We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and great oysters”

Claddagh Oyster House
Ranked #1 of 242 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$39
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Queen Street
Description: THE ISLANDS ONLY YEAR-ROUND OYSTER BAR WITH FRESH LOBSTER TANK.Featuring more than just the best available oysters from PEI, the Claddagh Oyster House is a warm, contemporary dining room located within an historic building in downtown Charlottetown.A Constantly changing menu that features the freshest seafood, premium Island beef, chicken, pasta and more - combined with our extensive wine selections are sure to please.THE CLADDAGH OYSTER HOUSE - MORE THAN JUST GREAT OYSTERS!!
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service and great oysters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

reasonable, and creative.. liked the oyster choices and presentation.. The server was informative and gave us accurate recommendations..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mzmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    143
    30
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ansonia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Known for their oysters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I just had to get the oysters since they are known for them. A bit pricey if you go for dinner but they have a special earlier in the day. I had the halibut dinner which was very good. My husband had the rack of lamb which he loved.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bilasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Two Words- Lobster Risotto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I dream of the Lobster Risotto served at the Claddagh Oyster House all winter long. It is absolutely one of the very first places we go when we get back to our cottage in PEI in the summer. This time around we also tried the Lobster Cobb Salad and the Seafood Stew. All the dishes were fantastic. I wish I could eat Lobster Risotto at the C.O.H. every day while we are on the Island...yes, it is THAT good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank St_Belmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place is so awesome, they have a great variety of oysters which I love and they have the best salads, the kale Cesar is addictive and the lettuce, avocado, lobster salad is awesome. The sticky date pudding is AMAZING. Had to go back again at the end of the trip because you crave that dessert.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SofiMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bon Air, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy hour on Oysters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Claddagh Oyster House has oysters for $1 each starting at 4:00 PM, my buddy and I got a dozen, quick service, because we had to be back on the cruise ship by 4:30 that afternoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnB0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claddagh Oyster House also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Claddagh Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing