We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible attitude of staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible attitude of staff”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Have come here a few times since august 2013 when it was Hilton. However first time since the management change.

While booking it was full waterfront view. When i got the form to sign it said it said partial view. Got it changed and went to the room to find that it was a corner room and very small. Got it changed to come to another room where you could see the outside wall of the hotel from my room.

I had been extremely happy with the room and view in the past.

To top it up the way the front office staff treat you is pathetic.

Make sure you see the room before signing the docs.

Not what it used to

Caesars in the future

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello Ambacndi,

The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Our goal is to always meet and exceed our guests expectations which was not the case with your stay.

We sincerely apologize for your experience and we would like the opportunity to touch base with you to remedy.

Your feedback is valuable and we will use it as a coaching tool for our Guest Services team

We are looking forward to hearing from you. You can contact us directly at 519.973.4261


Yours in Hospitality,

Asad M.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    291
    123
    58
    39
See reviews for
187
227
31
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We held a Conference for 70 people and it was very successful. The Hotel has such a beautiful view from both the Hotel rooms and the conference room. Lots of nice restaurants to walk to. The catering for the event was done by the St Clair Centre. They work very closely with the Hotel and made our Conference Perfect.
Thanks

Room Tip: Waterfront View for sure!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hello Julie B,


The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have read your review and are pleased you had such a pleasant experience in the guest rooms as well as our conference space. We are thrilled our hotel was a part of making your conference a success!

I remembered assisting you at the front desk in ordering a taxi. I recall you mentioning you were heading to the 'Twisted Apron' one evening for dinner. I hope you enjoyed yourself as this particular restaurant is a local favourite. The next time you are in town and we have the pleasure of serving you once again, please let us know so we can recommend more fantastic restaurants just a quick walk or drive away!

We value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us more pleasurable and trouble free! Please let us know if there are any points we can improve on to make our hotel better suited for future stays.

It is because of you, our guest that we strive to make our hotel, your home away from home.

If you require my assistance in the future for questions, reservations or any other reasons, please feel free to contact me at any time. It would be my pleasure to help!

Yours in Hospitality,

Asad Mohammad & The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I was staying in this hotel 3 times. I was always satisfied with the service. The view is amazing, the skyline of Detroit with GM buildings is impressive. If you walk down the Riverfront path you start seeing the "other face" of Detroit with Michigan Central Station... It's sad. But anywa, this is about hotel. Like I mentioned I always experienced a good service, gym and indoor pool are fine, breakfast is very good. I always had breakfast á la card, I didn't try the buffet. Good hotel for business trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huertofrutal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hello huertofrutal,

The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have read your review and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us!

The first point you mentioned was the view. We are proud we can offer such amazing views from our rooms. We believe this is definitely what sets us apart from other hotels in the area. With this amazing view at an unbelievable rate, we're sure to please all travelers regardless the reason for their visit!

We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the complimentary free breakfast We felt this was just another great feature we could include to add value to your stay.

The Waterfront Hotel family always strives to do our best with regards to exceptional service and we think we have a kind and hospitable staff second to none. It's always nice to hear when our guests feel the same.

We value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us more pleasurable and trouble free! If you have any further suggestions on how our hotel can improve, it would be greatly appreciated.

It is because of you, our guest(s) that we strive to make our hotel, your home away from home.


Yours in Hospitality,

Asad Mohammad & The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, ON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I love visiting Windsor, and I love the view of the Detroit skyline!

The check in was easy and fast, parking was easy to get to. They had no problem welcoming my 2 dogs for a $50 charge. The room was nice, if a bit small. Bed was comfortable. Pool area was adequate, looks like it could use a good scrub down but could just be time-worn. The free breakfast was nice, but some fruit salad or something would be good for those of us who like to eat a bit healthier. Can't complain when its free I guess. Awesome location in walking distance to so many awesome restaurants and bars. I highly recommend Chanosos for sushi and other asian food. Walking distance to casino also. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank begoodjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello begoodjen,

The WATERFRONT HOTEL Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have read your review and it is always nice to hear our guest has had a pleasant stay!

At the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, we understand our pets are an extension of our families and encourage our guest to bring every member, even if its the ones who tend to chew up our favorite things!

We are sorry to hear about the experience you encountered in the pool area. I will personally look into this with our Chief Engineer to assess the area to see what needs work.

As a part of our 'healthy choice' breakfast items, we provide fruit as well as assorted yogurts, oatmeal and other items so we can accommodate our guests who follow a healthier lifestyle! We also have a great workout facility with the incredible view we are known for. Your workout is sure to be a little more enjoyable with this view!

We are 3 1/2 blocks from the casino and literally 2mins from Ouellette Avenue which is where many drink & dining options are located. Not to mention Chanosos which is one of our guests favourite places!

Thank you once again for your time. We value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us more pleasurable and trouble free! Please let us know if there are any other areas we can improve on as we are always looking to make our hotel a better place for our guests.

It would be our pleasure to have you once again as our guest. It is because of you we strive to make our hotel, your home away from home.


Yours in Hospitality,

Asad Mohammad & The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Great hotel - the staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Hats off to Stephanie and Andrew! The hotel was clean and had all the amenities you'd need. The view from the room was incredible and you were walking distance to many points of interest. Thank you for a great weekend and all your help. We will be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello Erica L.,

The WATERFRONT HOTEL Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have read your review and it is wonderful to hear you had a great girls weekend!

Windsor has many places for entertainment in the downtown area and with our hotel being right in the heart, convenience couldn't be easier. We are also known for the fantastic view from the rooms and are pleased you had the chance to experience the Waterfront Difference!

We are always proud of our staff as they are the most friendly and hospitable bunch around! I will definitely have to commend Stephanie and Andrew for a job well done!

We value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us more pleasurable and trouble free! We would like to take this time to see what we can do in the future to make this statement true.

We look forward to having you once again as our guest(s)! It is because of you we strive to make our hotel, your home away from home.


Yours in Hospitality,

Asad Mohammed & The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is the first time I have stayed here since it changed brands. I used to be a regular guest at the Hilton. The views are still great and the rooms are spacious. If you are in to fitness, they have a nice pool and fitness centre and they are across the street from the Riverfront recreational trail, which is great for runners and walkers.

The services, however have been curtailed. There is no longer a concierge or valet parking and the bar is closed. They do a buffet breakfast, but I didn't have it so I can't comment on its quality. A number of the staff used to work at the Hilton, so the service is still courteous and professional.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view of the Detroit Skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hello Rowan F,

The WATERFRONT HOTEL Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have read your review and are happy you chose to stay with us as the Waterfront Hotel.

Many of our guests do live a healthy lifestyle and have been pleased with our pool/fitness facility and with the waterfront trail right in our front yard, it couldn't be any easier to access.

With the new branding, certain services have been removed. Within the services we now provide it is our goal to meet and exceeded all of our guest’s expectations. The one thing which remains the same is the wonderful view which will never change!

We value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us more pleasurable and trouble free! We would like to take this time to see what we can do in the future to make this statement true. It is because of you, our guest(s) that we strive to make our hotel, your home away from home.

We thank you once again for your time and choosing the Waterfront Hotel. We look forward to serving you once again!


Yours in Hospitality,

Asad Mohammed & The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Komoka, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I recently brought a group of 85 guests to stay at the Waterfront Hotel Windsor for a sporting event. The group in the Sales Department were a pleasure to deal with and the facility exceeded everyones expectations. I will definitely use the Waterfront Hotel again for both business and personal stays. Rooms are clean, front desk staff are accommodating and the pool, hot tub and fitness facilities are well above average (great view of Detroit from the treadmill...)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hello Ryan S.,

The WATERFRONT HOTEL Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have read your review and are pleased to hear you and your group had such a pleasant stay!

We have had much experience with large groups and we believe from this experience we are able to make group stays a success! From the fantastic Sales Department to the friendly Guest Services Agents, we definitely have an excellent team working within our hotel to accommodate even the largest of groups!

As for the view, it is what makes our hotel so special. Not only can you see the view from the lobby, breakfast room and the pool/fitness area, but within all 305 rooms of the hotel!

You mentioned many positive points about our hotel within your feedback which we are thankful for. Whether the feedback is positive or negative, we appreciate both equally because without them, we would not have the opportunity to improve. Our ultimate goal is to make your stay with us more pleasurable and trouble free. It is because of you, our guests; we strive to make our hotel your home away from home.

If you have any question, concerns or would like assistance with future accommodations, feel free to contact myself or any of the sales team. We are always happy to be of service! On behalf of the Waterfront Hotel, we thank you once again.

Yours in Hospitality,

Asad Mohammed & The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
6,237 reviews
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#8 of 35 in Windsor
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
171 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel
Address: 277 Riverside Dr W, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel is ideally located along the beautiful river front in downtown Windsor, Ontario, Canada, directly across from Detroit, Michigan USA, All hotel guest rooms feature a lovely river view and overlook gardens, sculptures and an extensive multi-use fitness trail. In addition to the gorgeous waterfront view, also include complimentary free breakfast buffet, complimentary local phone calls and complimentary Wi-Fi accessEasily accessed via the Ambassador Bridge, Detroit Windsor tunnel, Highway 401 and Highway 3.Nearby attractions and events include: GM Corporate world Headquarters, Ford World Headquarters, Chrysler Group US Headquarters, Caesars Windsor, Downtown Windsor Bars, Clubs, Restaurants and Entertainment, Art Gallery of Windsor, Steps from Detroit Windsor Tunnel Bus, YQG Windsor International Airport, DTW Metropolitan Detroit Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windsor Hotel Windsor
Hilton Hotel Windsor
Windsor Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing