We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do stop in Kensie!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jumbo Empanadas

Jumbo Empanadas
Ranked #1,980 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Latin, Fast food, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Must do stop in Kensie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Don't bother with the imposters... these are the real deal and fresh made pico de gallo to boot!! Our fave is the juicy beef empanada, laced with salty olive, sweet succulent raisins and aromatic melt in your mouth caramelized onion.... how can you not stop in and stuff your face on the best bargain in Kensie?? YUM!

Helpful?
Thank KaWaMiDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A poco pocket of Chile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We just love Kensington Market and the cultural diversity that it offers. Jumbo Empanadas is an easily missed nook tucked back from the street. A busy place to stop and partake in a little "pocket" of Chile. Perfect for lunch or a snack. You definitely must pair the Empanadas (a turnover style meat or cheese pie) with a Chilean vaso de vino tinto! Chin, Chin!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tripicurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“legitime empanadas taste, simply spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

This is the perfect place to have a little piece of home in Toronto. Pastry tastes as home-.made, ingredients are carefully selected and the taste is excatly the same than in South America. It's great to have it as a quick lunch at work (not very messy, easy to reheat) or at home. I love empanadas, and Jumbo Empanadas are great. Highly recommended. There is room to stay and eat in, although I prefer to take them out (Kensington Market is not one of my favourite neighbourhoods in Toronto, but I definetly go to buy Jumbo Empanadas). Price is great for the amount and quality of food served. They also sell beer, which "pairs" perfectly with empanadas. The staff is very friendly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mainasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
194 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Most authentic empanadas in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I'm not a big fan of the atmosphere...Jumbo empanadas is a dumpy little place in Kensington market. The counter service (stand in a long line to order, and wait a long time for it to be ready) is slow and often confused. The place is better suited for students, ones who wear Arafat scarves and shirts adorned with various left wing political buttons, looking for nourishment before heading off to the "occupy Toronto" or anti G20 rallies.

I go to Jumbo Empanadas because the Empanadas are the best I've ever had. I usually order the beef empanada (filled with moist, flavourful ground beef, hard boiled eggs, olives, raisins, etc) and a couple of cheese empanadas to wash it down (and an Inka Cola to drink). The salsa (that you have to request) is amazing. I've also ordered the Humitas (corn pie), which is great, and I even had a salad there that was fantastic. To avoid the wait and the riff raf, I've ordered cold empanadas to go, which freeze and heat up very well in the oven.

Definitely worth the trip to Kensington!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great healty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I have been here several place and I always enjoyed my meal very much. The counter service is always very friendly. The homade empanadas are excellent (I don't recommend the vegetarien because it lacks a bit of flavor) and I can't stop eating the salsa sauce coming with it. I always order the salad on the side which is very delicious. A nice little place to eat on the go!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guillou_Guillou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jumbo Empanadas also viewed

 

Been to Jumbo Empanadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing