We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Ambience, Better than average food - Overall value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oliver & Bonacini Cafe Grill

Oliver & Bonacini Cafe Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Oliver & Bonacini Cafe Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,445 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: North York
Cross street: Sheppard Avenue
Transit: Subway access - exit the Bayview stop on the Sheppard line.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Ambience, Better than average food - Overall value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Visited this location along with a friend. From the outside the building is impressive including the entrance and front desk. The staff was wasn't the best - not that they were rude or anything but just not very pleasing. As soon we entered we were told that the restuarant was pretty full and if we dont have a problem we can be served in the bar area with same menu and price. (though this was a good suggestion, it wasnt presented in the most friendly manner - which is what we expect when we walk in an upscale restaurant).
The server was nice, gave us time, asked us for our choice of seed - but wasn't any help with suggestions with the menu.
The food was served in time, nice and warm, good quality and we werent bothered too much as to if we required anything else (which wass kinda nice - as most resturant pester you just too much), water was being topped up without asking (which showed server kept an eye on the table).
I ate the Cherry Snapper and it was pretty good with reasonable price. For 2 of us with 1 appetizer, 1 main and 1 side our bill amt was $51 which isnt too high (not low either).
One things for people with allergy - on their menu they state that they are unable to guarantee allegen free kitchen environmnet
And remember there are no substitutions on any menu items

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank inferno16978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    109
    97
    50
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
422 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“It's ok but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

The food is perfectly adequate. The ambience is ok - nothing fancy. Service is weak - friendly enough but slow and there aren't enough staff for the tables.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Unimpressed! Okay food and very poor service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

A complete disappointment. We booked a table and was quickly set down upon arrival. The waitress did not bother to explain the menu or asked if we had any question. She did not waste any time to take our order which was good. Fresh warm bread arrived shortly later and it was very good. We asked for more bread and was told that there would be an extra cost. The restaurant had a very strict allowance/quota of bread per diner. Food arrived and the waitress did not want my lobster pasta dish would be hot and spicy. It was also not on the menu. Never saw the waitress again after she took our order. She did not even bother to stop by to check how was our food. Our glasses of water were not refilled. All in all, very poor service. As for the food, it was okay. Nothing spectacular or “write home about”. As noted by other reviewers, this restaurant is very noisy and is very difficult to carry on a conversation. Average entree is about C$15~25. C$7.50 for fries and C$4.50 for a cup (NOT bowl) of soup. Unimpressed and not in a hurry to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeddyBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Excellent food served by friendly staff in good time.What is not to like!!!

Very lively atmosphere on a Thursday lunchtime.Would recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
257 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 664 helpful votes
“Pleasant "Upscale" Mall Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Drove from Barrie to Toronto last Sunday afternoon to have supper with my Aunt Kay and her daughter Laura.
It was Aunt Kay's 80th Birthday and Oliver & Bonacini Cafe Grill (Bayview Village Shopping Centre) is her favourite restaurant.
We were a party of 5, without reservations, and we were warmly received by the front desk staff. They walked us to our table without hesitation, but we chose another without any objections.
Our drinks were ordered and delivered quickly.
Meals were ordered and although it seemed to take some time between drinks and food, the atmosphere was vibrant and pleasant so time was not an issue.
The food was great and we were pleased to find that at even 3:45pm we were able to order from the lunch menu. I thought the lunch prices were more moderate and the choice was greater than the supper menu.
We enjoyed classic burgers, smoked salmon pizza, roasted turkey club and quiche. Everyone was pleased, especially cousin Laura who LOVES the pizza... best anywhere she says!
Following our meal we had the "Chef's Platter", an excellent assortment of 4 delicious desserts.
The staff were ever so gracious to write Happy Birthday in chocolate on the platter, and our server Melissa was highly efficient and very professional.
All-in-all an enjoyable and memorable time and a highly recommended experience!
Cheers!
Paul

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Paulshappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oliver & Bonacini Cafe Grill also viewed

 

Been to Oliver & Bonacini Cafe Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing