We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude women serving me my oxtail” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ritz Carribbean Foods

Ritz Carribbean Foods
Ranked #2,821 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude women serving me my oxtail”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Recently came to visit this establishment while in canada on vaction I was delighted to see comfort food I came in and order oxtail to be spoken to like I didnt know what I wanted the women who served me had braids and spoke to me so rudley asking do you want white rice or rice and peas and slapped it on my plate I know jamaicans Are rude in genral but CUSTOMER SERVICE peoples other than that food taste edible was quite salty but its more on a commerical kind of thing

Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First time to Toronto & best jerk chicken in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Loved the chicken! I still remember this place from years ago & next time i go this is a must.
Found a decent spot in Halifax, NS for jerk chicken but can't seem to find anything good in NB for this kind of food. Well deserved 5 stars

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Caribbean Food in Toronto!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The food at Ritz Caribbean Foods at Yonge & Eglinton is some of the best Caribbean Food in Toronto. The Jerk Chicken is just off the chart and the coleslaw is a family recipe. The staff here is amazing and there is always a wide variety on the menu to choose from.
Always try the 'Chef's Specials' when you can because they are NOT regular items on the menu.
The prices are very reasonable for the portions you get and I've even had to end up taking a 'doggie bag' home every time I visit this restaurant. lol.
Need some great authentic Jamaican cuisine, then go to Ritz Caribbean Foods at 32 Eglinton Avenue West @ Yonge Street! Tell them Vanessa sent you :)

Parking will have to be underground at Eglinton Square or at the Green P parking at Holly Street...it's only a short walk to the restaurant and less expensive as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
131 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Craving Homestyle Caribbean Food?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Tried this place on the weekend. I approve. Ordered the Jerk Chicken with rice and beans and coleslaw with a mango juice to wash it down. Loved every bite. Tasty. I've been to some caribbean places that don't go all out authentic probably to appeal to a non-caribbean crowd. Not Ritz. The food, atmosphere and servers are genuine and authentic. Prices were reasonable. Not a lot of seating so take it to go. Very generous portions. I recommend to anyone who loves the islands foods.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MsVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Mi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good way to get introduced to caribbean food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Went to one of the Ritz locations on Yonge St. Like the variety of food that they had. Did not try some of the more exotic dishes because I can't see how they would be good being "mass produced." Had the stewed beef which was definitely much better than the stewed chicken. Obviously Torontonians must think it's pretty good and the place had people in and out all the time I was in there. I would go there again to satisfy by Caribbean craving.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shadowLivonia_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ritz Carribbean Foods also viewed

 

Been to Ritz Carribbean Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing