We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Mandalay Restaurant - CLOSED

Mandalay Restaurant
Price range: US$12 - US$24
Cuisines: Burmese, Italian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Scarborough
Description: Mandalay Restaurant, a warm, intimate and unpretentious dining establishment, has been catering to the discerning diners of Scarborough for over 25 years. Being in one of the world's most culturally diverse city, the intermingling of South East Asian cultures has given us the "traditional" fusion cuisines from which our eclectic fusion contemporary menu has evolved to cater to the diverse palates amongst us. Our goal is to offer delectable foods infused with spices and aromas to please the palate, along with the warmth and hospitality in our service, and a warm casual place to enjoy it all.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Found this restaurant on trip advisor and it was an excellent find. Would highly recommend reservations on traditionally busy nights. The restaurant is not visible from the street and the parking is not directly in front of the restaurant. Worth the effort to find it. Great menu selection of items not usually found in this area including bison, kangaroo, venison, lamb and duck. A great fusion of Asian and North American food. Good range of mild to spicy food. The prix fix menu is a great option.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cruise281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place on a rainy night.”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Found this place on trip advisor and another good find. I went here with a business colleague and had a wonderful dinner. The restaurant was quiet but the food was good. I had the venison and my friend had lamb shank. Both were well cooked and seasoned just right. The grilled mixed vegetables with the venison were cooked perfect. The only thing not perfect was we had to wait for the bill but we took time to talk business while we waited. Hope other enjoy this hidden gem as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NCSUpulpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“High standards - Exotic menu - Great Execution ...........”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Friends who are regular patrons of this lovely restaurant treated us to a one-of-a-kind dinner here. A "regular" myself - on the downtown Toronto restaurant scene - I can truly say that I have not seen a menu like this anywhere in "my" territory ! If this restaurant were downtown it would not remain a secret for long. It is located very hidden away in a small strip mall opposite Cedarbrae Plaza. The unassuming entrance completely betrays the wonderful ambiance of the interior. Starched white tablecloths and napkins, candles, attentive and friendly wait staff all promised a first rate dining experience......and it did not disappoint.

The specials of the day included Ribeye steak and : Crocodile ! Since they had "run out" they had substituted with Ostrich - yes : Ostrich ! We ended up choosing from the regular dinner menu; my husband had a long-held favorite of his : Venison, and I opted to be adventurous and went for the Kangaroo loin. Our hosts chose their "regular" favorites which were stuffed Chicken breast and Salmon in filo pastry. Dishes arrived looking like works of art. Not only were our game meats cooked perfectly but they were also accompanied by very subtle and skilfully prepared sauces ; one being a wild berry and red wine game reduction and the other a surprising fusion style hoisin glaze that just really worked well with the Venison. Beautiful grilled vegetables adorned the plate with the meat hugging a generous scoop of (real !) mashed potatoes. Finished with a sprig of rosemary...........being extremely lean meat the calorie count here was probably way less than a similar indulgence would be at a steak house. I noted that my friend's stuffed chicken breast was also far from 'usual'. It was indeed stuffed with goat cheese and herbs but then it was cuddled by layers of beautiful grilled peppers, eggplant, red onion and topped with a full slice of grilled pineapple - each vegetable being celebrated in its entirety by keeping the slice large and intact.

This is a fine dining restaurant so expect to pay accordingly. I can still say without hesitation that prices are at least 25-30% lower than what you would have to pay downtown - and you would have to look long and hard to find any one of the exotic menu choices anywhere - let alone 3 or 5 of them. And you would probably look in vain.

I haven't even touched upon appetizers, nice bread and olive oil/balsamic dipping sauce ( served gratis) - which we shared between us - and an amazing specialty coffee in lieu of desert ( no room for it !) - it arrived all wrapped up in linen napkin and topped with ( real !) whipped cream and maraschino cherry ! Oh yum.

If you haven't been : do go ! As for us : we often make the trek out to this wonderful and underappreciated suburb anyway - but now we may even make it a destination for celebratory events just because of the value offered here. Well done !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bad luck i guess”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Apparently bison is a giant hunk of inedible fat and grisal...at least ask how my meal is or if i want another glass of wine. Not worth half of what i paid...there are better options.

Helpful?
2 Thank WigglyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Oh, the Way to Mandalay”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

What a surprise! We received a promotional mailing from the restaurant and went there of curiosity - and what a surprise. The food is excellent, the service with a smile is fast and friendly and the ambience of the restaurant in warm and wonderful. The background soft jazz music is perfect too. It would have deserved five stars, if it was not for the somewhat pedestrian fried calamari served as an appetizer of which the coating was a bit heavy. The trout and the New York pepper steak as specials of the day were perfect, and we finished with the best Irish Coffees topped with REAL cold, whipped cream I have had in a restaurant in memory. The wine selection is fine too. The restaurant might be a bit difficult to find, as it is located between two buildings of a strip mall, which is easiest found by entering the first laneway to the west on Markham Road just north of Lawrence Avenue. Ample parking there too. Highly recommended. Absolutely one of the best in Scarborogh.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EagerBeaver_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandalay Restaurant also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing