresh products”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Yes you can eat a quality steak here and they work with fresh products. Staff Needs to give a bid more attention to their guest.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Genieterke188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    122
    64
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Steak Sandwich actually has STEAK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stopped in while working downtown. I wanted to treat myself to something fancy but once the menu was before me, I couldn't justify spending $60+ on a quick lunch by myself.

I ordered the steak sandwich and had an immediate regret. Now I would be paying steak house prices for pub fare. What was I thinking?

Well, I was pleasantly surprised when the meal arrived. Normally, steak sandwiches are made with thin meat. This was one inch thick and juicy. It was still modest in scale. Think hot dog size versus a full steak between bread slices but, I got the sense I was eating a proper steak.

Regarding atmosphere: The place is dark... like, cave dark. It takes several minutes to adjust after walking in from a bright summer day. I made the mistake of going to the bathroom which is fully lit. It isn't dirty or anything but, the badly aged and poorly maintained walls make me wonder if that is what the whole place looks like with the lights on.

Bottom line, I would return to try a real steak when I can justify the costs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdventureArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We first went to Barberian's in 1969 with a 3 year old and a newborn in a car bed (no seatbelts back then) It was one of our favorite steakhouses and we returned many times (without babies in tow). For 45 years we have recommended this restaurant, and we have toured the magnificent wine cellar. Last summer we were not as happy with our meal but on our last visit to Toronto this June, we were back again. And I hate to admit it, but both our meals were mediocre. I had medium rare prime rib, very chewy and tasteless. My husband had New York strip, same result. The gentlemen on either side of us raved about their steak but they had had quite a few drinks, we shared a bottle of wine, maybe not enough to overlook the meal. All else was great, just the meat was disappointing, will not return until we forget the last two meals!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrammyofTriplets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beef well cooked but not tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

It's not a bad place as long as you bring a flashlight to find your table. But from what I could see, this restaurant is certainly steeped in tradition. Ordered roast prime rib. It was perfectly cooked and well marbled, but I found that the meat was lacking flavour. Maybe not aged well enough. I'd rate it average, nothing special, except that I found the service to be impeccable. A well-deserved tip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brigus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An old part of Toronto that never disappoints...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have previously been to Barberian's but wanted to treat our teenage kids to a true part of Toronto. As always, the filets were great and cooked to perfection. Service was excellent and the staff very attentive. It is not cheap but prices are comparable to similar steakhouses but Barberian's has a feel all to its own. We had the opportunity to eat at one of the 'high-end' steakhouses a few days later and were very disappointed in both the quality and service. We highly recommend Barberian's.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barberian's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Barberian's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing