We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We went to Windsor to celebrate my birthday and the Holiday Inn is in the perfect location downtown. The room was clean and comfortable. We thought it would be noisy with all the 20 somethings having a party. We were put in the back corner with a view of the border crossing and Ouellette Ave. It was very quiet. The elevators were under repair which made it take longer to get up to our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is close to casino, restaurants, and night clubs. We parked for free at the casino and walked over.

Room Tip: The indoor pool and fitness center is on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIWINDSOR, Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Laurie L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, and for such kind comments. I will look forward to sharing your feedback with the rest of our team.

It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown Windsor for your birthday celebration, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Heather B.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    64
    50
    22
    19
See reviews for
37
55
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed only for one night, but we had a great time at this hotel. Our window was looking out the back of the hotel, so not right onto the street but what we figured was the exit of the Detroit Windsor Tunnel. We didn't find it noisy and the room itself was very comfortable, roomy and well-equipped. The service in the hotel was great and very friendly, too, when we wanted to pick up our car late and left two bags at the reception for half a day.
The location of the hotel is extremely convenient - right in the city center. We had great, free wifi and coffee in the room. Checkout is wonderfully late (at noon). The parking was practical, despite not being free.

Room Tip: Choose a room in one of the top floors, they should be quieter (ours was great).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDhereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIWINDSOR, Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear JDhereandthere,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share such wonderful comments. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and I look forward to sharing your remarks with the rest of our team.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Downtown next time you visit Windsor!

Yours in Hospitality,

Heather B.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Holiday Inn has an ideal location for Windsor. It's close to restaurants, the casino, and boarder. The service was good as well. The rooms are ok, but a little dated and could be a bit cleaner. The connecting restaurant serves a decent breakfast, but isn't included. Parking is $12 on the roof of the hotel.

Room Tip: Noise from the streets on Saturday night can be loud. Ask for a room not along the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourguiderich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIWINDSOR, Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Tourguiderich,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and breakfast in the restaurant.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness and quality of your guest room. Our staff is constantly striving to achieve a level of quality and service that exceeds our guests expectations. I do apologize that we did not achieve this goal during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,

Heather B.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights while attending a confrence at the Cesars palace casino. The hotel was in a great spot (7 min walk to the casino) with clean rooms and friendly staff.
What else could you ask for?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIWINDSOR, Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Tera M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Downtown Windsor soon.

Thanks again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Heather B.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel was excellent in every way, especially the staff, very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms a bit small, easy access from the tunnel, the waterfront is beautiful and the shopping was great. A nice weekend getaway! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIWINDSOR, Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Erica S,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Our team works hard to provide excellent service to our guests and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to sharing your comments with the rest of our staff.

We hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Heather B.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathroy, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Lobby was nice. Front desk was very helpful and efficient. Great location and easy to get to.

The parking was a bit mickey-mouse up on the roof – glad we checked in relatively early and was able to get a good spot but I have no idea how others were able to park where they did.

Rooms were ok – bit small (but expected at an older property), noticeably new bedding (fantastic pillows), but it was the small things that made out stay ‘ok’.
- Bathrooms were outdated other than the new vanity
- Floors were not very clean
- Outdated furniture
- Rooms not consistent (we had 4 rooms) each one had something slightly different
- Open closets

With the new brand standards of the Holiday Inn and the rate ($170+) – I expected a nicer, more updated room.

In summary – we had a decent stay, great customer service, comfortable beds & a great nights sleep, awesome location but not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDyer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIWINDSOR, Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear SDyer45,

Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry to hear that you did not find value in the rate at our hotel.

I will be sure to pass along your comments to the rest of our team and we will most certainly take your feedback into consideration moving forward.

Yours in Hospitality,

Heather B.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

You can't beat the location in the downtown core. Clean well-appointed rooms and a comfy bed. Polite service. There's complimentary coffee, but it's awful. Starbucks just around the corner though. No frills, but a solid economical option. Walking distance to some nice restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zelly111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear zelly111,

Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your stay with us. We continue to learn and change with suggestions such as yours regarding our coffee. We have recently made a change of coffee brands to one more favored by our guests.

We hope we can welcome you back soon so you may try our new blend.

Yours in Hospitality,
Sheila Morton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
6,864 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#7 of 35 in Windsor
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown
Address: 430 Ouellette Ave, Windsor, Ontario N9A 1B2, Canada (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Downtown Windsor Hotel Welcomes You. Our hotel offers the ideal location for business travelers and vacationers in the heart of downtown Windsor. Recently changed to 100% non-smoking and centrally located on Ouellette Avenue, our guests are just steps away from dining and nightlife. Enjoy our on-site restaurant, "On The Avenue" for lunch, dinner or the all-day breakfast where kids under 12 eat free. It also features a cocktail lounge and a seasonal patio where you can relax and be seen on the strip. You’ll find plenty to do, from swimming in our heated indoor pool to working out at the fitness center. Our warm, friendly, multilingual staff are ready to accommodate your needs. We offer conference and catering services as well as a business center and meeting space. We are also just steps away from Caesars Casino, The Chrysler Theatre, and minutes from Detroit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown Hotel Windsor
Ramada Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing