We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner only”

Black Fox Manor Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Fox Manor Inn
Ranked #35 of 44 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dinner only”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My family, a group of 9, made reservation for the Black Fox Manor, and it was simply amazing. The ambiance of the manor is extraordinary and the food is delicious. Your order has to be preplace but it comes as a five course sitting. Nicholas was a superb host and the food was a culinary delight. We spent two and a half hours in the manor enjoying a wonderful dinner and an experience that will last a lifetime. Tou will be amazed by the selection, quality and price of the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank colin_william_wilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colrain, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We arrived, two friends, at 7 p.m. without a reservation, which I don't recommend. Nicholas took us in and set us up in two charming third-floor bedrooms with shared bath in this lovely 19th Century house in a quiet country setting. Asked where we might find a restaurant in this relatively remote part of PEI east of Charlottetown, he said they could "dig up something" for us for dinner at 8:30. What they "dug up" was a delicious, homemade soup, the best pot roast I've ever had with a rich wine gravy and excellent mashed potato. Dessert was fresh raspberries on ice cream. We were surprised at breakfast to find a couple from Newfoundland who had arrived at 11:30 p.m. (not recommended). Breakfast began with fresh mixed berries in yogurt, orange juice, excellent coffee, thick bacon and stuffed french toast, all served by our gracious host.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Belden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

A last minute booking that we are so happy we did. We decided to experience PEI a bit differently then what we normally do So we booked this bed and breakfast and wow we loved it. A wonderful host, great food, clean and comfy beds made our over night get away for us and 2 teenagers a fabulous experience. In the morning our breakfast was fit for a king with Yogurt topped with fresh fruit, homemade hot chocolate, amazing french toast and bacon, smoothies, juice, coffee, alll made fresh and piping hot and during our meak Nicolas graciously told us the history of the home and area...definately would visit again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MardiGrasFamilyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We had the good luck to be here 10Oct.---Canada's Thankgiving holiday. This inn is between Charlottetown and the ferry to Nova Scotia. I HIGHLY recommend a stay here, not just for the lovely pastoral setting, the tasteful elegance & comfort of the furnishings, or the warm & friendly hospitality of our host Nicholas who made us feel right at home in his antique-filled home. Go just for a meal at Brad Potter's table! Brad, Nicholas's partner, is the "chef extraordinaire" who prepared us a 5-course "Michelin-worthy" dinner (and we've luckily had those in our travels) that we won't soon forget. It was PERFECT from the table dinnerware to "waddling away" to relax in the front parlor. And the breakfast before our departure was incredible, too. Go there for a night, a week, a dinner (call them as this isn't a drop-in restaurant), just do yourself a BIG favor and GO. My husband and I will hopefully return and stay longer the next time in this beautiful manor home. Worth the drive from Ct.
Mrs. P. H. Cohen

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were warmly greeted as soon as we knocked on the door. The proprietor, Nicholas, was the consummate host. Our room was neat, clean, and nicely decorated. There were even fresh bathrobes in the closet for our use. We had our own bathroom which was spotless and a pleasure to use. Nicholas was warm and hospitable and treated us with care as though we were family and not strangers.

Another highlight of our stay was the food. The table was set using fine china and gold-plated flatware. The dining room was filled with interesting curios, conversation pieces and antiques. The meal was outstanding, full of flavour and served hot. Breakfast was also delicious, and magnificently made. The attention to detail in both the service and the preparation and presentation of both meals was impeccable.

I would highly recommend this rare find. Truly first-rate!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Shuch_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We booked this B&B in March, I must say that the host were lovely and helpful. When we arrived at the inn, the outside looked just like the picture. Our room was on the third floor. The second floor also had rooms with names on the doors, but it was unclear if the rooms are rented or not. The third floor ceiling is on an angle, so you have to walk along the wall. Ar first look our room was lovely, however we thought we had an ensuite bathroom. We had actually a "private bathroom", which means that the rooms on the floor were not rented so the down the hall bathroom was for our personal use..... The decor was circa 1970 and definitely needs upgrading. We though we asked for a queen bed, we found out that the queen bed is in another room which was much more expensive. The bed was old and needed to be change, however the owner attempted to make it more comfortable by adding a feather bed. None of the bedroom doors had locks, which was an issue for us.

The cleanliness was just ok, there shower curtain had some mold on it, which the hosts were very apologetic for and changed right away. The grout also had mold. There was dust on the furniture and baseboards. Little details like the sheers in our window ripped at some places. The area rug in the dining room needed to be vacuumed.

The food was good for the first breakfast, the second day it was just ok. The hosts were lovely and helpful. However we did find odd, when my partner asked to see some of the rooms on the second floor and she was told that they would rather not, so our comment are regarding the thirst floor 3 rooms.

It appears that the rate we pay is the going rate for a B&B room in the summer on PEI, however I am sure you can find another place for the same price which would be much much nicer. I would not go back and would certainly not recommend it.

Room Tip: There was certainly an
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Johanne-Pascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

The warmth of PEI was extended by folks of Black Fox Manor Inn even before I arrived which made my stay in PEI fearless and very comfortable. This luxurious home is nestled in a quiet setting just 15 minutes away from Wood’s ferry. It offers excellent fine dining by an awesome chef, superior dining service and first-rate accommodation. It is truly a gem. The warmth, kindness and friendliness of the folks at Black Fox Manor must be experienced when visiting PEI. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VeroniqueW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottetown
10.8 mi away
Small Town Bound Bed & Breakfast
12.7 mi away
Ocean Peek B&B
Ocean Peek B&B
#18 of 44 in Charlottetown
12 reviews
14.2 mi away
Serendib Bed & Breakfast
Serendib Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Stratford
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Elizabeth's Bed and Breakfast
Elizabeth's Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 44 in Charlottetown
13 reviews
16.8 mi away
Forest and Stream Cottages
Forest and Stream Cottages
#2 of 4 in Murray Harbour
42 reviews
16.8 mi away
Country Charm Bed & Breakfast
Country Charm Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Murray Harbour
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Fox Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Fox Manor Inn

Property: Black Fox Manor Inn
Address: 162 Newtown Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious historic country home hosted "Anne/Green Gables" author, LM Montgomery."The most beautiful home on Prince Edward Island." Warm hospitality in one of PEI's most venerable properties, a rare Queen Anne Double Gambrel. Century trees. Veranda. Pastoral hillside. Original fine interior, four fireplaces. Fine linens. Fresh flowers. Complimentary gourmet full breakfasts. Dining by reservation. Near Charlottetown, best beaches, golf, island's oldest lighthouse. 15 minutes to the Nova Scotia ferry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Fox Manor Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing