We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Black Fox Manor Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Fox Manor Inn
Ranked #35 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were warmly greeted as soon as we knocked on the door. The proprietor, Nicholas, was the consummate host. Our room was neat, clean, and nicely decorated. There were even fresh bathrobes in the closet for our use. We had our own bathroom which was spotless and a pleasure to use. Nicholas was warm and hospitable and treated us with care as though we were family and not strangers.

Another highlight of our stay was the food. The table was set using fine china and gold-plated flatware. The dining room was filled with interesting curios, conversation pieces and antiques. The meal was outstanding, full of flavour and served hot. Breakfast was also delicious, and magnificently made. The attention to detail in both the service and the preparation and presentation of both meals was impeccable.

I would highly recommend this rare find. Truly first-rate!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Shuch_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We booked this B&B in March, I must say that the host were lovely and helpful. When we arrived at the inn, the outside looked just like the picture. Our room was on the third floor. The second floor also had rooms with names on the doors, but it was unclear if the rooms are rented or not. The third floor ceiling is on an angle, so you have to walk along the wall. Ar first look our room was lovely, however we thought we had an ensuite bathroom. We had actually a "private bathroom", which means that the rooms on the floor were not rented so the down the hall bathroom was for our personal use..... The decor was circa 1970 and definitely needs upgrading. We though we asked for a queen bed, we found out that the queen bed is in another room which was much more expensive. The bed was old and needed to be change, however the owner attempted to make it more comfortable by adding a feather bed. None of the bedroom doors had locks, which was an issue for us.

The cleanliness was just ok, there shower curtain had some mold on it, which the hosts were very apologetic for and changed right away. The grout also had mold. There was dust on the furniture and baseboards. Little details like the sheers in our window ripped at some places. The area rug in the dining room needed to be vacuumed.

The food was good for the first breakfast, the second day it was just ok. The hosts were lovely and helpful. However we did find odd, when my partner asked to see some of the rooms on the second floor and she was told that they would rather not, so our comment are regarding the thirst floor 3 rooms.

It appears that the rate we pay is the going rate for a B&B room in the summer on PEI, however I am sure you can find another place for the same price which would be much much nicer. I would not go back and would certainly not recommend it.

Room Tip: There was certainly an
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Johanne-Pascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

The warmth of PEI was extended by folks of Black Fox Manor Inn even before I arrived which made my stay in PEI fearless and very comfortable. This luxurious home is nestled in a quiet setting just 15 minutes away from Wood’s ferry. It offers excellent fine dining by an awesome chef, superior dining service and first-rate accommodation. It is truly a gem. The warmth, kindness and friendliness of the folks at Black Fox Manor must be experienced when visiting PEI. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VeroniqueW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

On a recent business trip to Prince Edward Island (in winter), I was happy to find the Black Fox Manor open all year, road conditions permitting. I stayed at Black Fox in the autumn of 2008 and was eager to return. The manor has the privacy and solitude of a country estate yet is only twenty minutes to Charlottetown, the provincial capital.

Designated as a “heritage estate,” Black Fox was built in 1900 in the Queen Anne style.
Although updated with modern touches such as feather beds and Wifi, Black Fox retains the ambiance of the past with its original architecture, including four period European fireplaces, a Dutch gambrel roof and a front hall staircase.

All rooms include a full gourmet breakfast, so ample that I skipped lunch. One of the best features of the manor is that dinner is offered, highly unusual at a B&B. The chef at Black Fox has a well-deserved reputation for his culinary expertise, using local, seasonal ingredients such as mussels, island-raised beef and pork, and regional produce. The menu for the prixe fixe dinner changes daily. Reservations are required. The manor’s dining room seats up to fifteen people.

In addition, Black Fox Manor has a caretaker who speaks French and a San Francisco designer for meetings, weddings and special events.

I look forward to returning to Black Fox in summer to enjoy the south shore of Prince Edward Island, where the warm currents are reputed to rival those of the Carolinas.

See www.BlackFoxManor@PEI.sympatico.CA for more information.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank weedstraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottetown
12.7 mi away
Ocean Peek B&B
Ocean Peek B&B
#16 of 43 in Charlottetown
12 reviews
10.8 mi away
Small Town Bound Bed & Breakfast
13.9 mi away
Elizabeth's Bed and Breakfast
Elizabeth's Bed and Breakfast
#26 of 43 in Charlottetown
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Forest and Stream Cottages
Forest and Stream Cottages
#1 of 4 in Murray Harbour
43 reviews
14.2 mi away
Serendib Bed & Breakfast
Serendib Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Stratford
13 reviews
11.0 mi away
Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Fox Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Fox Manor Inn

Property: Black Fox Manor Inn
Address: 162 Newtown Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious historic country home hosted "Anne/Green Gables" author, LM Montgomery."The most beautiful home on Prince Edward Island." Warm hospitality in one of PEI's most venerable properties, a rare Queen Anne Double Gambrel. Century trees. Veranda. Pastoral hillside. Original fine interior, four fireplaces. Fine linens. Fresh flowers. Complimentary gourmet full breakfasts. Dining by reservation. Near Charlottetown, best beaches, golf, island's oldest lighthouse. 15 minutes to the Nova Scotia ferry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Fox Manor Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing