We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your typical nice Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Your typical nice Hampton”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Your typical nice Hampton with furnishings that are slightly sub-par (for a Hampton). Beer store next door, which is nice, except the hotel inexplicably does not have bottle openers. I stay here often. 7/10

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    215
    81
    25
    20
See reviews for
198
113
40
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Check in was a nightmare. One person on duty to deal with people checking in and answering the telephone. There was a problem with my reservation (their fault completely, not mine) and due to the person's inexperience it took me longer than it's ever taken me to check into a hotel - we were exhausted and didn't want to stand there forever while the front desk person sorted it out.

I was handed a welcome letter from the hotel manager - I told the front desk person to please let the manager know I wasn't happy about my check in experience - I never heard a word of apology from the hotel management. I filled out an on-line survey that Hampton Inn sent me after my stay letting them know about my difficulties, and again no apology.

Breakfast was okay. The first morning the breakfast items were not refilled in a timely manner, therefore many of the items were missing when we were attempting to eat our breakfast. Not a lot of choice in the hot items - they have hot trays for 4 items but they just fill up the trays with the same foods.

Coffee available all the time in the lobby which is nice, but unfortunately they don't offer cream or milk, just a sugary liquid cream substitute which was really horrible (and I'm not really fussy about coffee). We ended up buying our own milk.

The room itself was clean and quiet - we were on a high floor at the back of the hotel. It was a room with 2 beds, and really had no where to sit and visit which was awkward. There was a desk chair and one other chair pushed to the side of the desk. Other than that we were sitting on the beds. I did see into a couple of the king rooms and they were much larger with a very nice looking sitting area.

The room itself smelled very strongly of something - we never figured it out for sure but think it was likely either new carpeting or the carpet had recently been cleaned. The smell was offensive enough that we had planned to visit with someone one evening in our room but ended up going out because they couldn't stand the smell in the room.

The beds were extremely firm - too hard for me but of course that is a personal preference - others may like a hard bed. I didn't sleep well on it though. The elevator was the slowest ever - pretty much everyone who was waiting or on an elevator with us commented on the incredibly slow elevators.

There was a large group in the hotel the same time as us - some sort of kids sports team I believe. Other than there not being anyplace to sit and visit in the lobby because it was so busy, the teams were never a bother thankfully.

Free internet (ethernet) was nice, but it would be nice to have wifi available in the rooms as well.

Overall I was sorry that I chose this hotel for our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back to avoid the truck noises from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktowntravllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We love our Hampton Inns. We had a great stay with some Internet lag in the afternoon evenings and the worlds slowest elevator! We felt at home there with friendly staff and good amenities.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here with our hockey team. The staff are friendly and treated our families well. We paid to rent a meeting room for the kids to play in and after having been told our kids were not allowed, the mix-up was sorted and fixed promptly. We also had a personal request not to be disturbed with the cleaning people at all, and that was taken care of also. It's less work for them, so why not?
I would recommend requesting a back room as the front windows in no way block any truck noise out and this can keep you up at night. The breakfast was fine, nothing too great. The breakfast foyer is very good for adults wanting a break from the kids in the evening. There are lounge chairs and a fireplace which added to a nice break away to chat with friends in a larger space than a hotel room. There is also a pool which was small but adequate. Internet in the rooms are free with a code.

Room Tip: Pick a back room, not a noisy front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BoysHockeyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed in king-rooms--a good size. Breakfast was included--the hot items were not great, but the fruit, juice muffins and bagels were fine. The hotel was full of minor hockey players particpating in a tournament. This resulted in a bit of noise in the corridors, although it quieted down before it got too late, and as we have done our share of away tournaments, a little extra noise was not going to bother us even through we were not part of the tournament group. Staff at the hotel said they were busy most weekends with hockey and baseball tournaments, so this might not be the best choice for a quite weekend away. The indoor pool is a real plus for travelling teams.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnetwentyOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Booked a couple of rooms for one night and was pleased with our stay. Beer Store and Tim Hortons conveniently located across the street. Busy weekend full of hockey and soccer players but the hotel handled the groups well. We requested a room in the back and it was most peaceful, even with sport's teams about, it was a very quiet night. The breakfast was very good, just what we were looking for! A selection of hot scrabbled eggs and potatoes, hot and cold cereals, waffles, toast, muffins, yogurt, fruit and beverages at an endless supply. Good showers and very clean rooms. My only suggestion would be to update the mattress.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here for the weekend. The carpet is a little thread bare in the room, and we could hear children running the halls on the floor above us. However, those were are only objections. We had a marvelous weekend getaway, and will return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naranja10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
6,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
178 reviews
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#7 of 35 in Windsor
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor
Address: 1840 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windsor
#1 Business Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Windsor Hotel Windsor
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Windsor
Hampton Inn Windsor
Windsor Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing