We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place”
Review of Global Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Global Guest House
Ranked #70 of 116 Toronto B&B and Inns
France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A charming place”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night, escaping from the Global Village Backpacker on King street.

Lounge is nice, clean and bright. The owner hung her paintings everywhere and we loved that.

Our room was large and clean.

Bat point is the tiny kitchen where you cannot cook, just prepare salads and have a free hot drink. There is a large fridge though.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
6
16
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

After a bad experience at a hostel in Chinatown, my boyfriend and I arrived here and never looked back. Great value and a friendly staff. We were glad to see that there was a window AC unit since it was very hot that weekend. The free wifi, clean bathroom and accessible location made it a great stay. The bed was not the most comfortable, nor the room the most beautiful I have ever stayed in, but a wonderful place for a student on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I've been here a few times before. Great location, friendly staff and inexpensive. The building is charming - old and well maintained. The rooms have AC, wifi, and TV. Unfortunately I had the same experience as initias with bed bugs which put a damper on my stay - whatever approach was used previously to address did not work.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank guest425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

livorno
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I'm full of bed bugs bites! It's a big problem, you have to do something about it. Please call a specielized cleaning service. Neverthless, the position is very good, near to the metro and the city center.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank initias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Global Guest House, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
We certainly apologize to the guest for this problem but in our defense it is not of our making. We do not invent these creatures. We have guests arriving from all over the world and once in a while someone brings the pests in. We are not exclusive in combating them as even the best 5 star hotels have to deal with this. However, once apprised we attack the problem vigorously. We inspect and clean every aspect of the room, using "green" products only, to get rid of them quickly., and if necessary we even replace box springs and mattresses. There is no way that I know of other than to continue to do what we do to avoid the use of noxious/banned chemicals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I was at Global Guest House for a week in April (for a conference at U of T) and I really enjoyed my experience there. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and warm, and the location was perfect for the University of Toronto. Lots of nice places to eat in the vicinity. I slept well and the room was quiet and peaceful (I could sometimes vaguely hear the train announcements but this didn't really bother me). Bathroom absolutely fine. All round a good experience and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The global guest house is located right next door to the Spadina station of the TTC - this makes it really easy to get practically anywhere in town because the Spadina station has bus connections, streetcar connections and both of the Toronto subway lines. The rooms are also very well priced. Don't expect a lot of frills if you're going, but it is a good place if you're just looking for somewhere to lay your head. Bonus: it has a little communal kitchenette so you can make things yourself instead of always having to eat out. Staff is really nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Helpful tip: If you happen to get a room on the back of the place you may want to close your windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

If you are looking for a great place to stay in the heart of downtown on a budget, you can't go wrong here. The subway is right next door and the house is surprisingly quiet too. The artistic charming rooms are spacious which is a rarity for such well priced guest houses I have encountered in other countries.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicafranchesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Midtown
Spadina 11 Guesthouse - Toronto
North York
Smile Back Bed and Breakfast
Smile Back Bed and Breakfast
#71 of 116 in Toronto
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B
Midtown
Madison Manor Boutique Hotel
Downtown
Kaisar Guest House
Kaisar Guest House
#58 of 116 in Toronto
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Guest House

Property: Global Guest House
Address: 9 Spadina Rd, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2S9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown , The Annex
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming, clean, century-old bed and tea, located in the Annex, an eclectic neighborhood in the center of downtown, within easy walking distance of many of Toronto's famous tourist sites.Several of our city's best restaurants are right around the corner. We are next door to the Bloor Subway, Spadina Station, 3 stops from Yonge St. Our building has been a Guest House at this location for over fifty years, welcoming tourists and business people from all over the world.Global Guest House is listed in over 60 international budget travel guides, including "Lonely Planet". We offer value, location and a friendly environment. Enjoy free tea, coffee and hot chocolate 24 hours a day and a pleasant clean kitchenette with a refrigerator and microwave for guests to prepare light meals.The rooms are decorated with paintings by award-winning Rhona Stein Singer, wife of owner/manager Norman Singer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Global Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Guest House Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing