We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good!”

Brits Fish and Chips
Ranked #46 of 242 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$33
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub, Canadian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We ended up eating here twice (different dishes).
The Fish and Chips seemed pretty authentic to me (I grew up in Great Britain so should be a reasonable critic).
Service was good and the quality good.
Price was better at "Skip's" in Summerside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    66
    26
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Taste of Home!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Garth is from England. We HAD to try Brits before we left PEI. He found a funky, English-style pub decor with decent service. He also found (in his words) the most "authentic" taste of home in fish & chips this side of the Atlantic!
The price was not too steep (but still more than Skip's in Summerside) and the portion size excellent.
On this same visit, I had the curried veggies with basmati rice and the curry sauce was rich and spicy (I like it spicy).
If ever in Charlottetown again, will definitely return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Canada
Level Contributor
359 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips and beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were going to have dinner at an upscale fish restaurant but decided to eat at Brits Fish and Chips and save a bit of money.

It's an interesting place and the food is pretty good. It's not the best fish and chips I've had but it was quite good. What I liked about this place is that they offer much more than just fish and chips. I had a bowl of chowder and it was tasty and quite filling. My one piece of haddock and chips was large. In fact, because I had the chowder I couldn't finish the fish. I was stuffed.

Our server was friendly and helpful. The washroom could have been a bit cleaner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fish and chip not very good.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

The fries were old (not freshly cooked) and the fish was slimy inside. This is not how it should be. The staff was friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humboldt, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious Fish and Chips; one of the best I've had!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The fish and chips that they are renown for were delicious! They also have a gluten-free fish and chips, which was great for the person I was with. Great place to eat! Though with no air conditioning, was a hot place on a hot day (though they came along with the ice water frequently :) )

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandywey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brits Fish and Chips also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Brits Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing