We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I scream, you scream, we all scream for Ed's icecream”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ed's Real Scoop

Ed's Real Scoop
Ranked #1 of 177 Dessert in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: East End
Description: Best ice cream and gelato in Toronto in a variety of flavors. The wonderfully made natural ice cream is the perfect solution to a hot day.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I scream, you scream, we all scream for Ed's icecream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Ed's is amazing for dessert fans who love ice cream. At Ed's, the choice is hard to make between delicious sorberts, gelati and parfait. There's always an interesting, extraordinary flavour, and my favourite is the dark chocolate with chili. Unless you really dig spicy, please just stick to one scoop.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomad_in_Transit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    121
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Believer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Easily hands down best ice cream. From the basics to the amazing. Tahitian vanilla for my daughter, raspberry for my son. Chocolate coconut macaroon....really. Then my wife had to go back for gelato, yes pistachio, and banana. Too cool, worth it, great service! Well done!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonathanRGTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Never had anything from Ed's that disappointed. Try the lemon meringue ice cream if it's available. Nothing like it around! Kids that work there are always super nice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ummmmmmmm ummm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Don't even look past the gelato. This is great ice cream with super flavours. Between us we tried white chocolate, espresso, mango and pistachio. Great service and a good ability to try flavours before you decide. Excellent

Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Leaves a good taste in your mouth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I love ice cream but I hate the aftertaste of chemical, preservative ridden brands. Finding 'real' ice cream void of food colourings and unnecessary ingredients is not that easy but thankfully, Eds Real Scoop hit the mark! The hard scooped ice cream flavours are somewhat traditional with a twist as well as some adventurous flavours such as Burnt Marshmallow, Strawberry Rhubarb, and Sweet Cream. Everything I tasted was delicious and flavourful with a wonderful creamy texture. Totally satisfying.
The gelato was also good as well but seemed to be missing an additional punch of flavour... however, I may be a bit spoiled as I've had some of the best scoops while traveling in Italy, France and Belgium. I should add that their waffle cones are magnificent and a must try.
Ed's Real Scoop is definitely high on the list of solid choices, flavours and value for your buck. The best part is after you finish eating, you won't be bothered by any chemical aftertaste. You should go!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rivergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ed's Real Scoop also viewed

 

Been to Ed's Real Scoop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing