We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Globe Bistro

Globe Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Globe Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #333 of 8,440 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$70
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: East End
Cross street: Broadview
Transit: We are situated half of a block east of Broadview station on the Bloor TTC subway line.
Description: Join us for a unique local food experience just minutes from the downtown core. Anchoring the entrance to the Danforth, Globe Bistro offers something for everybody. We are open for dinner daily (except Monday). Enjoy a leisurely Sunday brunch with friends. Friday lunches host a mix of locals gathering or business meetings. Neighbourhood dining at its best! Feel free to chat with the Chef at the open kitchen or for more intimacy, a private dining room is available for groups. Fresh seasonal and local ingredients inspire Chef Dan Sander's culinary creations that incorporate flavours from around the world. The rooftop patio is a secret oasis from the Danforth. Think global. Eat local!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We went for a Travelzoo special and the whole experience was amazing! Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable. Six course tasting menu was just the perfect size and the food itself was delicious. Was worth traveling from Richmond Hill. We shall be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2thdoc1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    37
    20
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Patio Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I wanted to enjoy some drinks in the sun on the roof top patio. We went in at 6:50pm. We sat at the bar and we were never acknowledged by the three people behind the bar. After 5 minutes the bartender came up did not say hello and asked "Are you eating tonight?" and poured water. We said just drinks and then had to ask for a drink menu. We waited another 10 minutes and he never took our order so we left. You could tell he was extremely flustered even though the patio was not full. Too bad. Perhaps we will try again another time.

Helpful?
Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
launceston
1 review
“Excellant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very good food. Fathers day special brilliant value. Good service, felt a valued customer. A very memorable evening before my return to the UK.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fruitcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Promises well, delivers poorly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were a party of three for brunch, none of us in any way exacting or demanding, but the sloppiness in attention to food and service interfered with our enjoyment of a social occasion....and that's not right. The restaurant is not the centerpiece of the occasion, it's supposed to be a facilitator to a successful occasion.

The place was almost empty when we arrived but it took a 3 minute wait at the door before someone guided us to a table. Not a big deal, but when they're not on it, it makes for a sloppy start. The server arrived promptly and told us about the featured dishes and we duly ordered. Coffee was served and we sat back for the next 35 minutes waiting for our food. Asked for refills on coffee during this time which was forgotten about. Received our food....all of the hot stuff lukewarm. I know, I know....that's when I should alert them to the problem....but sometimes it's just not worth it, you just press on because to complain is to interrupt the flow of conversation. My hash was supposed to made with smoked meat....it actually mostly contained what tasted like pure pork belly fat and maybe it was smoked, but the texture was too fatty to figure it out, and the dish was lukewarm. An omelette was also lukewarm and overcooked. A communal poutine with mushrooms and gravy was entirely unremarkable for anything except cold temperature....but the server successfully sold it to us, so more fool we. We ask for coffee again, again it fails to arrive. Meals finished, we attract the server's attention for coffee and finally get a refill as we ask for the bill. Tipped 15%, no idea why.

Of all the things to get right in a restaurant, the easiest have got to be hot food and attentive service...that's just about adequate and observant supervision. In fairness, a manager-type person was assisting in service so maybe they were short-handed. Still, that's not our problem. We wish you luck but we won't be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was my second visit to Globe and my friend and I were NOT disappointed! Service was fabulous - it was nice to be remembered! The complementary port with the cheese course was very very nice. From the rapini pesto in the soup, to seared scallops with parsnip crisps, to the parsnip puree with the duck to the most amazing dessert - a non cooked cheese cake with niagara cherries - it was delicious! I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Globe Bistro also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Globe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing