We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and delicious”

Chippy's Fish And Chips
Ranked #3,796 of 8,580 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Neighbourhood: Queen Street and West Queen West
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Visited this tiny little spot searching out some of Toronto's best fish & chips. Not disappointed at all, loved the take out option & quality was amazing. Not to be missed!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank londoner1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    12
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“At least the fries were ok.”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I ate here a few times about 9 years ago. Place was nice. Authentic fish and chips. I seem to remember them using some sort of parchment paper rolled into cones. it was a novel idea that worked because the fish was great.

9 years later I come back and bring my wife to check this place out and it turns into the worst fish and chips I have ever had. First off, the fish was flat. This was probably for two reasons; to decrease the time it took to cook, and to make it look bigger without using more fish. The batter was terrible. I had to saw through it like wood. It didn't really taste all that special either. So like the reviewer below said. It was like bark. I expected a plump thick piece of halibut with a nice crunchy batter. I expected too much.

Now for $16 i would expect not to have to pay extra for tartar sauce. Seriously? you want me to pay extra? it's mayo and relish. And they skimped on the relish.

I don't really understand why people give this place 4 and 5 stars. It simply does not deserve it. I believe they are riding on their past successes and some people are too polite to let them know that their fish is awful. Either that or they just got let out of the mental hospital up the block and don't know any better.

Seriously, if all you do is serve fish then my expectation is that the fish should be pretty decent. It's like being a mechanic that doesn't know how to fix a car.

I guess chippy's is an appropriate name for this place since the chips seem to be the only thing that's edible here. Don't bother with the hype. There are tons of places on Queen West at the same price point or lower.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Masta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nasty Horrible Customer Service”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This place has not changed since the last time i visited.
The staff could care less if you wanted to order. When you actually try and order they will act like you are inconveniencing them.
I understand it is my fault for trying to support a local "restaurant".
I would understand if the fish and chips were amazing but they are just average.
Just average with above average prices.
Go support other restaurants in the area where they actually want your money and treat you with respect.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazeved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tried many places, but this is still the best so far!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Big fish pieces, not like other wimpy mediocre fish n chip places. Yes greasy, but what do you expect? Yum.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank iluvrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fish are thin but good dipping sauces”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Chippy's on Queen has a new (?) side row of seating where you can watch them cook - each fish is dipped into batter when ordered and deep-fried. While the fish is a bit thin for my taste, the coating is very tasty, and with the lovely tartar or garlic mayo or curry dipping sauce, the combo makes the trip worthwhile. Scallops were alright, the shrimps were better, and the halibut was really thin.

Staff are usually very friendly. We saw a customer being taken to the back for the staff washroom since he really needed to use the loo - this being a takeout place, I was impressed the staff were so accommodating.

I agree that this is pricey for what you get, but you're in a busy spot on Queen right opposite the Trinity Bellwoods Park. Expect some wait time, and if no seating and you are there during warm weather, cross the street to find seats in the park and enjoy the outdoors.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalani_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chippy's Fish And Chips also viewed

 

Been to Chippy's Fish And Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing