We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosedale Diner

Rosedale Diner
Ranked #537 of 8,434 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Fusion, Canadian, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: South of Summerhill
Transit: We are located on Yonge Street, just south of the Summerhill Subway station, but the walk up from Rosedale is not too far.
Description: Kicking around midtown since 1978, The Rosedale Diner has earned its status as one of Toronto's most iconic restaurants. Famous for its Bohemian style and Israeli flair, it serves lunch on weekdays, brunch on weekends, and dinner every evening from 5:00pm - 10:00pm.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My daughter and I recently went there for dinner. I had the ribs while my daughter had the tagine. We also had the orange blossom infused desert and the melted brie for appetizer. Overall a great meal and great service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal0688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    29
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
581 reviews
476 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Casual neighbourhood eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is in our hood, so we go there on occasion for lunch and for the patio. Not really a place for winter as the inside is dingy, cramped, gloomy and totally uninviting. The patio is a treat! Away from the noise of Yonge Street. Service starts out good but deteriorates as it gets busy. In numerous visits, we've never ever been offered dessert or coffee and at times, can be difficult to get the bill. So unless you're laid back and not in a rush, don't go! The food is interesting and varied. More than a nod to Middle Eastern flavours. Always something hummus centric. Daily specials. Fries are always good. Orders arrive in a timely fashion, always hot and well presented. Can't comment on desserts because I've never seen a dessert menu. Small wine and beer list plus the usual cocktails etc. Good for the hood but can't compete with the fancy places.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank busyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
276 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I was a regular here once but the last fee visits just weren't good. Our last time here we stood in the doorway for almost 10 minutes without being acknowledged by the staff. It wasn't busy and the greeter was too busy with paperwork at the cash to bother with us. We left and won't be back. Too bad because the Rosedale Diner was once a great spot to go to.

Helpful?
2 Thank Roxtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“King of French Toast Brioche”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Absolutely delicious. Best I've ever had. Very large serving. Too small for larger family gatherings. Washroom in basement makes it awkward for those with any disability problems.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank timbit_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just ok. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I came here being in the area visiting from out of town and having dined here before a few years back.
Tried their signature burger which was overly dry and I couldn't finish it. Also had their duck pâté as an appetizer which was disappointing.
It was busy - not sure if it was because of summerlicious crowd. I had to flag down staff to get attention.
I would not return.
Just mediocre at best.
Did not like their wine list either.
Sorry but there are better choices nearby. It's a shame since they are a landmark restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank NOTL1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosedale Diner also viewed

 

Been to Rosedale Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing