We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tea time oasis ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Tea Box - CLOSED

The Red Tea Box
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Neighbourhood: Queen Street and West Queen West
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tea time oasis ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

I happened upon the Red Tea Box on a quick visit to Toronto. What a tiny jewel. My lunch was delicious. The service was just the right balance of attentiveness and reserve. I was able to relax and enjoy my meal. The menu is creative. I had the 3 soup sampler of ginger pumpkin, harvest mushroom & cauliflower pear with wasabi. All of the main dishes are wonderful and my kaffir lime tart was the perfect end to my meal.

They have a wonderful selection of teas and the staff are very knowledgeable. They also have a well thought out selection of tea accessories.

A lovely break in a more hectic day.

Helpful?
Thank jotravelsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch on the Patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

A friend and I had lunch today at The Red Tea Box. Walking in the front door you come across an amazing cake display with creative, artsy, fondant cakes in many different flavours. Lead to the back onto a cosy, patio with plants and colourful table cloths we choose to eat there. You could walk a few steps further into a small coachhouse and eat indoors. Their hot, spicy, chai drink is yummy served in a bowl. My friend had an iced white tea with peach and peony blossoms which was light and refreshing decorated with fresh mint. We both had a half sandwich and soup. Nice presentation on a white rectangular plate with small salad in the middle. My Asian pulled pork sandwich was flavourful. The Indian chicken sandwich with lettuce, avocado and curry chicken was delicious. Our service was friendly and prompt. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
410 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“An absolute jewel - even better than I remembered.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Haven't been in a few years and suggested it as a perfect place for a lunch with several friends. It's a bit of truck from the east side of the city, but I have to figure out a way to come back more often. It was a lovely day so we were able to sit on the patio, which is just so charming. It's like Alice in Wonderland meets English Victorian meets Queen St. West. From the outside you would never suspect the visual treats in store for you or for that matter the perfectly executed menu which is immensely enjoyable just to read, as the selection of food and drinks both hot and cold are so creative. Beyond the patio is another room which is completely open to the outside in nice weather.

The lavender lemonade was delicious and the Bento box lunch is filled with truly delectable morsels. We decided to share a few of the amazingly decorated small cakes - they look like gift wrapped desserts and I should have bought some to take home!

The plates and cutlery are also part of the tea party experience with a beautiful selection of Asian and English patterns.

Service is excellent and the server took the time to explain the menu items and to take a group picture.

Can get there by street car but they are far enough west that it's easy to find street parking. Just be careful, the numbers on the south side of the street go up faster than the north side and I ended up grabbing a parking spot a few blocks too soon as it was easier to view the numbers on the drivers side than through the passenger window and I didn't have a helper in the car with me.

Lunch was about $40 including tip with a specialty drink with the Bento box, one of the more expensive items on the menu and dessert and tea. Excellent value.

It is a good idea to check hours before going to make sure they are open. For example, they will be closed a fair bit of August.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“So delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

This place is one of my favorite in Toronto since years...I always come for the high Tea, which is served in Red Japonese Bento Boxes. Their tea is awesome and they offer a large choice of first quality tea. They also have amazing desserts, some gluten free, and some little cakes so cute they looks like pieces of art!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is a unique experience with very good food and great ambiance. Just watch out for their opening ours (for lunch, specially) as they are not of a traditional restaurant. It is definitely worth while!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Felipe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Tea Box also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing