We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of ORO Restaurant

ORO Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 8,575 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Bay Street
Transit: ORO is located just north of Dundas station on the Yonge subway line.
Description: Each day ORO's creative team pushes the boundaries of the culinary imagination with appetizers, entrees and desserts prepared neo-Italian style but subtly accented with hints from around the world. Add to this an award-winning wine list and it's no surprise ORO was selected one of Canada's Top 10 Restaurants by the Globe and Mail soon after its 1997 opening. Private rooms available for meeting/special occasions.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The professional staff, owners hospitality, and outstanding tasting food was an experience I will not forget. Now, when I visit Toronto "Oro" will be the first place I go!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Golflady H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    61
    18
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gastronomicly Delicious”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have had many wonderful meals at this beautiful restaurant... even when it was called Old Angelo's.... and now Connie and Dominique are back and it is better than ever... From the moment you walk into this charming Italian restaurant you feel like you are in Italy... a warm welcome... heavenly aromas and beautiful décor.

I have had several meals there and have enjoyed each one, regardless of lunch or dinner... fresh homemade daily pastas, an extensive wine selection and impeccable service keeps you coming back again and again..

The front windows open up on a warm sunny day to give you that outdoor feeling.... a glowing fireplace in the winter keeps you nice and cozy....Planning a special function... they have several private areas that can be enjoyed for your event.... The chef is happy to help you plan a delicious menu and the staff take excellent care of you and your guests....

Next time you are looking for an elegant dinning establishment that fits any budget... be sure to visit Oros on Elm Street... I suggest you call for a reservation, you don't want to be disappointed.

Bon Appetite..

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshinegal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not something to go back to.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Ate here on a Saturday night in July. Wife had the grilled Romaine salad and was none too impressed. I had the crispy cheese which turned out to be deep fried cheese balls. They were good but the type of thing I would expect at a roadhouse - not at an Italian fine dining joint.
Wife ordered the pasta special, a truffle carbonara. It was pretty much inedible. I ordered what was basically spaghetti and meatballs. It was decent and I shared it with my wife as she was hungry, not having been able to eat hers.
Not a place I'd return to if I had any choice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank namealreadytaken2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very good Italian meal”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a very good Italian meal with excellent service. Every time I travel to Toronto is is a must for diinner. The beef tartar was excellent and the grilled Romaine Caesar salad was very good but not grilled - nevertheless is was really tasty. Veal meatball spaghetti and crab ravioli were true Italian comfort foods.

The restaurant is nicely decorated, very clean and the bathrooms are exceptionally clean and nicely decorated ( which is not for most restaurants).

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, wonderful service”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Veal chop and risotto was amazing. Service was top notch. Highly recommend for special occasions and just a good night out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JCogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ORO Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to ORO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing