We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed 9 August 2009

First of all the service at this hotel was great. The staff was friendly and accomidating. We had a slight problem when we first checked in (they gave us a room that was occupied), but we were compensated for our troubles and given a room with an amazing view of the Ren Cen.
The room was average. A little musty smelling, but the humidity was horrible that day. The mini fridge and microwave were nice perks. Everything was very cean. We could of used a few extra pillows, but I didn't bother to ask for them.
The location was fabulous. Walking distance to Ceasar's and all the nightlife. The pool was very small but would do the trick if you had the urge to use it.
Over all, for the price, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JleighRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    86
    117
    56
    70
See reviews for
91
110
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We received a fantastic deal on our city-view (not so much) king sized non-smoking room through an on-line discount hotel room provider. We got what we requested, as we had asked for a non-smoking hotel room with one bed.

The location is great. It is across the street (as close as the hotels get) to the Detroit River. It is easily walkable to Caesar's Windsor (nee Casino Windsor) unless you have a disability. Two Windsor bars, Papa Cheneys and Dean Martinis are almost next door, and a couple of good restaurants (including Three, one of our preferred places) are nearby. It is also close to Oulette Street, which serves as one of the main downtown roads.

On the casino point, I also noticed that they apparently offer a shuttle to the casino and a discount for the card holders. We took advantage of neither.

The interior is nothing special. Our room did not smell as bad as some of the other reviews seem to suggest, but I could detect past smoking mustiness in the air. The bathroom was clean and had clearly been properly serviced prior to our arrival.

I would say that the biggest challenge this hotel faces, especially on weekends, is that it does offer value. Therefore, on our floor, there were three separate LOUD rooms I would not have wanted to be stuck beside. Our neighbour played loud bass but once I turned on the air-con it was manageable.

Also, the interior hallways somewhat resemble a student dorm.

Our experiences with the front desk were very friendly and they gave our small dog free treats without asking us to pay or sign a redundant special waiver (isn't room damage always charged to guests?).

All-in-all, a decent stay at a good location for a great value. Would have gotten higher if they refurb the building a bit or if the Windsor-visiting party animals stayed elsewhere. If you are looking for a more mundane scene, you may want to consider staying on the Huron Church stretch of hotels instead.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunderbay
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2009

The location was awesome, right downtown near all the clubs. Close to the Casino also. The staff were freindly and the rooms were clean. There was a variety of restaurants close to the hotel which was great. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I just love Windsor, doesn't help that I lived there for nearly 3 years. This hotel is one of the best in the city. Book it online and save a ton of money. We got a free upgrade when we got there along with all of the amenities. The pool water wasn't warmed up yet, but oh well. The staff were terrific as most Windsorians are. Great place to stay and make sure to request a scenic room cause there is only one place better and that room is 600-1000 a night! This will cost you 10% of that!!!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splatmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

This was a completely average hotel (not to say that is bad) right in the heart of downtown Windsor. Honestly, if you could get to the hotel, you don't need a car. Walk to the Casino, downtown restaurants and the tunnel bus to go back/forth to Detroit.

One major caution: the rooms on the back of the hotel face the downtown renovation and woke up to jackhammering at 6:20am. This was not the hotel's fault and having a front room would have been the solution.

Ask for a room with a fridge! Its a nice, free, bonus, but you have to ask.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtmathteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Nice place to stay, the staff were friendly and helpful. They sugest lots of nice places to eat. They make us feel like we are at home. I stay often and never think to write a review, when reading some of the reviews I can't belive its the same place they are talking about.

  • Liked — Location, Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ValiantsBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Stayed at this hotel during a bachelor party weekend with 10 other guys. It was $160 for three of us who shared a room, which I thought was way overpriced. The best thing about it was the short distance to the casino and the bars. The hotel smelled in the hallways and the room and bathroom were not very clean. IT was basically a high-rise dormitory because it was loud and there were a bunch of people chilling outside the front doors late at night. I didn't really have much of a say in picking the location and I don't know what else was available but I truly hope that this was not the best option.

If the only time you're going to be in the room is after a long night out on the town, then this is the place to go (though I still think it is too pricey for that). IF you're looking for a place to relax in, then avoid.

  • Liked — Proximity to casino / downtown area
  • Disliked — It was a dump!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJD2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windsor hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#8 of 35 in Windsor
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
171 reviews
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
6,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor

Property: Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Address: 33 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 2S4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Travelodge Windsor Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Windsor overlooking the Detroit skyline in the Casino district. Our rooms feature high speed internet access, cable TV, iron/ironing boards, hair dryers and individually controlled heat and air conditioning units. Please note: Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor is currently undergoing renovations into August 2017. Guest entry will be off Pitt St at the back of the hotel starting May 1st 2017. Pool, fitness centre will be closed and meeting rooms will be unavailable during this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Windsor
Windsor Travel Lodge
Windsor Travelodge
Travel Lodge Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing