We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Spring Rolls

Spring Rolls
Ranked #1,206 of 8,509 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a lovely meal here. The staff were very friendly and willing to assist you make your decision about what to eat. Food was lovely - very large portions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sasha-Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    60
    27
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“anniversary trip”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

service very good friendly staff ,food also very good, I thought so anyway, if I had to pick a fault, in the area we sat was a little dark but that maybe me being a bit picky.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank a_streetin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moosonee, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit out of our comfort zone but interesting.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were staying downtown and wanted Chinese food; something a little better than what we could get at the mall food court. A long time ago the Atrium on Bay was home to Lichee Gardens, my favourite Chinese restaurant in Toronto. That perhaps deals you a bit about me; I like what is standard Chinese food with some specialties and a bit of adventure. Anyway, Lichee Gardens is long gone and the nearest Chinese type restaurant was Spring Rolls.
We were a bit older than most of the diners; the lighting could have been a bit brighter for our fading vision. The menu was exhaustive but sometimes lacked much of an explanation of what stuff was or was made from or how hot it was.
We took a chance. Not really that bad although we would have preferred more traditional Canadian Chinese food. A bit of an adventure, some things were very good, some stuff kind of bland and boring and some stuff a little on the hot side.
Service was pretty good, the seats and table were comfortable and the restaurant is a good vantage point to watch the world go by. With top it was $67.60 for two people.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover
Level Contributor
182 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Finally talked my partner to go to a Spring Rolls for lunch after a friend of mine recommended the chain to me. We had the lunch buffet.

I'm a lover of Tom Yum soup and have it whenever I frequent a Thai restaurant. This location has the best. The layers of flavour in the broth were deep and rich. Had a bowl of the gai first and was pleased to find the pieces of chicken not too large and very tender. The veggies in the vegetable version were too crunchy.

Rest of the food was very good, especially the lemongrass chicken wings. Found they give too much rice in an order, and since you are supposed to eat all you order, just split a rice.

Service was a little slow and the waitress not very friendly or accommodating to our questions.

We found the service at the Brampton location much better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelling
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“this is a great place for inexpensive Asian cuisine”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Have eaten here a few times (as well as at their Front St. and King St. locations) the quality of food is always very good. The Hot and Sour Soup is particularly good. They have kind of a tapas menu that you have to ask for. It is like a buffet, but you order the dishes as opposed to choosing from dishes under a heat lamp. The dishes are prepared fresh, but are much smaller - for the most part - than regular portions so you can try many different dishes. It is an all you can eat menu so if you like something, you can order it again. Service is generally very good, except at the take out counter where they do not seem to know what it means to ask for a dish without cilantro. Otherwise, this is great for a cheap and cheerful lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schnoodleontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spring Rolls also viewed

 
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Spring Rolls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing